Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!!!! :)
I remember rushing out to buy this on it's first day of release back in '81-the first LP i ever bought.This CD release is fantastic.The sound quality is beyond belief and I have heard something new on every track,and the bonus tracks make it.This really has been a thoughtful re-issue,from the in depth sleeve notes to the track listing.With the Fizz reuniting for a short...
Published on 24 Jun 2004 by Mr. A. J. Hawksworth

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's get Fizzical
It was inevitable that an album designed to capitalise on the success of Eurovision winner, "Making Your Mind Up," would be an inoffensive froth of feel-good pop. The bulk of the original album delivers on the cheery pop sensibilities of their first two singles but there were also hints of the greater and more substantial things to come. Third single, "One Of Those...
Published on 9 July 2004 by T. Kavanagh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!!!! :), 24 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. A. J. Hawksworth "ahawksworth" (Sheffield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
I remember rushing out to buy this on it's first day of release back in '81-the first LP i ever bought.This CD release is fantastic.The sound quality is beyond belief and I have heard something new on every track,and the bonus tracks make it.This really has been a thoughtful re-issue,from the in depth sleeve notes to the track listing.With the Fizz reuniting for a short tour in December all we need now is a complete DVD anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUCKS FIZZ - Bucks Fizz (Remastered), 17 Sep 2004
By 
M. J. POULTER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
Wow! It's been the best part of 20 years since I actually sat down and listened to this album in its entirety, mainly due to the fact that my original vinyl LP has been gathering dust in the cupboard for the best part of that time and I've totally converted to CDs.
Fans of Bucks Fizz will be absolutely delighted with the current reissues of the group's 4 studio albums for RCA, having all been lovingly remastered and all featuring bonus tracks, be they B-sides, previously unreleased, or, as in this case, Spanish versions of some of the groups best known tracks.
It's about time this album saw the light of day on CD...maybe Polydor will take note and re-issue their 1986 album "Writing On The Wall"?
And for those trivia fans amongst you, check out their original version of "Lady Of The Night", which was recorded by Bardo the following year (1982) as the B-side to their UK Eurovision entry "One Step Further".
This is early 80s pop at its best!!
Stand out tracks are the gorgeous ballads "One Of Those Nights" and "Getting Kinda Lonely", the joyous "Shine On", the closing track "The Right Situation" (which can't help but put a smile on your face, purely from the fact that it sounds like the group really enjoyed recording it!), and of course the UK's Eurovision winner from 1981 "Making Your Mind Up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted from '81, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
I was eleven when my sister used to play the vinyl at home and the tape away in her walkman. We were expecting for years the CD but it never came to Spain. Finally I've found it and give it to her as a birthday gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL FIZZ, 23 July 2009
By 
S. V. Kerry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
This is the first album by Bucks Fizz and probably one of the best for pure,simple and effective pop tunes. Their first three singles are here including the eurovision smash "Making Your Mind Up","Piece Of The Action" and the brilliant "One Of Those Nights".Along with them you get a solid collection of memorable tunes including "The Right Situation" which sounds fun to this day. Also here is the big ballad "Getting Kinda Lonely", the irresistable "Shine On" and the simple but effective "Midnight Reservation". For the die hard Fizzers theres the added bonuses including some spanish language tracks and the pretty B-side only "Always Thinking Of You".All the tracks are solid and have memorable tunes and it's the perfect reminder of why "The Fizz" had such a huge fan base in their early days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Early Piece of Eurovision Pop History Beginning to Unfold, 15 Jun 2004
By 
Ian Stocker (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
Who would have thought that after their triumph at the Eurovision Song Contest in Dublin with 'Making Your Mind Up', Bucks Fizz would go on to claim their rightful place in Pop History.
This was their very first self-titled album and one that is often understated. What this album represents is the Bucks Fizz we all remember and love. A combination of good looks, great harmonies and a winning combination, which produced this classic masterpiece of pure fresh pop music.
The main tracks on this album include their first three singles together with a mix of both slow and fast tracks all polished off with the party anthem, 'The Right Situation'.
As one of a set of four releases of all Bucks Fizz back catalogue, this album also includes a total of 10 Bonus Tracks. Two B-Sides followed by five tracks recorded in Spanish. These Spanish recordings show the professionalism and determination of the group, as they underwent Spanish lessons from the same teacher who taught ABBA.
The album is then polished off with a previously un-released track 'I Used To Love The Radio', a 1985 version of 'Love In A World Gone Mad' and the 12" version of 'Heart Of Stone'.
From Pure Fresh Pop to Spanish Pop to Polished Pop, this album is a must for both fans and the many onlookers who unlike myself were always too proud to own up !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's get Fizzical, 9 July 2004
By 
T. Kavanagh "tony" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
It was inevitable that an album designed to capitalise on the success of Eurovision winner, "Making Your Mind Up," would be an inoffensive froth of feel-good pop. The bulk of the original album delivers on the cheery pop sensibilities of their first two singles but there were also hints of the greater and more substantial things to come. Third single, "One Of Those Nights" was, by far, the best song of the set and the most effective of the ballads on offer here. The funkier edge of "Took It To The Limit" was a welcome foil to the overall perkiness and could have held its head high on some of the group's later and better albums. Honourable mention, too, for the bubbling disco bounce of "Shine On." To these ears, the running order seems a little odd: the original side 2 (tracks 6-10) would have worked better as the opening set. As debut albums go, "Bucks Fizz" is competent and fun but, essentially, unremarkable

Ultimately, the bonus material points the way forward. The contemporary B-sides live down to their status and the Spanish language tracks are, at best, somewhat interesting but it is the later recordings that show how well the group developed and achieved their potential. The previously unreleased "I Used To Love The Radio" (a jaunty pop take on the nuclear-apocalypse lyrical fad of the era) ups the ante. Ultimately, however, everything else on the disc is eclipsed by two of the group's finest ever tracks - "Love In A World Gone Mad" and "Heart Of Stone": the big hits that (incredibly) got away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut from Bucks Fizz!, 1 Jan 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
This was Bucks Fizz's debut album, and like the drink - it bubbled with 'fizz' and included their first three top twenty smashes.

Whilst not having the best voices (Bobby G. by far having the best vocal talent) their sound was totally unique and instantly recognisable. I would much rather have this personally than wonderful voices with rubbish material. Bucks Fizz's first three albums most definitely equalled one another in terms of style and quality. I was always puzzled why none of these ever reached number one - the band seemed to have enough following at the time.

People said that Bucks Fizz's second single 'Piece Of The Action' sounded just like their first - but as Cheryl Baker once said; this is not true. I never understood this either, since both songs were totally different from one another. People tend to get confused when singers and bands have a 'certain' and unique sound, and immediately say that all their songs sound the same - totally untrue. Anyone at the time who enjoyed any of Bucks Fizz's first three singles would have been delighted with this album. It was also done in a fabulous glossy and expensive sleeve, and at a time when the quality of LP covers was on the decline.

We waited a long time for this to finally be re-issued on CD. I'm not one for 'bonus' tracks, and so personally, I could have done without these and kept the original album in its original format.

For me, this will always be a wonderful reminder of the lovely summer of 1981.

Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am sad, 21 Mar 2009
By 
S. Mark Gee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
yes i did buy this for me.

abba are very popular at the moment. the and bucks fizz are both naff. but they both did lots of good songs - obviously not very trendy to admit it i know but a good song is a good song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MISLEADING ALBUM DESCRIPTION, 4 Mar 2010
By 
M. READE (SOUTH WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bucks Fizz (Audio CD)
BEWARE! THIS IS NOT AN ALBUM BY THE ORIGINAL (BEST) BUCKS FIZZ LINE-UP. IT IS A RE-HASH BY A LATER GROUPING CONTAINING THE OLEAGINOUS DAVID VAN DAY.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS, IF YOU HAVE ANY RESPECT FOR THE MUCH-UNDERRATED EUROVISION WINNERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bucks Fizz
Bucks Fizz by Bucks Fizz (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews