Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog Rock from outer space, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
If you like Pink Floyd, Rush, Barclay James Harvest, Alan Parson's Project etc, this is definitely for you! Eloy's Ocean is undoubtedly one of the finest Prog Rock albums ever made. Eloy themselves are much underrated, so sadly they're often overlooked in Prog Rock history and not nearly as well known as any of the above mentioned. This may be in part due to their German origin and being in ascendence during a period where rock was dominated by Anglo-American acts. Some people note the singer's German accent and occasional grammatical error as a negative, however, I think it's almost the opposite, it adds to the mystery and other-worldliness of the music, especially since some of the lyrics are spoken and not sung. It's as if Eloy had just landed in a UFO and were making first contact with us Earth dwellers through their universal translators. Buy it and be prepared to go on a journey, this album is thick with atmosphere!

PS! The other Eloy albums which are as good as this and in the same vein are "Dawn" and "Silent Cries And Mighty Echoes", get them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Eloy!, 20 July 2009
By 
D. LAZAR ""True Believer"" (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
If you've never heard of Eloy, this is the place to start.Brilliant prog/krautrock with a spacey feel.This is the album where the band really started to shine.The opening track "Poseidon's Creation" is a driving 11 minute prog epic that reminds me very much of Rush,particularly the drumming, which is fantastic.There's also some nice spacey keyboards in the verses which make this part of the song slightly more mellow and atmospheric.The second song "Incarnation Of Logos" is another excellent track that starts off quiet and atmospheric before launching into a more uptempo section built around a great bass riff and some nice keyboards.I won't go on too much about the remaining 2 tracks as they are pretty similar in style, but the album's closer, the 15 minute "Atlantis' Agony At June 5th-8498 13p.m Gregorian Earthtime"(Phew!)has some interesting spoken word passages and some mighty organs that would make the hair on the back of Rick Wakeman's neck stand up!Overall, this is a really enjoyable album and basically the one that started my Eloy obsession!
Also try Silent Cries And Mighty Echoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Men From Atlantis......, 3 April 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
After years of line up instability,Eloy had finally settled on a consistent set of band members

Frank Bornemann - guitar, vocal
Klaus-Peter Matziol - bass
Detlev Schmidtchen - keyboards
Jürgen Rosenthal - drums,

this line up would last from DAWN (1976) thru to 1979's SILENT CRIES .. disc,encompassing this album from 1977 and the follow up 'LIVE' from '78.

It certainly shows as the band hit their stride,with what many fans believe to be their best studio disc,its a belter.

Opening with the classic 'Poseidon's Creation' the bands influences are there for all to hear specifically Rush and Hawkwind,the incredible Peart like drumming breathtaking.This album would be the backbone of the following years live album,providing 3 tracks.

As with all these remasters,this is from 2004,the original production sometimes is shown up but it shouldnt lessen your enjoyment of a truly lost album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prog Rock from outer space, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean (MP3 Download)
If you like Pink Floyd, Rush, Barclay James Harvest, Alan Parson's Project etc, this is definitely for you! Eloy's Ocean is undoubtedly one of the finest Prog Rock albums ever made. Eloy themselves are much underrated, so sadly they're often overlooked in Prog Rock history and not nearly as well known as any of the above mentioned. This may be in part due to their German origin and being in ascendence during a period where rock was dominated by Anglo-American acts. Some people note the singer's German accent and occasional grammatical error as a negative, however, I think it's almost the opposite, it adds to the mystery and other-worldliness of the music, especially since some of the lyrics are spoken and not sung. It's as if Eloy had just landed in a UFO and were making first contact with us Earth dwellers through their universal translators. Buy it and be prepared to go on a journey, this album is thick with atmosphere!

PS! The other Eloy albums which are as good as this and in the same vein are "Dawn" and "Silent Cries And Mighty Echoes", get them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eloy enjoy, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
A great album not as well known as pinkfloyed but eloy are in my opinion better i dont find there music depressin so i listen to them more but thats me. eloy ocean great album defently worth the plunge this album is worth more then five stars production engenierd quality and. skillfull musican's that produce music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A proper prog rock album, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
Always been a fan of Eloy, so was just looking to fill in the gaps in my collection and this album is a must have... and 4 tracks on one album, you just don't get that these days.. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars progressive rock, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
Most of the songs I use to listen from live LP 20 years ago, but it was very nice to listen from the studio version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this band from a friend and wow what a great album better than i expected and only wish this ..., 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean (Audio CD)
I herd about this band from a friend and wow what a great album better than i expected and only wish this band would tour the uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ocean
Ocean by Eloy (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews