Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool but Still Good
This movie is a classic game to movie conversion - back at a time when they used to be almost guaranteed flops.

However, if you were a fan of the game, in any format, then this will hit the button. If you missed out, prepare to take a step back in time to a campy, costumed world of Streetfighter.

The characters are pretty honest to the game mythos, a...
Published 24 months ago by Sean T. Page

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Street Fighter - Van Damme takes the Bison by the horns
Dating from 1994, this is a second tier actioner starring the muscles from Brussels, Jean Claude Van Damme. Based on the popular video game, it follows Van Damme as he heads up a multinational force trying to bring down international terrorist General Bison, played with a manic gless by Raul Julia. The film suffers from too many characters and too little screen time for...
Published 17 months ago by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool but Still Good, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This movie is a classic game to movie conversion - back at a time when they used to be almost guaranteed flops.

However, if you were a fan of the game, in any format, then this will hit the button. If you missed out, prepare to take a step back in time to a campy, costumed world of Streetfighter.

The characters are pretty honest to the game mythos, a few outfit changes, mainly to Cammy, played by Kylie. The actress Ming Na-Wen as Chun-Li is a stand out. She is actually a superb actress, not stretched in this role of course but she certainly does the job.

The story is largely irrelevant. We have a cruel mastermind, a wronged Chinese girl, a do-gooding UN and a couple of cool fighters - stick this is the blender with some excellent locations and set and you get the idea...

The rest of the gang are there in some funky and colourful costumes. What I liked about this movie is that the violence and fighting is clearly comic book stuff. The sets are bright and the whole thing is a camp fantasy.

Sit back and enjoy it. Don't judge it too harshly and don't over-think what plot there is. Enjoy the villains and the heroes in this quirky piece of kitsch which I think has developed some form of cult following - or maybe that's just me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Street Fighter - Van Damme takes the Bison by the horns, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Dating from 1994, this is a second tier actioner starring the muscles from Brussels, Jean Claude Van Damme. Based on the popular video game, it follows Van Damme as he heads up a multinational force trying to bring down international terrorist General Bison, played with a manic gless by Raul Julia. The film suffers from too many characters and too little screen time for Van Damme, and when he is on screen his fights aren't particularly interesting. It's a bit confused as it tries to get screen time for all the characters, and you feel a bit shortchanged as Van Damme gets star billing but doesn't really get into action until the final reel. Raul Julia however is excellent, as the evil General Bison, in a performance worthy of a much better film.

There are some nice stylistic touches with various poses to resemble the video game, and some fights being seen on screens as they would in game play, and there is a great performance from Julia that largely carries the film. It passes an hour and a half, but it's not great. 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is such a classic film. It is funny and fairly light hearted and takes your memory for a walk down memory lane. Don't expect the latest special effects or cgi's as some people do even though it is an old film but this makes it an excellent film, no flashy displays and showing off of technology.
It is just pure, simple and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Rodrigo (Goi‚nia, BRASIL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good bluray transfer for the fans of this classic brought to life from the video games. Gotta love it! hehe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just don't take it too seriously, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Streetfighter 2 - the arcade so popular, it reinvented one-on-one beat-`em-ups. It was only natural that Hollywood was going to try and cash in on it. However, as Mario Bros found out, making a movie out of a (pretty plotless) video game is no easy task.

First of all, let me say that Streetfighter the Movie is rubbish. Secondly, let me say that I loved it.

There was no story to the arcade, so the film's writers were always going to have to take a hell of a load of creative licenses to try and gel it all together in some form of narrative format (after all, how much story can you get into sixteen people from around the world knocking the hell out of each other?). And, I think they did a pretty good job - at least with the story anyway. It follows - mainly - the film's biggest star Jean Claude Van Damme, As Colonel Guile, who leads an A.N. (that's `Allied Nations' - think United Nations, but with a different name) task force of soldiers against the warlord dictator of (made-up country) Shadaloo, namely M. Bison. The `Mussels From Brussels' is joined (and hindered) by almost all the other main Streetfighters (not that any fighting is ever done in any street, but never mind...).

Unfortunately, what the film does well in coming up with a coherent and (nearly) believable story, it lacks in what fans want to see. Sadly, none of the actors are particularly good. There are too many characters and none of them are given enough screen time to particularly develop their characters. Plus many of them don't really look much like their on-screen counterparts. Not only that, but their computer-generated incarnations are also better at delivering their lines. The actors' dialogue is pretty clunky and cringeworthy. However, all this could be forgiven if the fight scenes were better. Okay, so it was released a few years before The Matrix redefined martial arts battles, but the fights are more similar to old James Bond fights where people just roll around on the floor a bit. The `special moves' taken from the arcade are pretty hard to spot and, despite having a pretty big budget (for 1994), it makes you wonder where it was spent.

So Streetfighter is a pretty bad film. And I still love it. Maybe because as a teen I played the arcade, or maybe because Kylie looks pretty hot as Cammy. It's camp, it's stupid, it's mainly for die hard fans of the arcade. If it ever finds a new audience, it will probably be with twelve-year-old boys as they would find it pretty much action-packed and exciting.

The Matrix it is not. Stupid fun it just might get away with, even if Mortal Kombat is actually a better film.

Don't be too harsh on it - at least Raul Julia gives one hell of a cape-swishing performance in his last ever on-screen role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable film that deserves more credit than given, 14 July 2010
A disclaimer: I'm too young to have fully appreciated the Street Fighter series (I'm from the tekken generation which starts from the mid-1990s). So I am not as invested in the mythos and characters from the original game series, and I approached this film as a neutral observer. Indeed, I was 4 when this film first came out, so I virtually knew nothing about it.

As a standalone film, this film is great. It is obviously not suppose to be taken seriously and it's definitely watchable. Bison played by Raul Julia is really superb and the character has definitely gone down in my book as one of my favourite movie villains. I'm quite partial to one-liners, and this film is chocked full of them. The fight scenes are pretty good too, and the blantantly obvious repetition of kick punches and other moves is lifted straight from the games, leaving no doubt of its original source material. At the end of the day, I don't know how a film based on a game that revolves around martial arts fighting could have been done any better.

As for the bluray - the picture quality is good and sharp. I can't compare it to the DVD version as I never watched it, but if the untouched deleted scenes are anything to go by, it is a vast improvement. With regards to the extras, there's two deleted scenes, one five minutes making of featurette and some trailers of the film, the street fighter 4 game and of the recent 2005 street fighter film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mess of a film, 24 Mar 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Filmed in the early nineties this was one of the first computer game to movie adaptations that I ever watched and it still ranks as one of the worst that I have seen. What little plot that the film has revolves around M. Bison, a South-East Asian dictator capturing some hostages and the Allied Nations mission to attempt to retrieve them. Throw in some sub-plots about revenge and con-artists, some lacklustre special effects, some awful casting and badly choreographed fights and what you get is a movie that fails to deliver for both fans of the game and general action movie fans.

There are very few redeeming features to this film but I would say that Raul Julia is one of them, giving a brilliant pantomime performance of the villainous General M. Bison but even his performance cannot rescue this film from a dreadful script a god-awful plot. Many of the characters from the game seem rather shoehorned in and have some rather odd characterization as well as some rather dreary performances by the actors playing them. This film isn't even in the so bad its good stable of film making, it is simply bad and serves as a poor memorial to the great Raul Julia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your all looking at it in the wrong way...., 14 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This film has a flying nazi in a bright red uniform who has a penchant for big capes, monologueing and losing his temper as the main villain, do you really think this is goanna be oscar fodder? In my opinion it is only one-step more serious than hotshots and anyone taking it more seriously than that is grasping the wrong end of the stick. The best thing about it is that its so utterly stupid and hammy, it deserves to be put up there next to Army of Darkness and Haemoglobin to be watched drunk with your friends so you've got something to laugh at then quote incessantly. It's the cinema equivalent of a greasy fry up really bad but utterly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..RETRO ACTION CLASSIC..", 2 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This movie after all these years is now a gem I would say, it has its flaws of course and things that are not quite true to the game but who cares anymore! For the time this movie was made it was big budget and has some quality action scenes and fighting, the cast is cool Van Damme is great and Kylie Minogue is hot as Cammy even if shes not British. There is not much in the way of effects but still overall its a cool little film that deserves to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best film ever made!!!, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
^YES im serious. had absloutly nothing to do with the franchise at all, poor cast (apart from Raul for bison, my opinion) i laugh through it every time. isn't it fun to try and watch Van Damme stuggle with the english language let alone an ameri'cant accent?

yes its bad, but its charmingly bad. love the film as a peice of art. full of laughs (not intended ones tho) :L lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

Street Fighter [DVD] [1995]
Street Fighter [DVD] [1995] by Steven E. de Souza (DVD - 2004)
£3.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews