Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good tennis game
Smash Court Tennis 2 is a very good tennis game. We all know it contains many great characters, both men and women.
Safin and the Williams Sisters are there which was pleasing to see. There movements are also good, which is crucial to the game.
Gameplay wise, I like it a lot. It's unlike many others. If you time the ball wrong you can hit it long, or wide. Which...
Published on 1 Oct 2004 by gwilimo

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Roger Federer
This is a very enjoyable and you get to play different tornaments throughout the year but there is one problem. There are only 10 male and 10 female player that you can play but the most rediculous thing is that the best tennis player in the world (Roger Federer) is not even in the game.
Published on 19 July 2005 by Dinio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good tennis game, 1 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Smash Court Tennis 2 is a very good tennis game. We all know it contains many great characters, both men and women.
Safin and the Williams Sisters are there which was pleasing to see. There movements are also good, which is crucial to the game.
Gameplay wise, I like it a lot. It's unlike many others. If you time the ball wrong you can hit it long, or wide. Which is correct just like the game itself.
Playing a full career is also made more interesting. You can choose to play just key points of a match, and this will determine the outcome. Its quicker and more exciting I thought.
Multiplayer games are classics. Especially doubles. Whether its men or women. I mean this is what the games meant for!
Excellent tennis game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, probably the best fun a game has offered me!, 3 Aug 2005
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
what can i say, to start off i watched Wimbledon this year and enjoyed watching it. I find tennis a real good sport, probably the best sport i really like. So i thought about seeing if there were any good games for the PS2 that would give me enjoyment of playing tennis whenever i wanted. I played Topspin on the Xbox, and that was brilliant, i was going after a game like that, but for the PS2 as Topspin was an Xbox game. So i browsed on Amazon for a descent tennis game and straight away came to this one. I was pleased with the amount of good reviews for the game and knew this was the one. And i picked probably the best tennis game ever...
This game has totally everything you could possibly want on a tennis game, and loads more. Firstly, people have been complaining about characters. To me, those people are just stupid and dont give credit to the massive ammount of amazing talented players there are on there anyway. Ok, Federer isnt on it, but Andy Roddick is, and hes amazing. So is Henman and Hewitt and Davenport and Serena for the women characters. There are more than enough players to be. I got gripped immediatly to the game straight away, couldnt stop playing it it was that good. I love creating your own character for the pro tour mode on the game. Lots of different clothing and acessories to choose from, and i love playing in tournaments and getting fan mail! totally awesome stuff! I find the controls are very easy to use, and good that there is a tutorial, it helped me out alot and would advise people to start with that first. I even like the way you can do an exhibition match, and choose how many sets and games you want to play, if you want music on and camera angles. It all fits in perfectly and makes a fantastic game, and well done to namco!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply smashing!, 7 May 2004
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
It's that time of year again. The time when the sun comes out and we cheer on our favourite Englishman and Brit-Canadian whilst enjoying a bowl of strawberries and cream. What better way to make that crushing Henman defeat less painful, than with Namco's latest in the Smash Court series. This years offering promises two new features. Firstly there is now the option to create a computerised version of yourself, and take yourself around the world entering whatever tournament you fancy. And yes, beating Lleyton Hewitt as yourself in the final of the Australian open is as cool as it sounds. The other (slightly less interesting) new feature is the watch mode. This is the opportunity to just take a back seat as you watch two computer controlled players slog it other the net. To be honest, you'd have to be an incredibly obsessive tennis fan to want to do this. New players this year include Lleyton Hewitt, Juan Carlos Fererro, Justine Henin-Hardenne, Serena Williams and more. Once again Smash Court 2 will blend realism with arcade thrills to create one quite outstanding tennis game. In a word: ace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!!, 9 July 2004
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Absolutely marvellous as compared to Virtual Tennis 2. Graphics is excellent except for the background but who cares about that. Gameplay is awesome, more realistic than any other Playstation tennis game. Not as difficult as I thought it would be. Rating is awesome, worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Tennis Game on Console., 18 Jun 2004
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great sports game and one which takes a unique approach to the career mode, in that instead of forcing you to play through whole matches, it pitches you into the action at key turning points in the game.
It then works out the rest of the game results for you.
This is a superb idea and one which other sports developers should consider as it allows you to play through several seasons without spending weeks in front of your PS2.
Sometimes this approach doesn't work; against much higher ranked players, for example, you usually lose the first set without having a chance to change things and then are often only given a couple of opportunities to turn things around.
It is definitely a great inovation for tennis games.
The gameplay itself is just right. Difficult to start with but then intuitive and there are no obvious sweet spots or ways to win especially against the top players. Serving is especially satisfying once mastered.
The only gripes are the annoying background music, especially the soft porn sax riff that greets you when you lose a match!
Also if you don't get to a smash in time your player seems incapable of adapting and playing another shot. Very annoying.
Overall thoroughly recommended and the career mode will last you a long time in the your quest to reach No.1 in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sport sims fan., 29 Mar 2005
By 
MACCA71 (REDDITCH, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I've played almost every sports sim going so the most important aspect of any game for me is the gameplay. If it's cricket you're after then Brian Lara is your man, PES 4 for football fans, Madden is the NFL's main man and ice hockey doesn't come any better than EA's NHL games. If you agree with me then you'll also agree with me that Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 is the best tennis sim. When you win a point you really feel as though you've earnt it. You can't just aim & press top spins from corner to corner, you need to vary your shots and get your opponent running round that court! Even then your killer shot has to be hit with skill to keep it in. Remember to switch mission mode off and tie-breaks on to get most enjoyment out of the game. As with all tennis sims, playing down the screen is quite difficult at first, making winning a game from here even more rewarding. 4 way multiplay action doesn't come much better than this. To sum up, if it's a tennis sim you're after you won't go far wrong with SCTPT2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good tennis, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
this game is good for people who play tennis reguarly. with andy roddick lyten hewitt tiger tim and juan carlos ferrero. they play like they do in real life. with the andy roddick sercve as powerful as in real life.
you can get pro tour were you start with a low rank and enter tournaments at your own will and make oyur self no.1 in the world!!!
(takes time to get used to. about half a day!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tennis Fans will LOVE this, 26 Jun 2005
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Smash court tennis is with out a doubt the best tennis game ever! Its better than virtual tennis and all the others. The pro tour is fantastic to play, moving your own charater up the rankings playing in all the majors. The graphics are great, they are all thats needed for this type of game. The realism is fantastic aswell, as the action heats up the crowd get louder and the players also get more louder and quicker.
There are few negatives about this game, i can only think of two which i would like to see have changed in the next smash court tennis. The 1st is The lack of players on this game,you have a choice of about 5 proffessional men or women, so it would be nice on the next game if we could have more players like Nadal,Sharapova even federer is not on it. The 2nd negative has to be the service when playing the computer.When watching tennis you will see that players do miss their 1st serve every now and then, i have had this game for almost a year now and still i'm yet to see someone miss their serve, thats the only thing thats unrealistic about this game, but trust me its the best one to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tennis Game, 8 July 2004
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is just brilliant. It's the most realistic tennis sim out there, but it's still accessible, fun and incredibly addictive. The gameplay is very deep due to the huge ball control at your disposal.
In Pro Tour mode you can choose BETWEEN Mission Mode (where you have to achieve certain objectives, e.g. come back from 0-40 down) *OR* Normal Mode. Some people don't realise you can turn off Mission Mode and just play the game in the normal way. In Normal Mode, you just play the tennis games as you'd expect, e.g. You serve, then the computer etc. until you win.
The gameplay is just great, you get involved in the most absorbing and realistic tennis rallies ever. It's such a pleasure to play. It does require skill though. It's not as simple or 'arcadey' as Sega's Tennis or Top Spin, but it is more rewarding and challenging. Smash Court Tennis 2 feels much more like a real game of tennis.
If you play tennis for real, enjoy the sport or just want to try something different then I would definitely recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defintely Worth Forking out for..., 9 Jun 2004
This review is from: Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game. I bought it rather dubiously because I don't usually have much luck with games but I am now totally hooked on it.
The Pro Tour mode is fantastic fun, building your player up through the rankings playing at wimbeldon and so on and receiving fan mail.
My only criticisms of the game are that there should be a LOT more actual players but don't let that put you off.
The graphics are also amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smash Court Tennis Pro Tournament 2 (PS2)
8.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews