Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The C-Movie is alive and well.
It's nice to see that in this era of CGI polish and editing software so slick you can run a post-production facility from your mother's basement, that quality dreck like this is still being made.
I laughed my head off for the whole movie at the brilliantly crappy script and acting.
The CGI shark was great, mainly because they obviously used 90% of the budget on...
Published on 13 July 2012 by Tengu

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast Fish?
I love sharks....always have ever since Jaws. A movie about the Daddy of all sharks was just too tempting....yeah i knew it was probably going to blow, but hey, sometimes i like to take a chance!
I'm not going to drone on and on.....the acting is...ok. The casting is....ok. The effects reminded me of the FMV intros you used to get at the start of games...not too...
Published on 26 Sep 2005 by elisabeth campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast Fish?, 26 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love sharks....always have ever since Jaws. A movie about the Daddy of all sharks was just too tempting....yeah i knew it was probably going to blow, but hey, sometimes i like to take a chance!
I'm not going to drone on and on.....the acting is...ok. The casting is....ok. The effects reminded me of the FMV intros you used to get at the start of games...not too shoddy, but not really convincing either. The shark just looked like a Great White.....i expected it to be subtly different, more primeval in appearance...but no. It looks like Mr. Whitey. Which causes the one major problem....it's supposed to be 60-70 feet in length, yet you never get a decent shot to give it scale. Because of the White like appearance, it doesn't look huge....
Well, enough is enough except to say watch out for the Tim Burton Batman "homage" of an opening credit sequence....
If you're thirsty for sharks....go watch Jaws again and give this a miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The C-Movie is alive and well., 13 July 2012
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
It's nice to see that in this era of CGI polish and editing software so slick you can run a post-production facility from your mother's basement, that quality dreck like this is still being made.
I laughed my head off for the whole movie at the brilliantly crappy script and acting.
The CGI shark was great, mainly because they obviously used 90% of the budget on the over used effect where the shark jumps up out of the water to devour the boat/ helicopter/ bad guy/ whatever they happened to insert at that stage of the film.
The best bit is John Barrowman's (apparently ad libbed) line where he invites the female lead to a night of steamy passion ahead of the the morning's possibly doomed fishing trip; a line is up there with Michael Gough's "Truckload of dead rats" line from Top Secret for unexpected bust a gut hysterics.
Better than Jaws 3 and 4 put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Naff, 13 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
For what it's low budget quality it exudes, it is great popcorn fun. Some of the special effects are really good. Don't expect Jaws, but this stays in my fishy collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb bit of Prehistoric Mayhem, 28 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie and it's been a long time coming. Surely the scariest 'real' monster around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
it was so good to watch this and i have all the collection to go with megalodon .... i have no dislike all likes :) xxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars sub standard B movie, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
From the 1st minute of the film when this chick started to make a news broadcast, I knew that this would be a lame and bad film, and in my view I am right. This is a B movie trying hard to be A class and failed embarrassingly. How this film got a '15' classification I do not know, more like a 'PG'in my opinion. The only aspect of the film that attracted me is the Colossus oil platform in the middle of the freezing ocean and the really 'tame' shark. They look kind of awesome, but that's it, nothing else. You even get someone starring in this film by the name of Leighenne Littrell! I must admit that the dvd cover looks awesome but all that glitters is not gold. Another dvd that I will pass on to a friend who is on regular psychiatric treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of fishy hokum, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
As a great fan of shark movies my only disappointment with 'Meg' was that we didn't see enough of the shark itself. That being said, for a low budget movie this was a great piece of hokum, though nothing like the novel 'Meg'on which I presume ikt was originally based. The cating was good, the efects more than passable for a movie of this genre, and the shark a lot less 'plastic' in appearance than in 'Jaws'. Personally I would have liked the film to be a little longer, as the ending seemd to come much too soon after the final revelation of the megalodon. All in all, though, I really enjoyed being able to 'switch off'and watch a great piece of fishy hokum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Megladon, 9 Aug 2008
By 
D. Scott "archer1" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Megladon. meglabore unfortunatley. What!... a giant prehistoric shark never seen before off the coast of far away mehhico terrorising and eating people...NEVER,i don't believe it!! Well if you like shark movies you will be most dissapointed as this one absolutley stinks! It's so cgi bad that you have to watch it to believe the terrifically bad acting and then see if it can be improved upon by throwing it in the bin and fishing it out again,then watch to see if there's been a marked improvement on the quality of the acting!! Alas may one say this movie cgi genetically enhanced though it may be,it will never match up to classics like jaws and more modernist deep blue sea! 2 out of 10 for fishing it out of the bin...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Better of the CGI Low Budget movies, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
I actually looked at this & have purchased it because I am a big fan of this genre but not of all these types of movies for example Lake Placid 3 where the Croc has not had the full amount of proper Rendering done to the Croc to make it look real.
It is documented fact that the Megladon is actually just a very much larger version of the Great White & only in getting smaller has it evolved.
The story of the film has the base line of somethings in nature you should not tamper with & ok it is a unique way of doing it but that is the message none the less.
I thought the shark looked effective & the fight sequences where it is battering around the miniature submarines looks quiet authentic as do the other GCI animated sea life.
This is a pop corn movie though & at no point does it pretend to be otherwise.
Enjoyable & fast paced throughout & I am glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meglandon, 6 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Megalodon [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my son and this is his review. Meglandon was disappointing and not what I expected. I thought the film itself wasn't up to scratch. The Meglandon didn't look real and the actors didn't look afraid when they should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Megalodon [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
35.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews