Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to use, clear instructions
I've used this product for a few weeks to check the water quality for rainbow trout in an aquaponics system. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and there are hints for how to keep the levels correct. If you expect to do lots of nitrate tests it may be worth getting a separate dedicated kit as you use more than twice as much of the test chemicals to do this test...
Published on 1 May 2011 by Henry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but poor packaging and design
Considering the many 5 star reviews on Amazon, I expected a bit more. The first disappointment is that instructions are not clearly spelled out on the bottles, only in the separate instruction sheet. You will need these instructions - so make sure you don't loose that booklet, or even better, take a marker and write down instructions on the bottles yourself. Every bottle...
Published 10 months ago by Giedrius


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to use, clear instructions, 1 May 2011
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
I've used this product for a few weeks to check the water quality for rainbow trout in an aquaponics system. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and there are hints for how to keep the levels correct. If you expect to do lots of nitrate tests it may be worth getting a separate dedicated kit as you use more than twice as much of the test chemicals to do this test as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fish keepers!, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
When I first got a Goldfish I knew nothing about water quality and how detrimental it can be to the fish if the water contains chemicals that shouldn't be there! The first you would ordinarily know about it is a floating fish. :( So to avoid this, this water test kit is what you need to ensure your tank water quality is kept at optimum levels. It is easy to use and almost fun in a strange 'back to childhood chemistry set' way! It is pricey, but on Amazon it is loads cheaper than buying it in certain shops that will remain nameless. If the alternative is to take a sample of water to your local aquatics store (if they even exist anymore) then this is 100% easier and you can see the results yourself. You could buy the test strips for specific chemical testing, but its more fun messing about with test tubes! I've ordered my lab coat and thick rimmed glasses and I'm ready to test. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Axolotl Tank Tester, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
I keep axolotls, and as any axolotl keeper knows, they are very sensitive to water conditions (although many fishkeepers will know the same about some species of their fish). The point of the API Freshwater Master Liquid Test kit is to enable you to test each parameter safely and quickly to troubleshoot any problems in the aquarium. As a keeper it is also a very good idea to test weekly as part of tank upkeep, after a water change, to ensure an ongoing healthy aquarium.

What does it do?

Each liquid test kit tests for essential parameters such as ammonia, which is a killer, nitrite, which is less deadly but still lethal, and nitrate, which can cause problems if too high. It also enables you to test for elevated PHs. The kit is vital for testing for 'spikes' in these chemicals. It also enables you to assess the bacteria culture in your tank - if ammonia is converting to nitrate (i.e low or no ammonia, low or no nitrite and under 40ppm nitrate) you have a cycled, healthy tank.

What do you get for the money?

A computer calibrated test sheet, with colours that show the result of each test - place the completed test sample in its test tube over each colour. Whichever colour is hardest to see through the liquid is the closest match. It also contains a card which tells you which API products to use if you ever encounter problems (although personally I would enquire on hobby boards as they offer good advice). It also contains a booklet detailing how to do each test, with tables at the back to record your own results for a few weeks or so. It comes with four test tubes, which don't shatter when they break despite being made of glass - having four enables you to do ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and PH tests all in one lot). It also comes with reagents to test for AMMONIA, NITRITE, NITRATE, PH AND HIGH RANGE PH. You may need to use more of the nitrate and ammonia tests, as these use two different bottles each to complete each test, and quite a few more drops from each bottle than the other tests. You can buy these separately, but at £18 for a full set, and £6 separately, you may as well buy the full kit.

Are the tests difficult?

Not at all! PH and High Range Kits require only five drops of liquid with 5ml of tank water (clearly marked with a line so easy to fill) and to be left for barely a few seconds. The most complicated test is Nitrate, as it requires two bottles and over a minute and a half of shaking, but clear instructions are included, step-by-step, in English, French and Spanish. They are not difficult at all and over time can be done from memory.

How long do they take?

For the PH Tests, a few seconds. Each of the others requires five minutes to develop. The Nitrate takes as long as 6 and a half minutes because of the shaking process.

Any tips?

When testing, always leave bottles on a flat surface to avoid them rolling off. Also, with the Nitrate test, add Bottle No 1 to the test sample, shake to mix, then place on a flat surface. Remove the plastic lid and wipe it out before replacing - I find this prevents a lot of leaking when you do Bottle No 2's test.

Do you recommend them?

Definetely! I knew very little about tanks but the kit enables me to keep on top of their upkeep easily and is invaluable for ensuring my axolotls aren't sick because of parameters. They are easy to use and last ages - my last kit was bought in April (6 months ago) and I am only ordering a new one because I broke two test tubes and am running out of the Nitrate tests.

They are much more reliable than the strip tests - the API kit is also the most recommended kit on Caudata.org, one of the best amphibian sites on the net, and also one of the cheapest.

The only downsides are that the nitrate runs out quicker than the others, and that I have managed to break two test tubes by moderate falls, but buying a new kit remedies that, and as I said before, the glass does not shatter - the bottom simply falls off it it meets a hard impact. The colour charts can be difficult to read, particularly Nitrate, which has around three shades of orange or red that can be hard to distinguish - ask for a second opinion and always do them in good light to remedy this (if desperate ask on a forum, posting pictures), but generally Nitrate is the only one you may struggle with.

Overall, one of the best purchases possible for your aquarium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to use! well worth the money, 3 May 2011
By 
LMB Bourne (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
very easy to use and easy to read results. Also tells you clearly what the results mean. I would highly recommend the product, especially for beginners. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars API Water test kit, 19 Sep 2011
if u need to test your fish tank water get this product it costs £33 at pets at home so you save money and its easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars API Freshwater Master Test Kit, 26 Oct 2011
This is the most accurate test kit that is cheaply available in my opinion. It tests for pH, high range pH, ammonia, nitrite,and nitrate. I would advise you to buy a syringe to fill the test tubes with, as it is hard to fill them to the line. The chemicals in this kit do hurt if they touch your skin, and it can be a little tricky and time consuming to use, but it is very accurate and great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but poor packaging and design, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
Considering the many 5 star reviews on Amazon, I expected a bit more. The first disappointment is that instructions are not clearly spelled out on the bottles, only in the separate instruction sheet. You will need these instructions - so make sure you don't loose that booklet, or even better, take a marker and write down instructions on the bottles yourself. Every bottle has its own instructions - some need be shaken for 1 minute, some need not to be shaken. It is surprising they were not put on the bottles in the first place.

Second, the bottles and tubes are leaking a bit. It's not like they leak to the extent where the kit would be unusable, but they do leak, especially when shaken. It's not very reassuring to have a liquid with a "highly corrosive" warning in your hands, and see it dripping while you shake. Even the bottles leak, if you carry them around.

It's a good product, considering the competition, such as strip meters, but the manufacturing and packaging could be a bit more solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy as pi..., 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
One of the best things I've brought of Amazon, this was cheaper then major pet shops and easy to do with in 5 to 10 minutes, the readings are simple and easy to understand and leaves no mess. I've never done water testing before and thought this was going to be a pain but no, it was simple! My fish died and wanted to know why before my partner emptied the tank, turned out the good bacteria was over run by bad bacteria and was extremely high in toxic which caused the fish to die, shame I didn't get this before hand, it also contains how to reduce toxins and a list products to help maintain a healthy fish tank, it certainly is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use Aquarium Test Kit, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Freedom2m0soe "Raymond G Baxter" (Troon, South Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
After reading the instructions for the first time, it was easy to follow them, by the fourth test, I did not require them execpt for reference! The price of under £20 is fantastic, as I have seen them priced around £33
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars API Freshwater Test Kit, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Sarah (TAUNTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: API Freshwater Master Test Kit (Misc.)
This has all the basic testing equipment you will need for freshwater and salt water fish keeping. It comes with four test tubes, which you must be careful not to break as I have not found a way of just buying the test tubes. It tests for pH, high pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels. I have kept the stand that it arrived in to keep all the solutions, test tubes and cards tidy in my cabinet. I find it easy to use and my fish are healthier as a result, I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

API Freshwater Master Test Kit
£20.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews