Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the summer sunshine!
I've been one of the lucky first people to listen to this album and, although I've heard previously some classic Brazilian music, I didn't know the new wave was so fresh and uplifting.
This album is seriously a breath of fresh air, full of groove and wonderful sounds!
I already know it will become one of my favourites and I will come back to it in many years...
Published on 21 May 2004

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful
I like a wide selection of Brazilian music and, while this compilation has a good range of styles, the music represented is so poor it's frequently cringe-worthy. Peterson seems steeped in chilled-out R&B and this album really didn't inspire my confidence in him as an authority on Brazilian music and he definitely isn't tuned in to any ground breaking up-and-coming...
Published on 1 Dec. 2010 by Greg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the summer sunshine!, 21 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
I've been one of the lucky first people to listen to this album and, although I've heard previously some classic Brazilian music, I didn't know the new wave was so fresh and uplifting.
This album is seriously a breath of fresh air, full of groove and wonderful sounds!
I already know it will become one of my favourites and I will come back to it in many years time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE brazilian compilation to have!, 24 May 2004
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
Bought this at HMV this morning, it is amazing! Pure old classics on disc 1 and upfront broken beat/house/dnb on disc 2, all seemlessly put together by GP himself. This makes all the other brazilian bandwagon compilations sound so boring in comparison - a must have for the summer...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curious about Brazilian music?, 25 May 2004
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
This is the best introduction album for the Brazilian music beginner! If you love those sounds, crave those beats and can't wait for your feet to start tapping uncontrollably, this is what you are looking for. And if you are an expert you'll also love it; Gilles Peterson gives an amazing mix of some of the best classical music from Brazil, and an excellent exhibition of what is going on in the more modern scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true global elite, gilles understands knowledge supreme!, 7 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
no words, just go out and buy this and enjoy your summer and understand. And at least its put an end to my quest for quality sounds in overpriced record shops! nice one all power 2 u .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazilian sound of the summer, 26 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
Picked this up a few days ago and can't stop listening. None stop grooves, loads of percussive toe tappers.
Looking forward to the sun to drop this all summer long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El Classico, 16 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
I have always loved the influence of Brazil's Samba in jazz, this excellent CD gives us an insight to where these brilliant rhythms came from before the fusion of Jazz and Samba. You wont find tunes like this on any other compilations, Gilles at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curious about Brazilian music, 25 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
This is the best introduction album for the Brazilian music beginner! If you love those sounds, crave those beats and can't wait for your feet to start tapping uncontrollably, this is what you are looking for. And if you are an expert you'll also love it: Gilles Peterson gives an amazing mix of some of the best classical music from Brazil, and an excellent exhibition of what is going on in the more modern scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
This is the best compilation of Brazilian music I know.
Especially the first disc, with a lot of classic tunes, often in surprising versions.
The tunes are soulful without being corny.
Essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giles Peterson In Brazil, 26 Dec. 2009
By 
C. M. White (L-O-S England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
Please give us more. This man's choice of tunes just makes ya want to dance. I'd love a week with Gilles's record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson (Audio CD)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson
Gilles Peterson in Brazil: Mixed By Gilles Peterson by Gilles Peterson (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews