Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical wonder
The narration by Sir Peter Ustinov is absolutly fantastic, this is a true masterpiece, the musical score paints a thousand images as the story unfolds.
Highly recommended
Published on 8 Sept. 2009 by Robert Fleming

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Narration too quiet
Nice selection of music for children, I find it's great for playing in the car. Only down side is that Peter Ustinov's narration on "Peter and the Wolf" is far too quiet compared to the music - a real shame, as it's then quite difficult to hear the story.
Published on 12 Oct. 2009 by Scottish Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Narration too quiet, 12 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
Nice selection of music for children, I find it's great for playing in the car. Only down side is that Peter Ustinov's narration on "Peter and the Wolf" is far too quiet compared to the music - a real shame, as it's then quite difficult to hear the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical wonder, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
Robert Fleming (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
The narration by Sir Peter Ustinov is absolutly fantastic, this is a true masterpiece, the musical score paints a thousand images as the story unfolds.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Naxos version, 28 Jun. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
This version of Peter and the Wolf is much better than that in the usually excellent naxos collection. The narration by Peter Ustinov is far superior to that of the irritating Edna Everage in the naxos version, who talks over the orchestra at each opportunity and refers to listeners as "possums". If you want Peter and the Wolf, get this cd instead. The other naxos children's cds that I've heard are very good except for Peter and the Wolf. I haven't heard Carnival of the Animals in the naxos collection, but I don't need to now as it is also on here so you get 2 for 1 as well. The Toy Symphony by Leopold Mozart is also on here so excellent quality and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the wolf, 27 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
This is a lovely CD for imaginative dancing/miming with children. My daughter loves it and spends time listening and hiding from the wolf, however her little friend (a 3 year old boy) got quite scared by the cat and wolf music and we had to turn it off.
We are really pleased with it though - sparks the imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to classical music, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
Child loved it, mum loved it.
A great introduction to classical music and instruments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy to the World, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
Legend has it that prior to his death - or perhaps after - the King participated in an Elvis impersonator-contest. He came third. Equally, Peter Ustinov (of Quo Vadis vintage) is more Neronian than Nero himself. Who's really to blame for the Great Fire of Rome or the death of Britannicus? History is silent. Moreover, Ustinov was such a masterful verbal-actor; to wit, his 1989 narration of Peter and Wolf, accompanied superbly by the Philharmonia under the baton of Phillip Ellis. This is a delight from beginning to end. I never tire of it. Ustinov's powers of characterisation are vivid and subtle. One hangs off every word in anticipation of the next. The story itself is evergreen. When the Wolf emerges from the Great Forest, it's enough to chill one's blood. The recording is exemplary.

It comes in train with a joyful account of the Toy Symphony - whoever thought that Leopold Mozart (of all people) could be such an iconoclast - and a splendid performance of the Carnival of the Animals. As a creation, the latter has a fluency that is Mozart-like. Ever so eloquently, the members of the Philharmonia promulgate its zoological pomp and circumstance. When the Tortoise tapers away into a vista of cerulean, who is not mesmerised and afire? How the Swan enchants as it skirts eternity.

This is opulence. Tremble at the visage of the Wolf! March with the Lions! Put a smile on your dial!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to have hit the mark with my Granddaughter!, 6 April 2010
By 
Roger Fry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
Good reports so far. She is just 2 but already singing some of the tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for little music lovers, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
my two and a half year old loves this CD. When he hears the wolf he cries out to warn peter. It's a great alternative to cheesy children's nursery rhyme CDs for in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for entertaining grandchildren!, 16 Sept. 2011
By 
Crispy (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
We had a version of "Peter and the Wolf" when our daughters were little but it was on an LP and we no longer have a sound system with a turntable ...and we now have grandchildren to entertain.This version with Peter Ustinov is wonderful even though our three year old grandson does like to hold a hand when the wolf music comes along! The "extras" of "Carnival of the Animals" and "Toy Symphony" are superb.
Peter Ustinov is a splendid narrator with a wonderfully melodious voice. A great value recording all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful production, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals (Audio CD)
The narration of Peter Ustinov is fantastic as his range of different voices, his timing and his dramatisation is so brilliant. I am using it with per-school children and it creates just the right amount of excitement and drama without being scary. My only criticism is that it seems a little bit too quiet especially when played in a big room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prokofiev: Peter and the Wolf / Saint-Saens: Carnival of the Animals
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews