Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sabotage' is The King of Rock albums
I've always been a sabbath fan & I always will. For me 'Sabotage'represents the band at their most creative & powerfull. This is the album I tend to come back to more than any of the other jewels in the Sabbath crown. I can't recomend this album enough. If your looking for the peak of heavy rock, then this is the most complete collection of blistering, purposeful,...
Published on 5 Feb 2002 by watson_andyq@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Symptoms the Rock N Roll Dr couldn't cure
The 'difficult' 6th album. Iommi's remit seemed to be one of change or die, which was glimpsed in their previous release, where as sustainable and consistent may have worked better. In fact that was the way it seemed from the beginning of the album as the first 3 tracks are stunning material. However the quality dips when the experimental epics are brought out...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sabotage' is The King of Rock albums, 5 Feb 2002
By 
watson_andyq@hotmail.com (Walsall, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I've always been a sabbath fan & I always will. For me 'Sabotage'represents the band at their most creative & powerfull. This is the album I tend to come back to more than any of the other jewels in the Sabbath crown. I can't recomend this album enough. If your looking for the peak of heavy rock, then this is the most complete collection of blistering, purposeful, imaginative & thrilling music produced from The Kings of Heavy Metal.'Hole in the Sky' will pull you straight in & wack your brain cells. Catch your breath with 'Don't Start (Too Late)', but hold tight for 'Symptom of the Universe'. This will burn onto your memory for the rest of your life!
This album has drama in 'Megalomania' & 'The Writ'
Lunatic ramblings in 'Am I Going Insane' & if you looking for a soundtrack for a black mass, try 'Supertzar. A riff so good, Ozzy refused to sing over it! I don't need to mention the might of Tony Iommi's guitar work. The solo that ends 'The Thrill of it All', is probably my all time favorite. Every Sabbath fan will tell you that this album should be loved to death. Its power will inspire you. No rock fan should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2009 reissue versus the 1996 version, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Jim (South Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Firstly, there is little point in discussing this music per se: any self-respecting Sabbath fan, nay, rock fan, ought to already count this classic album amongst the highlights of their collection. Musically speaking, this is certainly a 5-star album. The question I aim to address here is rather: is it worth shelling out for this apparently newly remastered 2009 reissue if you already own the 1996 (blimey was it as long ago as that!) remastered version? Well, you'd like to think that over those 13 years the world of music reproduction technology would have moved on to the extent that a new version would eke even more sonic quality out of the sounds Sabbath laid down on analogue tape back in 1975. After all, this album was a long time in production, reflected in the complex arrangements and huge sound achieved by the band and their recording team. Indeed, I defy anyone not to feel `WOW, that was an experience!' with every ounce of their musical appreciation as the last strains of the awesome `Megalomania' waft into the distance. Maybe I just played it a little on the loud side. But I digress: the short answer is, after playing on a pretty decent hifi various songs from the two versions back to back, I couldn't be sure that I could discern any difference between them.

So what else might tempt the prospective purchaser? There is no `bonus' material. In my book that is great - I detest the pristine purity of a hallowed classic album being diluted with second-rate scrapings from the bottom of the barrel (for example, the `studio run-throughs' that sullied the Rhino reissue of `Close to the Edge' by Yes). With regard to packaging, this reissue comes in a digipack. For some people that may add value, but to be honest I prefer a jewel case that can be replaced if it gets knackered. In 2009 there is a 16 page booklet, whereas the earlier version had a mere 12 pages. The new version booklet has better photos and a short `essay' that helps set the music in historical context, although my straining eyes complain that occasional lapses into red text on a black background was a rather poor design choice. Also on the downside, the 2009 booklet unfortunately omits the song lyrics, which you do get in the old version. So all in all, I am forced to conclude that, for this particular album in the latest batch of Sabbath reissues, it is only die-hard completists or newcomers to Black Sabbath (does that really happen in 2009?) that would really benefit from acquiring this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their finest hour, 28 May 2004
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
The opener here, "Hole in the Sky" cannot be faulted. The obligatory instrumental follows (all 49 seconds!), providing a wonderful intro to what I believe (yes, maybe it is better than Sabbath Bloody Sabbath) to be Black Sabbath's finest moment - "Symptom of the Universe", outstanding. Listening to this track you are hearing Black Sabbath at their zenith. THe following track "Megalomania" is a great Sabbath track, a good rock standard, but listening to their catalogue chronologically, you will never hear the band top the heights of "Symptom of the Universe" again, although "The Writ" comes close, as does "The Thrill of it All". Supertzar is an interesting instrumental track, with its backing choir, different to the usual little geear ditties. "Am I Going Insane?" is a good song, but not by Black Sabbath standards, and points the direction that the next two albums were to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's finest, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Recorded in the middle of their amazing 70's ooutput, this (along with Sabbath Bloody Sabbath) has a proggy twinge to it, which elevates it above thier seminal metal work. Sadly, it also marks the beginning of the end for the original line-up.

The album's most surprising insight is the fact that the first recording of it was lost and they had to go back and redo the whole thing in record time. Not that you'd notice.

The album kicks off with psychedelic stomper "Hole in the Sky" and makes a stron statement about the ride we're in for. there's a brief acoustic interlude before we get to the stand out track: "Symptom of the Universe". this is the greatest metal riff of all time. Lets be clear on that: this is the greatest metal riff of all time (its in Em btw and uses the satanic dimnished 5th interval). not only that but it also segues in to a jazzy Fm7/B vamp section at the end with some very tasteful acoustic guitar soloing and yearning vocals from Ozzy.

Megalomani ias an epic 9m paranoid drug odyssey which takes you on its trip and leaves you strung out. just enough time to recover for side 2 (this is a vinyl experience noobs) and the hook laden Thrill Of It All.

The experimental Supertzar (choirs) and Iam I Going Insane (synth pop) are disposable, while album close The Writ is a bitter cycnical dark and twisted groover. absolutely awesome, all of it.

as if the album needed any more curios, it has bizarre sonic bookends, in the form of a screeching mike and count in at the start and a barely audible jug blowing piano folk stomper (i kid you not) to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Sabbath classic, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This is regarded as the last of the legendary first six Black Sabbath albums. It is like it`s predecessors an absolute must for hard rock and heavy metal fans. It goes along with the expansive composition of Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and has in places the great guitar riffing of early Sabbath albums. `Symptom of the Universe` best epitomises the Sabbath style of awesome riffs and great composition. All of the songs are fantastic but the ones that make this record so special are `Symptom...`, `Megalomania`, `Thrill of it all` and the outstanding `The Writ`.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath at their height, 19 Nov 2000
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
With Sabotage, Black Sabbath reached a peak in consumate recording that they never equalled with any of their other offerings. They produced many fine albums over the years, but Sabotage is crammed with quality and musical ingenuity from start to finish. It also happens to be just about the heaviest album the band produced, yet is, in places, one of their most subtle. From the opening blast of 'Hole in the Sky', through the inventive production on Ozzy Osbourne's vocals on 'Megalomania', to the gothic choir on 'Supertzar', there is no compromise in the quality of the writing or performance. 'Sabotage' is a titanic album which must have sent tremors through the rock world when it was initially released in 1975. If any album encapsulates the might of Black Sabbath at their height then it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is how heavy metal should be played, 20 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Sabotage has everything that a good heavy metal album should have, great guitar riffs, screaming vocals, thumping bass lines and good drumming. When you first hear the opening track, Hole In The Sky, you begin to realise that this album is not your run of the mill metal album. The way the group combine the lyrics and music reaches a standard that other groups can only dream about. And of course there is Symptom Of The Universe, which begins with a great guitar riff then explodes into shear heavy metal heaven. A lot of the album success is put down to Ozzy's vocals and Tony's guitar playing but I think Geezer deserves a lot more credit for the wonderful lyrics he writes. It is a shame that the group have split up for there will never be such a good combination of talented musicians again. The band has a feel all of there own and although over the years many have tried to copy it none of them have come close to matching the chemistry that Black Sabbath had. All the tracks on the album are off the same high standard and any one who wants to hear the group when they were are at their peak should look no further than this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I stay for free because the rents never due., 8 April 2002
By 
P Bungay (Christchurch, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
They don't write them like this anymore. Forget numetal, forget grunge, forget everything you ever knew, this album defines rock music in a way no other album has, before or since. Ozzy proves once and for all that he is the original lyrical gangster with rhyme sets that stun the mind. Toni gets heavy with a thundering set of riffs that rattle your crockery. Mad Soviet Chants, eclectic insanity and egocentric meglomania. Just buy it and wonder at the joy of it all. Then buy the Stone Roses, same spectrum, different end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sabotage, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I have been pondering on what Black Sabb album to buy recently, the must own album for me was always Master of Reality...possibly as this was the first Sabbath album I'd listened to hence it made the biggest impact. I used to own all the albums but in a moment of 'I've moved on' madness I got rid. I digress, having thrashed Paranoid and got sick to death of it, I quickly ruled that out. I was never a huge fan or Paranoid, possibly because this is the album that was always played at party's etc and eventually I grew to resent it...when I was desperate to hear any of the other albums instead, for a change! Sabotage was an album that was regarded as one of the not-so-great albums but when I listened to it, it blew my mind and quickly became a firm favourite. It only seems inconsistent (as someone else mentioned) as the first three tracks are incredibly powerful. However the album is, in my opinion, arguably one of the most consistent. Symptom of the Univserse for me, encapsulates Sabbath at their best...Iommi's wicked riffs to Ozzy's lyrical wizardry, the end of this track he pulls out some heavy duty lyrics that would melt the hardest of hearts. This album was made during their infamous drug binging days and yet...if anything the drugs appear to have embellished their inspiration (but kids...drugs are bad m'kay).
At the time of release, Rolling Stone stated "Sabotage is not only Black Sabbath's best record since Paranoid, it might be their best ever", I tend to agree (although would have used Master instead of Paranoid).
I think the only thing that lets this album down is the sound quality, hence 4 stars, the album was produced by Tony Iommi and despite the incredible production values the end result sounds a little rough around the edges. This is possibly more down to the recording equipment used, as opposed to Tonys abilities. If you compare the quality of Sabotage with say the remastered version of Master of Reality...it's very noticeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sabbath Album, ergo best rock album..., 23 July 2014
By 
Jack (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I had the immense good fortune to see these old boys knock it out headlining a festival last month with a huge set which got me going back through all the albums. Sabotage has everything, and if it is the greatest Sabbath album that means it has pretty good claim to being the best rock/metal album - compulsory listening. The band had developed musically, while remaining true to what they're really about. Symptom of the Universe is probably the best example, which moves from classic Iommi proto-death metal riffage through an almost speed metal section, into Pentangle-like jazz-folk. That might sound like a mess, but it's not, it sounds completely organic and unforced. Brilliant. Lyrically Ozzy had moved on a lot from the 'graveyards at midnight' nonsense, while vocally he has a great range while still being, well, Ozzy. And so on through the album, just excellent, and at moment almost on constant play (at least when my wife is out...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sabotage
Sabotage by Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews