Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remastered version of a lesser known Paul Simon work
This album of songs, dating from the period of Paul Simon's unexpected starring role in the film One Trick Pony, is a collection of generally excellent jazzy and relaxed songs, some performed live, with one regular band (the core members being Richard Tee, Eric Gale, Tony Levin and Steve Gadd) rather than the various collections of musicians used on many of his earlier...
Published on 30 Mar. 2010 by Hindburn

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, but not his best album
I'm not sure what the problem with this album is - maybe it just shows the same lack of purpose as the film. There are too many tracks which don't really say anything: 'God Bless The Absentee', 'That's Whay God Made The Movies', etc. There are some good lines: 'The boy's got a heart, but it beats on his opposite side/it's a strange phenomenon, the laws of nature...
Published on 2 Aug. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remastered version of a lesser known Paul Simon work, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
Hindburn (Church Stretton, Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Trick Pony: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
This album of songs, dating from the period of Paul Simon's unexpected starring role in the film One Trick Pony, is a collection of generally excellent jazzy and relaxed songs, some performed live, with one regular band (the core members being Richard Tee, Eric Gale, Tony Levin and Steve Gadd) rather than the various collections of musicians used on many of his earlier solo recordings. Although only Late in the Evening is relatively well known, all the tracks on the album are very good examples of Paul Simon's late 70s / early 80s smooth jazz style and would appeal to keen fans of his work. The bonus tracks are also good, and particularly welcome is Stranded in a Limousine, the rare track which first appeared on Paul's Greatest Hits etc collection in 1977 but has been omitted from many compilations since. Given the inclusion of this track, the omission of the finished studio recording of Slip slidin' away, which was another song from this era that appeared on the 1977 collection, is very regrettable, since it has not been included as a bonus track on any of these reissues of the original albums (a demo version only is included as a bonus on Still crazy after all these years). However, apart from this unfortunate omission, this is a great sounding album which is, in parts, as good as any of Paul Simon's solo work and is therefore strongly recommended. Like all of the 2004 series of Paul Simon remasters in cardboard sleeves with extra tracks, the remastered sound is superb and has clearly been done with great care, and I'm sure does full justice to what Paul and his various co-producers intended in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the Paul Simon fanatics, for anyone!, 24 July 2001
By 
Having not seen the film I am still uncertain how the music fits into it all, however as an album, this ten-track masterpiece offers some impressive songs. From the upbeat numbers such as 'Late in the Evening' to the contrasting ending song of 'Long ,Long Day', this soundtrack never fails to impress. A lot of the numbers are instantly likeable, and taking into consideration the originality of this music and the number of key changes that occur in each song, you can only come away happy. Never just for the Paul Simon fanatics, definitely for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album worthy of a place in any collection, 29 Oct. 2008
By 
commodityfetish (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This is an important addition to Paul Simon's impressive anthology, and certainly doesn't deserve to be put down in comparison to others. Oh Marion is, in my opinion, one of the best works Paul Simon has done (no small feat). It is a lyrical and musical masterpiece. This album has a more eclectic feel (as with his earlier works) which could be said to be lost somewhat in his later albums which stuck closer to themes (which I don't mean to be a criticism). I have never seen this film, but the music on this album stands up to a lot of what he's done before or since. It may not have as many catchy numbers as Graceland, and may have dips here and there, but he's an artist who doesn't always make the listener comfortable. Anyone who enjoyed his debut album will enjoy this. Those hoping to tap along to Call Me Al in the background may give this 3 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underrated Paul Simon album, 18 Jan. 2009
By 
Philip (Vienna, Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Trick Pony: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
"One-Trick Pony" is a wonderful Paul Simon album, seriously underrated and underplayed. It's full of beautiful melodies and lyrics, creating a special mood I often enjoy to return to, ever since the days the album was released. I never saw the movie, which goes to show one enjoys the soundtrack nonetheless. I'm happy and grateful about the release of a remastered, extended version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one trick pony, 20 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
having just rediscovered this album after it has been lying in my collection for a number of years i can say that i am surprised at how much i enjoyed it. the sublety of playing from the band, especially steve gadd who is always worth a listen to, is brilliant.they all play so well together. it may not be paul simons best album but for variety and great playing i would definitly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no tricks!, 26 July 2009
This review is from: One Trick Pony: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for a friend. Arrived in good time and the friend was very pleased with it, in particular the quality of the recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, as expected!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, but not his best album, 2 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
I'm not sure what the problem with this album is - maybe it just shows the same lack of purpose as the film. There are too many tracks which don't really say anything: 'God Bless The Absentee', 'That's Whay God Made The Movies', etc. There are some good lines: 'The boy's got a heart, but it beats on his opposite side/it's a strange phenomenon, the laws of nature defied/He says The more I get to thinking, the less I tend to laugh' from 'Oh Marion', but generally the effect is pretty bland. The band doesn't help either, with some fairly weak lead guitar work - maybe that's part of the irony of the film, but it doesn't sound like it, as the rest of the band are fine. 'Ace In The Hole' is too weak a song for the film's message to come across strongly. This is an album to have as part of your Paul Simon collection, rather than for its own sake. Sorry Paul - I love the rest of your albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yes! One Trick Pony., 7 Mar. 2009
By 
Julian E. Boyce "Joebee" (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Trick Pony (MP3 Download)
One Trick Pony. What can you say? Paul Simon, and then some. I still have this, in it's, for me, original form. That is to say, on a second hand tape, copied from somewhere.OOps! I have had it for years, it is getting a little old and dusty, like me. But it still swings. But then it would, it is not only Paul Simon but, early Paul Simon. Before he went all meaningful, and began to spoil things, a little.This album, is one of his best. If you only buy two albums, buy this one first, and then Graceland.Graceland Y'know, I might even treat myself to a new, fresh download version. Just while I think of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Trick Pony: Remastered And Expanded
One Trick Pony: Remastered And Expanded by Paul Simon (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews