Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musically the best, spoiled only in the detail
Musically this compilation, which at last puts together all the Beach Boys hits and best known songs from both their surfing days with Capitol and their (slightly) more serious stuff when they left to form their own label Brother, deserves five stars. Even the bad songs were good, and they still sound good today, 30-40 years on.
However, in other areas it's not...
Published on 24 Jun 2005 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great track selection-- but what about the sound??
I eagerly purchased this CD because AT LAST it looked to supercede all others. It contained the late 60's- early 70's singles (Long Promised Road, Student Demonstration Time etc.) which had been omitted from other compilations.
What I wasn't prepared for and no other reviewers seem so far to have mentioned, was the SOUND! I dug out a previous "best of" and played "Do...
Published on 7 Mar 2008 by PHIL ALLITT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great track selection-- but what about the sound??, 7 Mar 2008
By 
PHIL ALLITT (tywyn, gwynedd United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
I eagerly purchased this CD because AT LAST it looked to supercede all others. It contained the late 60's- early 70's singles (Long Promised Road, Student Demonstration Time etc.) which had been omitted from other compilations.
What I wasn't prepared for and no other reviewers seem so far to have mentioned, was the SOUND! I dug out a previous "best of" and played "Do it Again", then the ORIGINAL vinyl 45 of the same, then (one more time again!) played THIS recording and the piercing, ear splittingly THIN sound was unlistenable beyond a moderately low volume. WHAT a dsappointment!
So yes, at last- all the good stuff on one reasonably priced 3-cd set,but seemingly at the expense of the overall sound. I would be interested to know what others who have several different copies of particular tracks think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musically the best, spoiled only in the detail, 24 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Musically this compilation, which at last puts together all the Beach Boys hits and best known songs from both their surfing days with Capitol and their (slightly) more serious stuff when they left to form their own label Brother, deserves five stars. Even the bad songs were good, and they still sound good today, 30-40 years on.
However, in other areas it's not perfect. Although the post-1969 tracks are scheduled chronologically, with one exception, the Capitol ones are all over the place - I wouldn't mind if there was any logic or theme to it, but there isn't, it's just perverse, and irksome. I also wouldn't mind (as much) if the original recording, release or copyright dates were shown in the booklet tracklisting, but instead only the date of the digital remastering is given, which is useless.
Nearly all the tracks have been remastered. I was surprised to find that half of the Capitol recordings (including "Good Vibrations") are in mono, and, if you're listening on headphones, you'll notice quite a high level of background hiss on a couple of (the lesser) tracks on CD1.
The essay in the booklet is quite general and very sycophantic; I would certainly not call it extensive. My scant knowledge of the Beach Boys, beyond remembering their hits from the 60s, has not been improved.
So you see that EMI have tried their hardest to spoil an excellent collection, and it gets one star docked for their trouble. It comes in the old-style double CD jewel case, without a slipcase (which is no loss, actually). If you browse the shops or the Amazon listings, you will see there is no shortage of Beach Boys "Best ofs"; this one is definitely the best and well worth the extra few bob, despite my niggles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive triple CD, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
There have been many Beach Boys compilations - single CD's, double CD's and boxed sets. I cannot recall a Beach Boys triple CD compilation previously so this could be the first. Such a compilation may be too much for some casual fans but it does mean that there is room for every hit, however minor, together with a few choice album tracks. I notice that no tracks are included from their album of duets with country stars (Stars and stripes) although this does not surprise me - still, it would have nice to see one track here. Their UK hit duets with the Fat Boys (Wipe out) and Status Quo (Fun fun fun) are here. Most of the tracks are from their peak years in the sixties but all the essential later tracks are here.
So many of their songs are well known, and not just to those who were raised on this music, but to people of all ages. Part of the reason may be that surf music is inextricably linked with the sixties - you won't find any modern equivalent. Here you get the classic songs they wrote themselves - California girls, Fun fun fun, Good vibrations, Little deuce coupe, God only knows, Darlin', I get around and Wouldn't it be nice to name just a few - together with songs that they covered in their own unique way - Do you wanna dance, Then I kissed her, Sloop John B and Cotton fields. Though they weren't UK hits, it's great to see Beach Boys classics such as Don't worry baby, In my room, Little Honda, Little deuce coup, Wendy, All summer long, and Warmth of the sun all included. The classic Pet souds album is also well-represented.
I don't mind whether compilations are presented chronologically or not but it can be confusing when (as here) the order is approximately chronological. You may look at the track listing and think that something is missing when it's simply been moved to somewhere you wouldn't expect to see it.
There have been plenty of compilations of their music down the years and will be many more. This particular compilation includes every UK hit (however minor) and every important American hit (I haven't checked if all the minor American hits are here). If you have bought other Beach Boys compilations only to discover that one of your favorites is omitted, this may solve your problem while avoiding the need for a boxed set. You can replace all your previous compilations with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have one..., 27 Jun 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Beach Boys greatest hits albums will be released until the end of time- since the 1970s there have been a mass of best-ofs' and box-sets - all of which suggest that Brian Wilson is the genius frequently suggested. There aren't many other artists who have been this brilliant or consistent - though certain periods from Chic, David Bowie, Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan, Prince, XTC & Phil Spector may come to mind - Brian Wilson and The Beach Boys are the one. Amazing that with their messy lives and problems such wonder was created...
If you haven't got a Beach Boys best of, this will do as much as any previous one, and every home should have one. If you're a hardcore Beach Boys fan, you'll note that all the usual suspects are here, and a mass of skippable commercial selections that irritate you profoudly!
The first-disc is faultless and really needs no introduction - 'In My Room', 'Please Let Me Wonder', the JFK-elegy 'The Warmth of the Sun','Surfer Girl','Don't Worry Baby', 'All Summer Long', 'Surfin USA' etc - a perfect representation of their early surf-anthems. The second-disc is even more wonderful, despite a curious running-sequence ('Good Vibes' before the 'Pet Sounds' material), the presence of 'You Still Believe In Me' (a great song, but why this from 'Pet Sounds' & not 'I Just Wasn't Made For These Times' or 'Don't Talk'?) is odd and the end-section including the lacklustre 'Bluebirds Over the Mountain', 'Breakaway' & an unnecessary medley. But balance that against such joys as 'God Only Knows', 'Good Vibes','Heroes & Villains', 'Wouldn't It Be Nice', 'The Little Girl I Once Knew', 'Caroline No', 'Darlin','Wild Honey', 'You're So Good To Me' etc and it is hard to gripe!
The third-disc is where things become less interesting, taking up around '20/20' and moving toward the 'Brother' years where a lot of great Beach Boys material was produced (though Brian was less a feature, Dennis and Carl stepping forward with their own great talents and the band expanding). The third-disc opens with Brian's catchy-nostalgia 'Do It Again', though I find 'Cotton Fields' & 'I Can Hear Music' dull selections- when you could have had 'Cabinessence','Wonderful' or 'Never Learn Not To Love.' Several 1970s Beach Boys albums are mixed together randomly - though why 'Tears in the Morning' from 'Sunflower' is chosen over 'This Whole World' or 'Cool Cool Water' I don't know (though the presence of Dennis' gorgeus country-soul 'Forever' is more than welcome!). There is much greatness here- the re-recorded 'Smile'-feature 'Surf's Up' (possibly the greatest song ever & a precursor of Dennis' divine 'Cuddle Up'), the poptastic 'Sail on Sailor', the charming 'Disney Girls', Brian's overlooked 'Marcella' & his bleak, troubled 'Til I Die' ("I'm a cork on the ocean...pretty soon I'll be blown away..."). But why rubbish like 'Long Promised Road' (eco-babble that Dennis did much better with Carl on 1977's 'River Song')& the excerable 'Student Demonstration Time' - a song which Brian Wilson admits he dislikes on the sleeevenotes of the 2000-reissue of 'Surf's Up' (coupled with 'Sunflower')? The remainder of the third-disc is largely awful, though The Byrds' Roger McGuinn guests on a fine-cover of 'California Dreamin' it's more bad than good- the discoesque 'Here Comes the Night', terrible collaborations with the mediocre likes of The Fat Boys & Status Quo & that boring song from 'Cocktail' that sounds like lounge-muzak. It's a pity that such rubbish was picked, when there are plenty of other great tracks that could have been included - 'Cabinessence', 'Little Bird', 'Cuddle Up', 'My Diane', 'You Are So Beautiful', 'You Need a Mess of Help to Stand Alone', 'Feel Flows', 'This Whole World', 'Wind Chimes', 'Cool Cool Water', 'Busy Doin' Nothin', 'Celebrate the News', 'Make It Good' etc - or maybe even something from Dennis' deleted solo-classic 'Pacific Ocean Blue'? - which would be more welcome than some of the horrors here...
'The Platinum Collection' is great value and contains all of the major greatest hits, but it doesn't represent the more problematic years very well at all - which is why Brian Wilson's own selection in 2002 was more interesting. I'm sure that even those who aren't Wilson-afficionados will want to skip some of the dross here; despite that, it's still five-stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the fantastic hits on 3 cd's., 31 July 2011
By 
Mrs. A. Russell "Mrs. A. Russell" (Wiltshire, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
What a fantastic cd set this is. If you love the Beach Boys and who does'nt. then this is for you. All their brilliant hits on 3 cd's. What more could you ask for. Its takes you straight back to the 60s when life seemed so free & easy. All those memories come flooding back as soon as you play them. Also, what great value dont forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete set, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Massive collection of Beach Boys hits including Wild Honey and Heroes and Villains, two lesser known hits that are fine examples of their harmonies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Great. I bought it as a present. If you like the Beach Boys then this is the one to get. Not much of the ones you haven't heard of thank goodness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds of Yesteryear, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. J. Hobbins (Wolverhampton, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Evoked memories of happy teenage years, happy holidays and going dancing and young love - such a brilliant group such a shame they are suffereing from disharmony now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost The 'best of', 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Having been a Beach Boys fan for longer than I can remember, I wasn't in any need of a collection of any sort - I bought this for a friend who had recently become interested in the Beach Boys, and who asked me to get him an ideal 'starter pack', so to speak.

So I looked through the CD's available, looked at the track listing, and decided that 'The Beach Boys - Platinum Collection' was the way to go.

In general, I'd say that this box set is a good overview of The Beach Boys through the years: It's got all their big hits, and shows off the wealth of talent that has been a big part of the American music culture since the early 60's.

However ....

There are some glaring omissions such as: 'Somewhere in Japan', 'Good Timin'', 'Full sail', and 'Getcha Back', which are much better than the poorer songs on the collection such as: 'Marcella', 'Student Demonstration Time' and The Boys version of 'Rock n' Roll music'.

The first two disks seem to be top-notch though, and on the whole, I'd say the collection is good value for money, and a good place for a new Beach Boys fan to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maravilhoso, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition (Audio CD)
Excelente qualidade de som, encarte, e apresentação. CD memoravel de uma Banda excepcional. O recomendo a todos que curtem um SURF MUSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition
The Platinum Collection: Sounds Of Summer Edition by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews