Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kevin back on top form
Well, what a pleasant suprise. I rented this DVD purely on reading reviews. For once, the critics got it right. Infact, some have drastically undersold this gem of a movie. You may know the story; two old friends driving cattle become entagled in small town injustice and bullying.
Ok, it aint original is it? Well, watch the movie and you will feel like this is the...
Published on 4 April 2004 by Graham Clews

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars soundtrack
great film but on this DVD the soundtrack is appalling had to turn the sound up to hear it,spoilt a great film
Published 15 months ago by j wills


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
good boys film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honour on the prairies, 7 May 2014
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
'Open Range' is a slow-burn story combining a more realistic take on the stereotypical cowboy - but within the trappings of the Western formula. Without spoiling things too much, it's worth mentioning that this film is a long way in before a shot is even fired - this works, though, as it all adds to the climactic tension of the plot.

It's 1882 and four 'freegrazers' wander their livestock into an area where the local cattle boss does not tolerate transient competition. Intimidation leads to murder and culminates in a long gunfight sequence. The subplot involves a love interest between one of the cattle men (Kevin Costner) and the local doctor's sister.

This film is quite long (130 minutes) but Costner's Westerns do tend to follow a pedestrian narrative. The gunfights are rather realistic here (people don't drop dead easily and most shots actually miss). The British and Irish accents were also an authentic touch as many of the 'Wild West' settlers were first-generation immigrants.

This is mildly enjoying and a different take on the genre - as it all seems more down to earth. Ultimately, this is a tale of honour and a salute to the gritty nature of the hardy people who moved West and gradually built modern America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Declan Keeghan (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent western. No problems with the German production. Easy to switch onto the original English version. Great gunfight towards the end. As good as it gets. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sent this as a gift, they loved it!, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Susan Himmah (Port Orchard, Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I ordered this asa gift for friends in the UK, because they love westerns, and I already own a copy. I talked to them recently, and they really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Film was Great.....but...., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Terrible noise issued from the DVD player for the first 20 min. of the film. Eventually the noise faded out. Checked DVD with film that I purchased with it and I had no problem with the DVD. So, I'll think twice before buying another DVD from this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars guns and kisses, 1 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm the world's soppiest man and any romance with Annette Bening gets my vote (see The American President for example). This film has all the requisite elements of a traditional western: experienced high plains drifters with unexplained/possibly dubious biogs, bad guys dressed in black (including a crooked marshall) led by a pointlessly psychopathic Irishman, trusty faithful sidekicks, inexplicably unmarried beautiful spinster with ineffectual yet worthy brother, small isolated town full of folk who can't stand up for themselves, stand-offs in saloon bars, a local gaol, proper lengthy gunfight, revenge, slightly improbable yet inevitable romance and fantastic scenery. It's a good quality up-to-date 50s/60s western. Just over two hours of very well-crafted Hollywood cowboy hi-jinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Western !, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Just when I thought that no-one made westerns any more - along came this one. The story is simple - 4 guys running away from their past and living off the land. They are driving their small herd of cattle on 'open range' - a concept frowned upon by the local ranchers/townsfolk. Inevitably there is a corrupt sheriff,and a bad guy bullying the good guys, and it all ends in a gunfight. The actors are well cast - Robert Duval, Kevin Costner and Annette Bening anyway. The plank that is Michael Gambon would have made a good fence post. He is the reason I have given only 4 stars.

An enjoyable film that I will happily watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Range, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is one of the best Westerns ever produced and is up alongside the Magnificent Seven - which is about as goos as it gets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For once a decent Costner movie, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Another channel hopping discovery .... this film surprised me because virtually every Kevin Costner film I had previously seen had been total pap !!!

This however is an excellent western. Hard hitting, well acted and it really captures some of the hardship and brutality faced by the cattlemen. Costner is ably supporting the excellent Robert Duvall in a film about oppression and loyalty amid a harsh world where free-grazing, nomadic cattlemen are treated like an underclass. This is a good story, well told and really well acted. As westerns go, this deserves the 5 stars I have awarded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Range [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open Range [DVD] [2004]
Open Range [DVD] [2004] by Kevin Costner (DVD - 2011)
£2.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews