Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic shooter
The first game i ever played on PS2 was Medal of Honor Frontline. Ever since, I've been looking for a WW2 game to match it. I think I've found it with Brothers in Arms. Forget reviews whinging about tinny sound or muddy visuals. This game looks and sounds excellent. I wanna keep this short so very quickly, here are some pros and cons I've found with the title so...
Published on 23 Mar 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's a flank?
This FPS has a subtle difference to most. The overriding concept is flanking the enemy. Your troops lay down suppressing fire while you sneek around and kill them. Simple.

The flanking technique is achieved by placing your squad members in a strategic position under cover and asking them to fire at the target, usually a bunch of germans. It works well but...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different!, 22 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) (Video Game)
For atmoshere and realism, the game is second to none. But because of its heavy focus on realism and surroundings, the gameplay ends up being very one dimensional and subdued. What also detracts from the 'fun element' of the game is the emphasis on tactics together with the elaborate system of controlling your team. The multitude of icons etc on screen and above peoples heads ends up (ironically) detracting from the relaism the game seeks to achieve. A bit of a mess I'm afraid, even without mentioning the morbid, sentimental american voice over before each mission. BORING !!!! Recommended buys: call of duty & medal of honor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry David, I DISAGREE!!!, 14 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) (Video Game)
I recently read the review by David John Kitchen. Im sorry, but if you didnt read the manufacturers description, it says that photos were used by the developers from the army of the terrain in 1944. So i doubt it would actually be a caravan park. Maybe you wish it was a caravan park, i dont know. I went to Normandy in 2002 and so have many other people including veterans who participated in the landings. I'm pretty sure that the developers have got the game to with a certain historical context. It sounds like you're asking them to get it to the exact detail like it was on the day. Are you going to complain that a chimney in the game is on the wrong side of the roof whereas in real life, it was on the other side?? I certainly aint. This game is going to be a lot better than Call Of Duty (dont get me wrong im a huge fan of the game). This is more of a complaint not a review. Sorry Amazon, i just needed to get my point across. (I gave it 5 stars, as i have been on the Brothers in Arms website, seen the information on it, and it looks amazing) Without even playing it, I recommend you buy the game.It looks amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brothers In Arms, 11 Feb 2005
By 
David Kitchen (Cannock, Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) (Video Game)
HAving owned this game for a year or two now, I played it for hours when I first bought it because it gives such an emersive simulator of war, or as real as I can imagine it on a console in my bedroom. It's an inventive take on an over-used genre, making you think about what you're trying to do and the sense of realism extends to your squad, you feel almost-real emotion when they get hit in cut-scenes, the sense of being helpless and useless is unnerving; as is the sense of leadership, and responsibility for the lives of your squad. An atmospheric and creative game, showing theres more life in the WW2 first-person shooter, if you really take care, time and give it some thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BIA, 15 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is nothing like MOH front line, or come to that rising sun. I just found this game far too short, what there was of it was okay, but they should of done many more missions. The end level again there is nothing you can do to destroy the german tank, you are not armed with any grenades. so you are done for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hope it's as good as Call of Duty!, 5 Jan 2005
By 
David Jones (Hereford/England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game sounds pretty good! I believe most levels are based in war torn towns in France. I hope it has an airborne drop and has blood to add to realism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poorest ww2 game, 29 Mar 2005
By 
Drew Peacock (Iamgayville,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) (Video Game)
The game was terrible and I took it back immediatly.The graphics were a big disappointment compared to Call Of Duty.There is continuous swearing through out the game and terrible gore and violance.A big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2)
Brothers in Arms: Road To Hill 30 (PS2) by Ubisoft (PlayStation2)
5.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews