Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive!
Upon opening the box my first impression was something along the lines of, 'Is this it?!' I knew it was suppose to be small but photographs do not do it justice. The automatic DVD drive mechanism from the larger PS2 model has been replaced with a PSOne style lid which lifts up to reveal where any disc would go, meaning it is very easy to get to the laser lens. This will...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by Tony Pinder

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just hoping it will stay alive.
Bought from BonJevon

The delivery time for this console is great, Ordered and received with in 3 days.

The console has just arrived this morning,and it looks in horrible condition. Scratches all over the surface of tthe Playstation case. I received a really horrible looking and feeling game pad, (a see-through mad cats pad). I was expecting a basic...
Published 4 months ago by Jason Welsh


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world's most successful console., 6 Jan 2008
By 
Dante the Igniscient "ashend10" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
Sony have sold over 120,000,000 PS2 consoles and it continues to out-sell the PS3 in all territories across the world. The reason for this is very simple. It has a huge library of games covering all genres. Many of its games offer unique gameplay experiences such as the stealth play in the Metal Gear Solid series. The fact that the console is now so cheap to buy also helps sales.

The PS2 offers something for everyone. Football fans have the Fifa and Pro Evolution Soccer series. Beat 'em up fans have the Tekken and Soul Calibur series. Horror fans have the Silent Hill collection and Resident Evil 4. Driving fans have Gran Turismo 3&4 and the Burnout series. RPG fans have Final Fantasy and Kingdom Hearts. Party fans have Guitar Hero and Singstar. FPS fans have Killzone and the Timesplitters series. Adventure fans have Okami or Ico. Action adventure fans have the GTA series. Fantasy action fans have Devil May Cry 1-3, Onimusha 1-3 and God Of War 1&2. All of these titles can now be obtained at budget prices.

The console itself is small enough to fit in small places if space is limited and is light enough to carry around unlike the heavy slab that is the PS3. Oh yes, it will play CD's and DVD's as well. I do own a PS3 but spend loads more time on my PS2. I am currently putting myself through the hell of Titan Mode in God Of War 2, expanding my criminal empire in Scarface and watching monsters the size of mountains fall in Shadow Of The Colossus. Fact is, these are the kind of gaming experiences few consoles can offer. If you operate on a budget or are looking for a first console with hundreds of titles to choose from then the PS2 is probably essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shwkdy Wkd and Shuper Shmall, 10 Nov 2004
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
Same as old PS2 really but:
It has a flip up disc holder which looks better and is easier to repair.
It is abviously a lot smaller, it's just larger than a case of one of the games/ a DVD.
It has a new pad! The pad does not have a shiny plastic finish it has a glittery yet matt finish which feels soooo much nicer!
It contains a network adapter as standard which is an AWESOME feature.

The only drawback I can think of is the external power pack but, to be truly honest, this is so small it is almost unnoticable!
Sony have, yet again, excelled themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Mar 2005
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
Best console out there for many reasons.
1. The largest amount of popular games are for the PS2, which you just cant get on the game cube or Xbox
2. Small design is easy to store
3. Plays DVDs brilliantly
4. The graphics of games continue to get better all the time, and I would go as far as saying it is giving PCs a run for their money.
5. Great online multiplayer fun with friends! Very easy to use.
The only issue I have heard about the new mini PS2 is that there have been some overheating issues due to the small design, however this is rare. Apart form size it is not very different from the older, larger model of the PS2.
With the PS3 due out late in 2006 an investment into the PS2 at this time will still have plenty of time to pay off before it is outdate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just hoping it will stay alive., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
Bought from BonJevon

The delivery time for this console is great, Ordered and received with in 3 days.

The console has just arrived this morning,and it looks in horrible condition. Scratches all over the surface of tthe Playstation case. I received a really horrible looking and feeling game pad, (a see-through mad cats pad). I was expecting a basic Playstation pad,

The two games arrived with gunk all over the cases stickers half peeled off etc, for reference, I received "Fame Academy" and "This is football 2003". The actual cd's look like they're in good condition, But this might just be where someone has used a scratch removal kit.

Memory card still has the previous owners saved games on them. This isn't much of a big thing, But its still sitting here removing all the saves. Would have been nice if they could have done it for me.

If you're looking for overall quality, This is not the product, It would be worth purchasing the full £130 for the quality.

I'm also wondering if the 12 month warrantee Is actually here, because I didn't receive any documentation for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the larger one, 21 Oct 2005
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
True, it's quieter, perhaps the single most alluring reason to buy one. If, like me you use it as a DVD player then it's well worth it as on the bigger one you can always heare the fan and it spoils a film. I had a larger one for two years prior to getting this smaller version.
It's flimsy though. The lid that flips up to load disks would be simple to break if abused. Not to be recommended for young kids.
The worst think about it is that it sticks more than the larger version. I guess the heads on the reader aren't as good. Some games that I have had for some time don't play on it, or only play certain levels. It also has trouble rendering a lot at once, unlike the larger one. This problem is noticeable, but doesn't ruin the game and only occurs on early PS2 games. Medal of Honour Frontline is a good example of this.
To conclude, I think it's better than the old one on balance, but still not what I would have expected from Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming from someone with a 360, 11 Jan 2007
By 
D. Coxall "Game Makker" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
Well first off I must say I own a 360 and many of the top games for it. I didn't ask for a PS2 but it was worth it. The graphics aren't amazing but many iof the games on the PS2 are ones that are lacking on any other console. Series like Final Fantasy only truely grace the PS2 making it a joy to play some of the legendary games that shaped modern gaming.

It is extremely lightweight and doesn't make a 'peep' which is a refreshing change to consoles like the 360.

The best reason to buy this is easily the price. If you don't own a PS2 it is worth having. The games are cheap, the console is cheap and ultimately, the fun is cheap. Why must we continue to pay £45 when a PS2 has longer, high-quality games at a fraction of the price.

From a huge xbox fan. This is a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a winner, 11 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
The new version of the PS2 is fabulous. Every review waxes lyrical about how small it is - but it really is. It isn't much bigger than a standard DVD case and pretty light too - which means it's feasible to stick it in your overnight bag if you're away on business or over at a mate's for a gaming evening (of course you'll still have to sort out a TV...).
I reckon most of this size reduction has come from removing the expansion bay and making the power supply external, like a laptop power supply (thus removing a fan too) - but it may be that some of the components have also been made smaller.
It includes a network adapter and an infrared receiver - both additional items you'd have had to pay extra for with the previous version.
But, for me, the major advantage is that the drive bay works the same way as in the old PlayStation (or most CD walkmen) - i.e. a lid flips up and you clip the disc directly into the drive. This should prevent the irritating habit of the first PS2 of refusing to read DVD games and films despite your best efforts to keep the lens clean (the "disc read error" problem) because you can see (and therefore wipe clean) the lens.
Disadvantages: some of the accessories you purchased for the original PS2 might not work with the new one - for example, some older multitaps. You'll need a new vertical stand (or a couple of heavy books) if you plan to store it upright since the old one is obviously designed for a much larger one.
Overall though it's a winner. I have had only limited experience of the XBox so I can't say which confidence is better - but based on that experience (comparing TimeSplitters to Halo) I would think the PS2 edges it. You certainly have a much larger back catalogue with the PS2 as all PlayStation games will run on the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing console! Totally my favourite., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
I loved this console ever since I was young. It was fun, entertaining and quite strong.

It arrived and I was absolutely pleased with it. It brought back years of memories I had with the previous console.

The controller was pretty cool as well (Only con is that you have to push the buttons harder than you should on the PS3 controller, for them to respond)

It was small, which saved a heck lot of space, especially when laying down, horizontally.
It was my favourite console. It's still the best-selling console in the world.

If only some people nowadays would actually look back at their past and remember the good moments they had with this console. I mean, it's an amazing console and I love it!

(This review is based on the PS2 PAL model SCPH-90004)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


218 of 258 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Console guys, 7 Nov 2004
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
Playing the ps2 feels a bit like a step back in time as the visuals and the audio are not up to the standards of the other consoles. I bought it to play San Andreas without having to wait years for the Xbox port - its loads of fun but the console can't keep up with the scenery streaming from the DVD.
This new, smaller version doesn't seem to have any major hardware improvements, apart from the built in networking capability, it's pretty much business as usual. But it's so small and cute! Seriously, it really is small! I took it out of the box and thought 'whoa'; pictures really don't do it justice!
So anyway, if you haven't got a PS2 yet, first of all, what's wrong with you? You don't have a PS2?! But if you don't, then this is a great time to get one! On the other hand, if like me, your old PS2 is on its last legs, don't give up! Get this new version and marvel at its size, and how shiny and cute it is! :)
Great new look and is unbelievably light. All console lovers will be after this. A must buy for all of you!!!
There are still some pretty amazing games around or soon to be released. Look at GTA: San Andreas, Gran Turismo 4 or Kill Zone! All great games!
Upon opening the box my first impression was something along the lines of, 'Is this it?!' I knew it was suppose to be small but photographs do not do it justice. The automatic DVD drive mechanism from the larger PS2 model has been replaced with a PSOne style lid which lifts up to reveal where any disc would go, meaning it is very easy to get to the laser lens. This will hopefully prevent the common problem of disc read errors with the large models, as any dust built up inside can now be easily removed. Another difference from the larger model is that the power cord now has to be plugged into a supplied adaptor (much like the kind found on laptop computers) before it can be plugged into the mains. I'm assuming that it was not included in the PS2 unit itself to save space. The final difference is that this smaller model is DVD+RW/-RW compatible, meaning home burn DVDs are playable in full colour. The promise of the system being 75% quieter has also been kept as I only occasionally notice a slight buzzing sound as I'm using the system. This model also includes an ethernet netword port, two USB ports and a built in infra-red detector for use with a DVD remote control.
Overall, a great games console made even greater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slim ps2 used, 7 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2) (Console)
why not a ps3 you ask, price of ps3 console and ps3 games are still expensive so ps2 for me,plus if you have psone games you can still play them on this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PS2 Slimline Console (Black) (PS2)
£119.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews