Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars safer than cigarettes or alcohol...
Wikipedia has some advantages but it is, mainly, an unreliable source of knowledge. Never believe in what you read about health on wikipedia without double
checking the information in as many other sources as possible.

If you check, for example, the book "New Vitamin Bible" by Earl Mindell , published in 2011, you will read about vitamin B6 on page...
Published on 6 May 2012 by lucas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars better alternatives
We all need the B vitamins but did you know there are more than 50 B vitamins? Most think there are only 12. Why? Because we've been brainwashed by the supplements industry.

As usual, this does not offer enough of the Bs because it's synthetic. While most B vitamins are water-soluble, so the body can easily get rid of any overdoses, be particularly careful with...
Published 7 months ago by D&D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars safer than cigarettes or alcohol..., 6 May 2012
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
Wikipedia has some advantages but it is, mainly, an unreliable source of knowledge. Never believe in what you read about health on wikipedia without double
checking the information in as many other sources as possible.

If you check, for example, the book "New Vitamin Bible" by Earl Mindell , published in 2011, you will read about vitamin B6 on page 55:
"Daily doses of 2 to 10 grams can cause neurological disorders". This product contains 50 mg of B6 per capsule so you would need to take
40 capsules in one day to make 2 grams of B6...

He also says that " Doses over 500 mg are not recommended". You will need to take 10 capsules daily to reach that dosage...
The serving size of this product is one capsule, once or twice a day...

I, personally, would go for B6 as part of a multivitamin made by Life Extension or Pure Encapsulations but Solgar is not a bad brand. You can find Life Extension on
Amazon but Pure Encapsulations products, thanks to those ignorant politicians in Brussels, is difficult to buy in the UK now.

So, if you do care about your health and want to know more about supplements stick to books and reliable websites. Wikipedia, definitely, is
not a place to look for information about your health.

Earl Mindell, whose book I mentioned, is an American pharmacist with about 45 years of experience...
He is a RPh, PhD.

But never mind that author and many others who say more or less the same.
Let's see what the American Government, which is no friend of supplements, has to say about excessive intake of B6 as a supplement:
"chronic administration of 1-6 g oral pyridoxine per day for 12-40 months can cause severe and progressive sensory neuropathy".

So, you would normally need to take at least 20 capsules of B6 (50mg) every single day, during a whole year, to be at risk of health problems caused by an over intake of B6.
This information is from the Office of Dietary Supplements, part of the American Government.

Even if someone is stupid enough to take twenty capsules daily of this product, he (women are wiser than that...)
would only need to stop taking such a senseless amount of capsules as soon as initial symptoms of oversupply of B6, such as restlessness or numb feet, appear. Then, symptoms would usually disappear without consequences.
Of course, this is a hypothetical situation as I can't really imagine anyone taking more than a couple of B6 capsules per day although, as I said before, I would rather take B6 as part of a multivitamin than on its own.
Reason why I feel comfortable to say that a 50 mg capsule of vitamin B6 is far safer than a pack of cigarettes or a bottle of vodka...

PS I remember when I once checked a film on wikipedia and, according to it, the director of photography
was a British cinematographer. Well, according to the credits on the film , the director of photography was actually a Canadian guy with
a very different name from the one on wikipedia...Then, much to my surprise, I found out that I could
correct the information myself and without any kind of supervision whatsoever...Since then I only use wikipedia as a quick reference about a subject
but never use wikipedia as only source of information, especially when dealing with something as important as one's health.

Editing on 03 august 2014. I had forgotten about this review. I am taking Solgar liquid B12 with complex B liquid for a while and think it is a much better product than this Solgar B complex in capsules.
The price is similar, it is liquid and it tastes good.

A review about the liquid B complex rightly points out to the potassium sorbate being used as a preservative . But there are many preservatives worse than potassium sorbate, such as sulfites ( present in wines and most of Holland and Barret health products, for example ) and sodium nitrite ( ham etc ). Ideally, one would Iive without additives but unless you have your own farm or are very, very rich a life without additives is just impossible. You will find potassium sorbate in cheese, bread, yogurt, olives and much more. Some additives, such as aspartame, I avoid like the plague. I know for a fact that aspartame will cause me throbbing headaches so I never use it and it is quite easy to stay away from aspartame. It is infinitely more difficult to avoid potassium sorbate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars better alternatives, 5 July 2014
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
We all need the B vitamins but did you know there are more than 50 B vitamins? Most think there are only 12. Why? Because we've been brainwashed by the supplements industry.

As usual, this does not offer enough of the Bs because it's synthetic. While most B vitamins are water-soluble, so the body can easily get rid of any overdoses, be particularly careful with folic acid here - it can cause cancer as it's synthetic - you really need folate, the natural version of vitamin B9. Also the B12 is the cheaper cyanocobalamin (cyanide!), you want methylcobalamin.

US companies Premier Research and Innate Response (expensive over here) and Standard Process (unobtainable over here) offer natural vitamins - see my review of "Supplements Exposed: The Truth They Don't Want You to Know About Vitamins, Minerals, and Their Effects on Your Health". Synthetics work short-term but always have a longer-term "cost".

"The Calcium Lie II" is an intriguing book claiming to explain the root cause of most illnesses suggests stablilised rice bran + raw seeds as a great source of natural B Complex vitamins (pumpkin seeds are the only seeds with a good zinc-to-copper balance for those who have copper overload as explained in "Why Am I Always So Tired").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Women., 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
Great product, just love it. Balances mood levels out too. Not too keen on the smell, but its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solgar vitamin B complex, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Rosemary Barham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was recommended to me by a nutritional therapist and has done the job intended. Would fully recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vitamin B capsules, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
I take vitamin B regularly but have NEVER seen such large capsules and really struggled to swallow them.I have no problem with the vitamin, just the size of the capsule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for when you're feeling sluggish, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
Great vitamins - i think the best quality B vits on the market.

I think they stop me feeling too sluggish. Buy them on amazon as it's the best price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Buy Solgar, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
I always try and buy Solgar when funds allow. A quality Vitamin that you can trust. Its false economy buying some other products on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
panic attacks subsided thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like them, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
I have used the "100" of these before, then wondered if I needed such a dose so I switched to a different brand then came back to Solgar and decided I will go for the "50" which I will probably stay with now.

These are slightly smaller in physical size than the "100" so they are easy enough to swallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant product, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Formula Vitamin B-Complex "50" Vegetable Capsules - 100 Vegicaps (Personal Care)
This time last year I had no energy,was very lethargic and constantly suffered with mouth ulcers but a few weeks into taking these vitamins I was like a new person.Loads more energy,hardly ever suffer from mouth ulcers now and my moods are far better. Product a lot cheaper on amazon than in local health shop.Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews