Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Drenched With Adrenaline Today!, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
If you are new to Motorhead, try and imagine a world with just the rumbling, dirt-encrusted, speed-freaked 'Motorhead' album on the Chiswick Records label; and then this one is released and you drop your stylus into the groove to hear this album for the very first time, and then, from the fabulous title track onwards, you will realise why Motorhead are the legends they are still today.
This album is power.
This album is the one which a million speed-metal bands were influenced by and took to playing in a band themselves.
This album is the die from which they all, including Metallica, were cast.
This album simply rips your head off and does a great big-jobby down the stump whether you want it to or not.
This album is the one your neighbours started banging on the wall about, screaming "Turn it down! It's too effing LOUD!"
This album, despite 'Ace Of Spades' now being regarded as a 'Classic' and beyond the 'Bomber' album into the band's future, is the one Motorhead set as their yardstick.
This album will also live to be set in stone and then be regarded as a 'Classic' in its' own right when the time arrives for 'Classic Album' DVD's to be made again.
This is the album which hasn't dated a day in its almost 30 year's existance. Just buy your copy now, the collection simply isn't complete without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Motorhead album, 7 Mar 2005
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
It`s a toss up between this and "Ace of spades" as to which is the greatest Motorhead album ever, but this one gets my vote. While it doesn`t have their most famous song ("Ace of spades"...duh!) it is chock full of Motor classics. I don`t care what Lemmy says either, the classic line up of Lemmy, "Fast" Eddie Clarke and Philthy Animal Taylor had the best chemistry of any combination before or since.
The album roars out of the starting gate with "Overkill", second only to "Ace of spades" as the definitive Motorhead song. Taylor`s drums pound away right through the song and the two false endings are a work of genius, the band keep coming back with the unrelenting riff until you can`t take any more. "Stay clean" is just as good with lemmy`s bass solo in the middle almost drowning out the rest of the band. Also "Fast" Eddie`s guitar solos, while short and simple, are vital and recognizable parts of the songs. The classics keep on coming: "(I won`t) pay your price", "I`ll be your sister", "Capricorn", "No class", "Damage case", "Tear ya down", "Metropolis", almost the whole album still features at the bands concerts even today. The whole thing winds up with the twisted twelve-bar of "Limb from limb", a very under-rated number in their catologue, which even features a lead guitar break from Lemmy.
if you are only going to buy one or if you are looking for somewhere to start, then this is it. Not only Motorhead`s best album but one of the best Heavy Metal LPs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless Classic, 3 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
In 1979 I was a 14 year-old who'd just returned from living in America for a few years and was brought up on bands like Aerosmith, Zep, Van Halen, Boston (ughh!), Skynyrd, The Who, etc. I returned home bang in the middle of the NWOBHM and was confronted by this monumental album and band. Put simply, I thought they were the greatest band on the planet (and still do). Overkill is not just Motorhead's best, it's easily one of the greatest and most influential albums ever recorded!! It's up there with Dark Side, Sabbath's first, Physical Graphitti, Exodus, Back in Black and Never Mind the Bollocks. Although they've never got the credit for it. There was nobody like Motorhead before them and nobody has even come close since. The impact that Motorhead had at that time is virtually impossible to describe in 2008, they were completely different to anything else. Granted, music has got heavier and louder in the last 30 years, but there comes a point where music gives way to noise and (IMHO) Motorhead are still about as heavy as you can get without losing rhythm and soul. Motorhead's albums and sellout live shows don't sound remotely dated and they still pack a punch like nobody else. There's no point doing a track by track review of this record, every song is outstanding, it's simply a genre-defining classic. If you're new to Motorhead, this is where you start. Although they came close with Ace of Spades, Motorhead never bettered Overkill. But they've remained consistently great, which is more than can be said for all of their contemporaries. They are as relevant today as they've always been and are still making outstanding, worthwhile music. Long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 10 Aug 2007
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
I bought this album when I was an impressionable 15 year old and it changed my life! Never had an album had the effect on me that this did. From the double bass drum intro to the opening title track until the closer "limb from Limb", every track is a classic, so much so that they still play some of it live. There are too many highlights to list them all. What I'll say to you is buy it and enjoy one of rocks greatest albums.....It may change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motörhead's best album, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
This has to be my favourite album by Motörhead as I love every track from this album more then any other song that they done and the quality is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
Excellent album and product. If you love Motörhead and want one of there best albums then this is it has the all time Motörhead classic overkill on on it hence the name. A must have in you metal album collection. Buy it. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All-time Classic, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Widely acknowledged as a seminal Motorhead album, arguably better than Ace of Spades, Overkill belongs in every discerning metal fan's collection. It's the perfect introduction to those new to the band - if you don't like Overkill, chances are you won't like Motorhead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overkill..., 2 May 2013
By 
denny (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Motorhead's best ever album - from their classic line up of Lemmy, Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor and Fast Eddie Clarke.
I first bought this way back in 1979, and to this day I still play this!
Get your money out if your even thinking of buying this gem - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Total OVERKILL..., 16 Oct 2012
By 
lonewolf1066 (middle earth. england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
I was just finishing my school years when the NWOBHM struck with such force it swept me along with it. This album was my baptism of fire into the world of Heavy Metal. I still listen to this Album now some 30 plus years later. (God bless you Lemmy) Raw power that never gets boring, it doesn't get much better than this album......Buy it your love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It just Tears Ya Down, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Overkill (Audio CD)
LOOK let me put it this way this album is pure adrenalin and power.This is rock and roll at its best enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb142e084)

This product

Overkill
Overkill by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews