Customer Reviews


20 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love music you will love this album, 12 Oct. 2005
By 
S. Byrne "lafemmesabotage" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
It is a must for those passionate about exploring music and working within and outside of boundaries. I played this constantly whilst writing my final year project at uni, kept pressing the repeat button as there are so many textures to the songs on this album to explore. There are constant genius moments of musicianship and imagination, and beyond the overwhelming power of the music itself is the political charge of the lyrics and vocals. It is an amazing, amazing album and to me sets the standard for any punk band today. It's as perfect a hardcore album as you could ever get, and to me is a landmark album that ups the ante for future hardcore punk bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shape of Punk to Come, 18 Dec. 2007
By 
Richard S. Clesham (somerset, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
This album is like no other and shows just how far Refused could have gone if only theyd kept going. It's unique style makes it a welcome change to most music around nowadays. The lyrics are passionate and well written, finely delivered by the singer with his trademark screams finely balanced with the melower verses of songs like Liberation Frequency and Protest Song '68. In all an astounding album and by far one of the best in my collection. A must buy if ever there was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing that can be said...., 5 July 2008
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
that'll do this album any justice. It's perfect. Everything I think Refused tried to achieve with The Shape of Punk to Come, they did.
Dennis Lyxzéns lyrics are flawless. They flow and all work together beautifully. The guitars kill it. And the drums? Just forget about it.
Anybody that claims to be 'into' the genre of rock, or any kind of variation of it, needs to get this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hardcore Punk Album EVER!!!, 12 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
I don't even need to write a review for this you can see from what's written below that you should buy it. Personally i didn't even hear this album until 2007, nearly 10 years later and i haven't really stopped listening to it since. If it wasn't for this band or this album I wouldn't be listening to the artists I listen to today because they probably wouldn't even be making music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the shape of punk to come, 10 Oct. 2013
First heard this band on scuzz liked the track so invested in the album bit different to expectations but still a cracking musical adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it was like having an out of body experience listening to this ..., 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
a complete masterpiece, I was simply blown away,it was like having an out of body experience listening to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product delivered quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a groundbreaker, 14 Aug. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
refused were once a band that played short sharp punky tracks with hardcore undertones,but with their final album they were responsible for the birth of a new movement called screamcore,they may not have known it despite their seemingly arrogant album title which is more ironic than belief.
While in 1998 indie was dead,punk was finding a new face with pop punk and grunge was dead and metal was gaining its fire,refused came along and released something just that little bit different.This album brought longer songs,songs that werent predictable and a sense of energy that was long lost.
The album is punky in places but isnt a punk album,more screamcore than anything else that i care to identify,emo can hold a look of love to this as well,it isnt all frantic noise,there are controlled moments as well such as on 'summerholidays vs punkroutine' and on the instrumental 'bruitist pome #5' which is a xylophone played track with electronica.Dennis lyxzens vocals are sharp yet never that fierce but his influence is hard to pin down,so many owe so much,and that goes for the band as a whole and this album is the blueprint that many would follow,respect is due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hardcore Master Piece, 19 July 2004
This review is from: The Shape Of Punk To Come (Audio CD)
Talk to any "fan" of hardcore and they will mention refused this is an album that alot of people claim to own but probably don't. It is seen as cool to live refused if you like hardcore but has anyone ever thought why? Well this album was first of all years ahead of its time think about how many bands have been influenced by refused and the list is too numerous to mention. This album was the fist ablum to mix the hardcore of the 80's with the new metalcore sound whilst adding in elements of jazz and drum and bass. This album is diverse and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Genius, 28 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
this album grabs you by the balls and does not release untill the last track, if only all music was like this, heavier than most heavy metal and full of feeling and anger . vocals ranging from smooth quiet whispers to all out banshee wailing. Guitar lines are blinding and drums that pound into you like a sledgehammer. Standout track is track 4..oh yes refused are/were the shape of punk to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shape Of Punk To Come
The Shape Of Punk To Come by Refused (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews