Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 11 September 2014
This is a low budget, goofball horror film. It is, basically, a completely bonkers adult take on the 80's teen movie, Weird Science. Jeffrey Frankenstein is an obsessive scientist, who has been thrown out of 3 medical schools, and starts experimenting at home on regenerating a dead human brain. He has a girlfriend, Elizabeth, who is killed in a freak accident by a remote control lawn mower. Jeffrey conceals her decapitated head, and then inadvertently kills a group of 8 call girls, using "super crack" cocaine. He then takes body parts from the hookers, in order to create a new body for his dead girlfriend. The actor who plays Jeffrey makes a good fist of the oddball lead character, a man who, for instance, drills into his brain when he's struggling to solve a problem. He manages to bring Elizabeth back to life, but unfortunately, her prostitute body parts control her actions and she's soon on the game, with some electrifying results, quite literally. The remaining body parts of the dispatched hookers gel together into weird creatures, that look like the monster in The Thing, and run amok. At the conclusion of the film, Jeffrey endures a suitably grotesque fate. This is an extremely silly film, one of those ones which is so bad it becomes good. It makes the absolute most of a clearly limited budget. Hollywood should remake this with an actor like Jeff Goldblum playing Jeffrey, and an actress like Cameron Diaz playing Frankenhooker, I'm sure it would be great fun, as the type of movie one watches last thing at night, after having had one too many down the pub.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 4 March 2008
What more can anyone really say? With a title that always brings a schoolboy smirk to my face and some of the most ridiculous scenes in a modern horror film that I can recall - ''Frankenhooker'' is the perfect midnight movie for fans of subversive and rather silly cinema.

Director Frank Henenlotter (recently only returning from MIA with the eagerly awaited BAD BIOLOGY) has always made movies that walk the line of absurdity. From his ''Basket Case'' trilogy to his drug addiction metaphor splatter epic ''Brain Damage'', Henenlotter's movies have always been horror comedies with an undercurrent of an actual idea behind them. Not just 'face value' horror pap - actually, something going on behind all the rubber and blood. Frankenhooker, although not as clever as something like 'Brain Damage' - does work on many levels, but also does what it says on the tin. It has a woman reanimated as a hooker. Which for me, is what makes this director very special.

The story has Jeffrey Franken (played to perfection by James Lorinz) overcome by the death of his fiance (Patty Mullen) in a freak lawn mower accident. Distraught to the fact that his love no longer has a body (and only a severed head!), he decides to re-animate her by collecting body parts of various prostitutes in the vain hope that he can somehow recreate his diseased partner. Along the way, Jeffrey gets involved in 'super crack', a pimp named zorro and many, many ladies of the night. It's all played for laughs and is easily the work of a guy who loves 50s nudie movies and gross out gore and comedy. Its low budget actually helps keep the movie on the seedy side and the cast are pitch perfect in their over the top delivery. Henenlotters' direction is sharp and his screenplay is both funny, playful and ridiculous.

Synapse Films' disc is well produced with a decent transfer and a host of (though short) documentaries and featurettes - one featuring Patty Mullen recollecting the movie and the other with Gabe Bartolas talking about the various effects. The commentary by Henenlotter and Bartolas is both funny and involving. All in all, not the most thought provoking film out there - but, if you are on the lookout for great fun, cheep gore and exploding hookers - this movie is for you. All three of you.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2012
If Arrow Video had a great 2011 then 2011 is off to a great start! The previous Optimum Frankenhooker DVD was such a load of ****! The new Arrow Video release has great artwork by the legendary Graham Humphreys and the option to display three of the other famous poster artworks including one crazy Japanese one I had never seen before!

The booklet inside is awesome and the amazing extras continue onto the disc where we get a commentary with Frank Henenlotter and James Lorinz (from Street Trash!) and interviews, SFX stuff and loads more. The feature itself looks amazing in HD, if you're still watching DVDs get with the programme - Arrow's Blu-rays are worth it!

The feature itself, if you haven't seen it is a brilliant pastiche of Shelley's classic Frankenstein and tells the story of Jeffrey Franken, he's a bit of an odd crazy scientist and his grielfriend has just accidentally died. In a lawnmower accident... So Jeff decides to re-build her from hookers by giving them his own concoction of supercrack so they expolode and he collects up the body parts. If you like your grindhouse classics weird and wonderful Frankenhooker is for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 7 July 2006
This is just great. Sound Plot, Great dialogue, and great acting. That is quite possibly the best performance of a woman bought back from the dead using the body parts of various dead hookers I have, or likely to see ever. And it was very well shot, i have never seen a exploding hooker action sequence as good as that. period. And right at the end a twist no one saw coming. watch this. you know you want to
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 February 2014
Ah I love this film, I think it's very underrated and wish more people had heard of it. Very funny cult classic (or it should be). There were various parts that I did not expect and had me in... stitches... laughing so much I thought I'd... explode... aye, aye? ;) James Lorinz did a great job here, he plays crazy well and Patty Mullen was hilarious as Frankenhooker. Eccentric, fun and over the top; this is not a film to take seriously, it's a lighthearted comedy/horror mash up I would recommend to fans of either genre. But if you're offended by decapitation, nudity or exploding hookers... well, maybe you should go for something else.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
the first blu-ray release of Frankenhooker was by U.S. Distributor Synapse films
and then came the U.K. Arrowfilms blu-ray of the film
well both U.S. & the U.K. blu-ray's are ALL REGIONS,
the Arrowfilms blu-ray is not region B like it says on amazon's product details, the Disc is ALL REGIONS

the HD transfer is a 2k remaster/restoration taken from the Synapse films blu-ray which looks very Good actually
very nice restoration, sharp & clear picture quality in 1:78:1 ratio
both blu-ray's do not share the same Audio mixes
the Synapse blu-ray has a 5.1 surround sound mix & 2.0 stereo mix option,
when the Arrowfilms blu-ray has one fixed 2.0 Stereo mix which still sounds Good anyway even thou it's not a 5.1 mix
regarding the special features
Arrowfilms did take all the extras from the Synape films blu-ray
which are
A SALAD WHICH WAS ONCE NAMED ELIZABETH-interview with 1988 Pin-up penthouse model Patty mullen
who played the Frankenhooker role
patty specifically talks in great detail about playing Frankenhooker, working with Frank Henonlotter, working with Actor James Lorinz
also gives other comments about filming in New York and other stuff, interesting 9mins
TURNING TRICKS-interview with one of the Hookers in the film played by soft core porn star Jennifer Delora
who obviously acted in lots of B movie action films & B movie soft core porn films from the 80's
very long interview 20mins of her talking non stop about her role in Frankenhooker & other films she's been in
just non stop talking about the film, and about the other Penthouse actresses, strippers that played Hookers in the film etc
an interview that should have been edited, after 10mins i got bored watching it
A STITCH IN TIME a featurette about the special make up effects in the film
plus Arrow films also add 2 more extras to this blu-ray
YOUR DATE'S ON A PLATE- a new 40min retrospective Doco just for this U.K. blu-ray
new interview with Director Frank Henonlotter, Actor James Lorinz and special effect artist Gabe bartalos
very detailed, indepth 40mins aswell about the making of Frankenhooker
plus a new Audio commentary by Frank Henonlotter & James Lorinz
plus the usual Collectors booklet with new writing on the film by Calum waddell
both blu-ray's are standard blu-ray cases
worth the money for sure, scrap the old dvd versions Definitetly time to Upgrade
buy the Synapse blu-ray or Arrow films or buy both
maybe 3 stars for the film, 5 stars for both blu-ray's based on lots of special features & new 2k transfer
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I have to confess to quite liking this movie. I hadn't seen it before but felt it was worth a go. I've been getting into these old (the 90s is not that old) horror movies and with Arrow Films doing such a great job with these Blu-Ray releases I new I would be in safe hands when I purchased it. I have the reversible sleeve version with the movie poster cards and so on which makes it even better.

So the film. A young couple are about to get married when the wife to be befalls a rather gory fatal accident with the new lawnmower she bought for her Father in Law. The Husband to be is a brain surgeon and has been conducting some rather unorthodox experiments in his mother kitchen. Well he ends up bringing his Fiancee back to life once he has found the right sized replacement body parts to go with his fiancee's head. See as he got them from a bunch of hookers the Movie title kind of explains the rest of the plot.
It's great fun to watch and the Blu-Ray presentation is pleasing. The picture all be it not the cleanest restoration (they might have just taken a Hi-Def scan of the original print) I have seen is very detailed with great colours with good depth to the image. The sound even though it is 2 channel Stereo is nice and clear. The 3 stars is more representative of the movie not the whole package. So 3.5 to 4 could be given if you want to be technical.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on 4 August 2000
Frankenhooker is an inspired work of genius. The plot could almost be Shakespearian, if old Will could have written with this much style. If you like your films with lawnmower accidents, brains in jars, crack and hookers (and let's face it, who doesn't?) you cannot afford to miss this.
The basic plot is man's girl is killed (brilliantly), man invents super-crack, man trys to reanimate girl using hookers' body parts. Its the time old tale of young love flourishing in the face of adversity - I would strongly recommend the directors of Titanic have a butcher's at this before making the same mistakes again.
My only critism of this film is that it needs more Jar Jar Binks and Celine Dion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 9 January 2012
When your summer lovin comes to an abrubpt end under the blades of your trusty, rusty lawnmower and the girl of your dream's life gets cut shorter than your newly mown grass what would you do? Cry yourself to sleep whilst listening to Radiohead? Or rebuild her and bring her back to life, better and bustier than ever using the best cuts of local hookers? Surely such an idea can't go wrong? Can it?

Got to hand it to Arrow they have done it again. What they do, they do so well.

Time and time again they reach back into my childhood 80s video rental store memories and return with classic titles that I can relive again and take a nostalgic, bloody and sleazy trip down memory lane. Some of the titles may have been released on DVD since through other companies but you have to applaud the love Arrow put into their releases. Yes the transfers may not make them the best titles to showboat your HD setup, but considering the source material for many of the titles they are as good as you are going to get unless they do a Hollywood shot for shot remake, and nobody wants that!

What really makes Arrow titles stand out from the crowd though are the extras, pure gold as usual.

The packaging for their blu-ray releases make them must own items for any serious genre collector. You get the usual reversible sleeve with both original and commissioned artwork, double sided fold-out artwork poster and exclusive collector's booklet featuring brand new writing on the film by regular contributor Calum Waddell. Whenever friends eye my blu-ray collection they always head straight for the Arrow shelf, the packaging always screams "pick me up and look at me!"

Once I have enjoyed and revisited the film you can then sit back and learn everything about it with the always excellent original extras and Frankenhooker does not let you down.

There is a very informative exclusive audio commentary with director Frank Henenlotter and star James Lorinz. The more than substantial 'Your Date's on a Plate, the Making of Frankenhooker' behind the scenes featurette and an exclusive Tour of the Gabe Bartalos Effects Lab featurette plus more interviews and trailers that will keep you entertained for hours after the credits have rolled.

Forget Ebert and Maltin, we all know that there isn't a better film critic than Bill Murray who even goes as far as to give it his official stamp of approval "if you see one movie this year, it should be Frankenhooker."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
The package came in very nicely. As for the content itself, there's so much in it that looks great. I just haven't taken the time to dig into it. I bought it because I love the film, I love some of the actors and the characters they portrayed, especially James Lorinz. Also, commentary tracks appeal to me a lot. The other extras are interesting as well, but I love commentary tracks, so to have the director and lead actor doing the commentary, it was an essential buy for me. I'm glad I bought it.

Take out the extras, it's just an awesomely fun and entertaining film. I only saw it once and fell in love with it, feeling like Lorinz's character was charismatic in a strange way. Silly sounding one liners that turned out really great. I compare Jeffrey to Herbert West from Re-Animator. Forget Bruce Banner and Tony Stark, Jeffrey and Herbert would be my science bromance if it would've happened.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988]
Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] by Tom Atkins (DVD - 2004)

The Exterminator [DVD]
The Exterminator [DVD] by James Glickenhaus (DVD - 2012)

Vamp [DVD] [1986]
Vamp [DVD] [1986] by Grace Jones (DVD - 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.