Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely funny, 27 Mar 2006
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
I don't have the DVD, but I have the original televised concert taped. It was unbelievable. I absolutely peed myself laughing. He was a fantasitc storyteller. The stories about being disciplined by his dad and grandma were hilarious. When he talked about his stepmothers funeral, he reminded us that awful things in life still have the power to make you laugh. But the absolute best bit was the sex at the end. There will never be anyone bigger or better than Richard Pryor. RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNIEST COMEDIAN EVER !!, 10 Mar 2006
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen many stand up comedians but by far pryor is the best and out of all i think this is his finest performance. and from then on black comedians like eddie murphy jamie foxx chris rock and so on have tried to perform like him.He brings his life and past on stage for all to see and makes it funny.In my eyes if u wanna laugh BUY this dvd u wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't find anything like this any more..., 22 Oct 2007
By 
A. C. Brooks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this on TV sometime late at night on channel 4, as a tribute to his memory, and I'm surprised i didn't wake everyone up laughing!
No-one can argue that Richard Pryor isn't funny if they haven't seen this first. Put plainly, Richard Pryor is both amusing(to say the least)and enthralling in his mixed style of comedy and storytelling. The woods part is my favourite! Snake!
Look, I'm only 15 (yes, I know, I'm not old enough) but my friends don't really take me seriously when I say that the stuff you'll hear today, like Peter Kaye and Lee Evans, just don't compare to the comic genius of this man. All I can say is: Buy it. Watch it. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 1 Jun 2004
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
Although some of his films (Stir Crazy and Hear No Evil... in particular) hint at the comedic genius of Richard Pryor he is funniest in stand-up, and until the release of this DVD there was precious little available on Region 2 DVD.
Is it offensive? Well, I'm not offended by it, and while I can understand that some people might be, they're not the type of people who would impulsively purchase this DVD, so what the hell? And anyway, no-one (not even Bill Cosby if you believe Eddie Murphy) is going to stop Pryor saying what he wants to say of stage, and that's what makes this material so great. People who have been turned off by other comedians who take this approach need not fear Pryor, however. Whereas Bill Hicks, Sam Kinison and George Carlin might be too in-your-face for some, this show is every bit as thought-provoking as anything done by these three without ever provoking anger or outrage.
Most importantly, the material is funny. Very funny indeed. So funny that by the time you've watched it all you will probably be in pain. You can't remain in any way dignified when watching Pryor at work, so don't even try - just laugh until you drop.
Make no mistake, Pryor is at the very top of the Premier League of comedians and, at a time something as banal and mediocre as Peter Kaye is considered cutting edge stand-up, we need this stuff more than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Master at his best, 20 Aug 2006
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
While the past few decades have seen the emergence of many comedians who spit out swears and graphic subject matter with reckless abandon, precious few have taken offensive subject matter and turned it into something intelligent and entertaining at the same time. Denis Leary, Bill Hicks, and Dave Chappelle come to mind when I think of such a select group, but Richard Pryor may well have towered over them all. And 1979's Richard Pryor: Live in Concert may have been his definitive document.

This 90-minute standup DVD sees Pryor giving a manic, imaginative, occasionally profane performance that had the audience in the palm of his hand from beginning to end. Pryor was a master impersonator with a vast pantheon of characters and voices. Pryor didn't just talk about his subjects, he became them. He acted out every person (lady in the wood taking a pee - ha,ha), every story, and every idea to the fullest extent possible, constantly blurring the line between real and make-believe. Jokes about animals quickly gave way to spot-on imitations, whether of the inner thoughts of Dobermans/ Great Danes or of his pet monkey's illicit sexual activities (NEEP, NEEP- ha,ha..).

There are also plenty of brutally honest stories about Pryor's life with his father, ranging from his father's death in mid-coitus ("he came and went at the same time"), to the one time Pryor stood up to his old man ("It wasn't really a fight, but I did the best I could"), and their time hunting together ("I hated being the dog"). Pryor's honesty and insightfulness come out in plenty of other places too, from his troubles with the law "Cops dont shoot cars; They shoot Nig-cars" to his heart attack. All throughout, though, no matter what the subject, Pryor piles on joke after insight after impression with pitch-perfect timing and plenty of scatological language. For those of any age, race, or political leaning, this is a must-see.

Richard Pryor and Bill Hicks are the greatest, no doubt about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic DVD, 24 Oct 2006
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
This is one fantastic dvd Richard Pryor is a legend, this is the most funny stand up concert i have ever seen, well worth getting and its cheap aswell , worth every penny, if you want a good laugh then get this and hear things about he pet monkey and his gran. cool dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard pryor a comedic phenomenon......, 22 Dec 2006
By 
H. Ahmet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
Richard pryor's performance is astonishing he has to be the greatest comedian in our era and definately needs to be acknowledged, if you are a stand up fan and want to see a true comedic genius at work and laugh till you cant laugh no more, buy this dvd or you'll die without ever seeing the greatest and funniest comedian ever to grace us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you will laugh, 7 Dec 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
richard pryor was a comic that brought the idea of good honest family fun stand up to its knees,slaughtered the idea and brought obscene and hilarious comedy to the people,innovative,his influence is everywhere you look in the world of stand up,without this there would be no eddie murphy raw,no chris rock,no martin lawrence and so on,perhaps comics have released better shows than this,certainly for my money raw and deliarious are better but then they arent far removed from this.

The jokes are racey,controversial and ahead of their time with few subjects left unturned,now that the man has passed away,interest levels in him may pick up the way they did when bill hicks,who is slightly overrated in my opinion did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Comedic Genius at Work!!, 11 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
Finally available in the UK, this fantastic DVD contains the footage from one of Richard Pryors first taped performances at Long Beach California in the 1970's. Richard Pryor was at the top of his game when he gave this performance - he's a natural and his conversational style influenced a generation of comedians.
This guy is a smart, rude and incredibly funny. The whole show is a masterclass in comedy and has to be seen to be believed.
Special features include unseen early concert footage, exclusive footage of the NBC TV Shows and a Pryor biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the funniest stand up of all time, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] (DVD)
It's as simple as this: this show is a must for anyone who likes to laugh.

Richard Pryor was one of the funniest stand ups to have ever lived; his jokes were cutting and hilarious, his storytelling was unique and insightful, and his character work is as yet unparalleled in the world of stand up. Any Chris Rock fans out there (and I love him), this is where his act originated.

Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD]
Richard Pryor - Live in concert [DVD] by Jeff Margolis (DVD - 2004)
£3.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews