Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest live performance!!, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe how much I laughed while watching this dvd. Richard Pryor grabs you're attention from the second he takes to the stage and you can't stop laughing until he walks off!!
At one point I was on the floor struggling to breath.
A great performance from one of the funniest men ever.
Talking about life in general or his life anyway, which has been very unordinary.
He takes you into his memories of childhood, heart attacks, drinking, drugs, and family.
Mt favourite bit is when he talks about nature and going into the woods.
Watch this dvd and you'll understand!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Stuff!, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
Having never heard of Richard Pryor (out of my era i'm afraid) I thought i'd give it ago with the raving reviews from everyone on here and I wasn't disappointed 3 minutes in and he had me in stitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pryor on fire at Long Beach, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
I was a fan of the collaborations he'd done with Gene Wilder, but had never really seen the real Richard Pryor experience and I was lucky enough to find this dvd at a market (albeit a different version without the extras).

I invited a couple of friends over for dinner and we sat down to watch - and between chokes (we should have known better really), the laughter seldom stopped.

Richard was absolutely on fire here - from talking about how he killed his car, to being attacked by his heart, his advice to "RUN!" from danger, anecdotes about being sexually molested by his pet monkey, hunting in the woodlands and tales about him and his family, to stuttering Chinese waiters and his career as a Golden Gloves boxer, Pryor showed why he is a comedy legend - and quite rightly so.

Looking at Eddie Murphy's standup comedy classics Delirious and Raw - you can see just how much of a homage it is to Richard - indeed Eddie has gone on record saying that this concert of Richard Pryor's, filmed at Long Beach, California, is the number one comedy film of all time - I'm not sure if that's the case depending on your taste of comedy, but few can argue of the quality of Richard's performance here.

He is manic one moment, uproariously uncouth (certainly for the 70's), and heartwarming the next. He performs skilled physical comedy, he makes amusing social satire of his audience, regardless of skin colour - and he will leave you in stitches.

If you must watch only one Richard Pryor stand up film in your life - make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so funny, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Simon Spendlove "luvbott" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
watched this with my girlfriend who hadn't a clue who richard prior was. We laughed so hard. I left the dvd in her place & found out she watched it again the next night without me!

a must have dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the funniest stand up of all time, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
It's as simple as this: this show is a must for anyone who likes to laugh.

Richard Pryor was one of the funniest stand ups to have ever lived; his jokes were cutting and hilarious, his storytelling was unique and insightful, and his character work is as yet unparalleled in the world of stand up. Any Chris Rock fans out there (and I love him), this is where his act originated.

Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pryor is one of the best comedian's of all time, 3 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
I can't express how much I love Richard Pryor, he is a genius!
This concert is side-splittingly funny, I've never laughed so hard in my life.
This DVD is timeless, you will never get bored of it.
I highly recommend this to any one vaguely interested in comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest standup of all times!!, 6 July 2004
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
i love standup, especially american standup. and there is no greater exponent in that artform then richard pryor. and its about time we were granted a dvd of his live standup. i have listened to them all. bills hicks, eddie murphy, chris rock. but richard pryor does stand, along with possibly, lenny bruce, head and shoulders above all of them. why? because u can sense the pain in his comedy, not knowing whether to laugh, or cry. it comes from his life experiences. a life not many of us would like 2 live. all the other comics i have mentioned earlier are funny. but the joke may wear thin after repeat hearings. but with richard, there is poetry, and method in his madness. because it comes from the heart, thats what makes it so heartbrakingly funny. because he is a tortured soul who has lived a life that would buckle the best of us, but he seems, somehow to find humour in it, and everything else. that is his genius. finding something amusing in this madness we call life. and now, that life has finally buckled the great man silent. but while he rode it.....what a ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect comedy, poor quality dvd, 15 Dec 2005
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
Well! What can i say? The funniest stand-up ever? Maybe. Certainly not far off. I grew up on Richard Pryor an Gene Wilder films an didnt even know about Pryors stand-up comedy til i saw this. I didnt get what i expected! i got BETTER!! It certainly seems very similar to more recent stand-up routines, and you wonder if they copied his style. its fresh and edgy and very near to perfection. So why only 4 stars?? I know the footage is very old but at times i found it hard to tell what he was saying, an not cos of his accent! The audio is a bit of a letdown for what should be a treasured piece of comedy history. But... you gotta buy it! really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE GODFATHER OF COMEDY !!!, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
DVD case was damaged which i was disappointed about.
But The quality of the DVD is brilliant and its truly the greatest stand-up comedy i've ever seen.
Guaranteed endless laughter.
Recommend it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peaople Who Hate Black People, Are Mad, This Should Help., 23 Dec 2003
Richard makes your day, and any day that you watch this DVD you will be better off in your mind.
Its like Medicine take at least three times a week and you be much happier.
FANTASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD]
Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] by Jeff Margolis (DVD - 2004)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews