Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow your instinct and buy this game
Far Cry Instincts is a hugely impressive game ported from the PC original. It's not a direct port however. Despite being very expansive in scale, the levels are more linear than before. Carver (your character) now also develops feral abilities (exclusive to XBox) including increased strength, speed and jumping abilities. You can also follow the scents of your...
Published on 23 Nov 2005 by The Fault

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry: Decent
I loved the PC version of this game and the later Far Cry 3 on PS3, which made me look seriously into FC:I. Since playing it through, I felt I would share my impressions on what turns out to be a mixed bag of some excellent aspects, and others which are extremely poor.

There isn't a great amount of depth to it to be honest, but then again, this is the world of...
Published 4 months ago by M Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow your instinct and buy this game, 23 Nov 2005
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
Far Cry Instincts is a hugely impressive game ported from the PC original. It's not a direct port however. Despite being very expansive in scale, the levels are more linear than before. Carver (your character) now also develops feral abilities (exclusive to XBox) including increased strength, speed and jumping abilities. You can also follow the scents of your enemies and hunt them down!
The graphics are wonderful in Far Cry Instincts. They are colourful, detailed and the water and lighting effects are incredible (especially the water - it looks so realistic). Trees even move in the window and effect lighting and shodows in real-time. The only slight downer is pop-up on occasion.
Enemy AI is a bit hit and miss. 50% of the time the enemies use intelligent tactics and prove to be challenging adversaries. The other 50% they are incredibly stupid (and blind) - they sometime stand around in battle just waiting to be shot and on several occasions I have walked right in front of them and they haven't twigged.
There is also the opportunity to use various vehicles including boats, jeeps, quad bikes, hangliders and hover crafts. They are slighlty awkward to control - the left analogue stick controls the vehicle whilst the right analogue stick controls which direction you face (to shoot the bad guys).
Overall, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. It's challenging but is always fair - it is always possible to progress but there is a sense of achievement in doing so. It looks gorgeous and plays extremely well. This is one of the best games I have played in a quite a while and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAR CRY ....from a bad game, 28 Sep 2005
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
firstly the press have been giving Far Cry Rave reviews 9+/10 have been given across all sots of magazines/ internet sites if you want to see videos or screen shots for this game vist IGN.com. ok for thoose of you who dont know what Far Cry is Far Cry is one of the best FPS games on the PC along side Half life 2 and DOOM 3. This version of Far Cry (instincts) is the now xbox exclusive console version of the game with a slightly altered story line and gamplay elements. far cry offers a huge range of vechiles to drive and wepons to shoot. the game takes place on a remote tropical island and each level takes place like a First person GTA game with literaly hundreds of routes you can take through diffrent levels. you start of stranded and hunted having to use skirmish tactics to take down your enemys.but later in the game you get injected with a serum giving you super human abilitys allowing you to weild huge guns , run faster and track enemys using thier scent and advanced sight system. i cannot stress how great far cry is and how it should definatly be one of your last xbox purchases (along side Half Life 2 and Ninja Gaiden Black!)before you (envitably) upgrade to a 360. great game smooth controls and amazing graphics with some cool touchs. definatly not your average shooter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MuSt HaVe fOr AnY XBox OwneR....., 26 Oct 2005
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
The moment I started playing this game I was stunned with the visuals. The island featured in this game is incredible! The water effects are stunning. When you swim you can look up through the water and it looks very realistic. You'll find various underwater plant life in different parts of the island.
The game play is just as good as the design. Although there arn't many weapons you can tell alot of time and effort have been put into the ones you will find. The control layout is new and works very well. For instance press right on the d-pad and you'll draw your pistol...press again and you'll dual wield (pistol in each hand) same for automatic weapons.
Theres two ways of playing this game 1.Stealthy 2.Kill everything in sight.
When playing stealthily you can use the foliage to hide, ambush, set traps or stalk your enemy. When playing all guns blazing you'll find the enviroments provide plenty of cover and is very interactive.
Later on in the game you'll begin to get your feral insticts. basically these are the natural skills humans supposedly lost thousands of years ago. You'll begin to be able to pick up on the scent of creatures and blood. You'll be faster, stronger and see better. You'll also have a very usefull attack...
All in all personally I would say this game is definatly worth buying.
Best bits: Gameplay, Visuals, Cut Scenes, Detail.
Worst Bits: Maps are more linear than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant FPS, 10 Oct 2005
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
I have recently played Half Life 2 on my PC. I was really impressed and didn't think there would ever be another FPS to even come close, but Far Cry Instincts has changed my mind. It isn't quite as good as Half Life 2 but it is pretty close.
The first thing to notice is that most of the graphics are top notch especially the outdoor scenery. The vehicles and enemies all look great as well.
And speaking of vehicles, there are so many of them. On some levels they are littered all over the place, ranging from hang gliders to gunboats and armoured vehicles. They are not all easy to drive at first but after a while you get used to them. The hang glider was the one I had most trouble with and found it quite hard to pick off enemies whilst flying. On the other hand if everything was easy in a game it would be boring.
Another good thing is that you can't just dash in and blast everything, sometimes you have to be stealthy and pick the enemies off one by one. On other occasions there were so many after you that I found it impossible to kill them all and just legged it to the next part of the game trying to avoid them.
Another thing I liked was that you are restricted to just 3 weapons at a time, 1 light ie.. handgun, 1 heavier ie... machine gun and 1 more specialised ie... sniper rifle. You also are allowed grenades.
I could go on for ages but lets just say that this is the best FPS that I have played on the XBOX so far. We will have to see what the soon to be released XBOX version of Half Life 2 is like, personally I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter Paradice, 2 Sep 2005
By 
W. King "will890" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
I've played the demo levels to this game and i've been blown away by everything it has to offer. It's not a port from the PC, it's an entiely new game, and a better one I think.
In my opinion, probably the most important thing about any type of game is the enviroment. Where you are and what it feels like effects the hole experience of the game, and the tropical island paradice you are traped on is certainly one of the most beautiful and detailed enviroments I have yet seen. The sun streaming through the thick trees, butterflys and birds fly through the colouful plants and foilage littering the island. To put it simply, it's gob smacking.
And the conrols and game mechanics are equaly as fine. Moving around, aiming, shooting, setting traps, driving cars, boats etc, making stealth kills, the lot, it all feels natual, polished and solid.
As i've only played a couple of demo levels I havn't yet experienced the best bits of the game, but from videos, the 'animal' powers you later obtain all seem rather solid and fun to use, something that PC gamers wont get to see.
Overall, this can't really fail. If you like FPS's, then buy it, if you like sunshine, palmtrees and beautiful scenery, buy it, if you like mutating into a beast and going on a murderous rampage, then just buy it! Its brill, seriously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAR CRY INSTINCTS REVIEW., 3 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is a beautiful game. Just look at the water. It looks REAL !!! I have great respect for the people who made this hugely entertaining game. The story is not very original, but the sense of danger from the enemies & the sheer size of the island are what makes this game so very playable. For me, the 2nd best game of 2005 ( after GTA San Andreas naturally !!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the jungle, 1 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
Just bought this game yesterday and i have got to say the sheer scope of it is amazing the tropical paradise is really conveyed brillinatly i have played the P.C version and the XBox version more than equals it. For starters the little annoying glitch's have been fixed and i love the new animal like ablitys you get at first i thouhgt it would ruin it but no it only makes it better with you feeling like the hunter and not the hunted.

You can really approach any situation with any tactics you want for instance see a group of men in a house you can either throw a greanade through the window blowing them up but the explosion could alert nerby guards or sneak up to the house go under it lay on your back aim through the floor boards with your twin machine guns and fire confusing and killing the enemy, it is all up to you, and yes you do have to use your insticts to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall good game -- plus a mapmaker!, 9 April 2006
By 
Mr. J. Higgins "jhiggins132" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
When I bought this game, I thought "This is gonna be a good FPS, but I'll trade it back after I finish it."
Then I booted it up. Sadly, you HAVE to watch the opening movie EVERY TIME, but after that it is good and easy to use. I saw the 'Map editor' and said to myself "Fantastic, a mapmaker -- I won't be trading this in too soon" and got making my first map - It was very easy to use. But then I realised that the mapmaker wasn't what I bought it for.
The story is simple; You, Jack Carver, are touring on a small island with someone taking pictures of the surroundings, but you (not Jack Carver, you yourself) don't know why. She goes off on a speeder, leaving you on your own in your boat. Then stuff starts to happen. Two helicopters bombard your boat, for no apparent reason, and you escape into the islands foliage, and have learn to survive, or be killed by your pursuers.
Story - 8/10 (It doesn't go into depth enough, but is still compelling.)
Graphics - 10/10 (The island's leaves brush against you, and the water glimmers in your eyes. And the blood splatters as your spiked tree-trunk trap smashes them squarely in the stomach.)
Gameplay - 9/10 (Extremely fun, but the vehicles driving system drags it downn one point. You can run-and-gun, but you'll probably end up dead, so take some time to plan out a strategy.)
Guns - 9/10 (Nice sounds, but only holding one pistol and one main gun isn't enough. There is a lot of variety in the guns though.)
Extra touches - 10/10 (Your instincts that you learn are deadly and devastating, the sounds of the jungle are off-putting and eerie, and traps are a very nice addition.)
Overall: FC Instincts is a good game. If you like FPS' buy it for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry Review, 10 Dec 2005
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
what can i say, this game is excellent, great graphics and great gameplay... but one minute your in a jungle fighting Humans and an hour later your in a swamp killin exploding zombies and monsters that look like they have come out of resident evil!?!?! this for me just spoils the game as the storyline gets worse and worse.
but i would still recomend buying this game cos its quite fun to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone seen my boat??, 5 Oct 2005
By 
Nick (Edinburgh, Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) (Video Game)
This title has been burned on my brain ever since I found out it was being released for the xbox. After playing the original far cry on my dad's pc I was really impressed with the unusual playing environment and varied game play and was wondering if the xbox could actually pull it off. In a nutshell.....yes!.
The game isn't just a straight port from the original, it seems that the development team here have worked really hard to make instinct different and exclusive for the console market. The graphics may not look as lush on xbox as they do on the pc but for a console nearing the end of its lifespan (Sob!) it does a damn good job. The water looks very effective and jungle plants sway in the wind as your sneaking about. Sound wise it's very impressive what with the warble of exotic birds and the wind whistling through the trees. But before you decide to plonk yourself down in the sand and drift away I would take a closer look around you because you are being watched, oh and their not all human either.....
You are in charge of a charter boat and a rather attractive lady has employed you to take her to a paradise island where she happily snaps away at the scenery. Before you know it she has your jet ski and left a couple of hundred dollars on the table for services rendered. You decide to take a nap and wake to find two helicopters full of mercenaries peppering your precious boat with bullets. Much swearing ensues and you dive off the boat and onto the island and It's up to you to find your gal and get the hell off the island by any means. The beginning of the game sees you infiltrating villages full of bad guys and moving on to the next area. It doesn't seem to have the same open-ended feel of the pc version, it's by no means 'On rails' but the environments aren't as expansive.
If you're not content with walking everywhere to reach your destination there is a plethora of vehicles you can use on the way. These include heavy jeeps, jet ski's, boats and even a hand glider in the later levels. This adds extra variety to the already impressive game play and I especially enjoyed tearing down a trail being chased by an attack chopper only for it to put a missile into the bridge I was about to cross which in turn meant ramping the gap enveloped in flames to the other side, Fantastic stuff!!.
I'm not going to give anything away story wise but lets just say your character 'evolves' as the game progresses. Experiments are involved with your character allowing you to perform super human tasks, which you will need for later because the deeper you get into the island the darker and more mysterious things become and like I said before you won't just be encountering humans here..........
If you are looking for something slightly different in a first person shooter you can look no further than this. Oh, and if you have xbox live there are some fantastic multiplayer modes to play, including the option to customise your own maps and challenge your friends. Superb stuff........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry Instincts (Xbox)
Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) by Ubisoft (Xbox)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews