Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Verdant Vibes
Autumn 1990 in Oxford was the first time I ever heard Brian Eno. Then, his sound was a world apart from the jangling indie that I was lapping up, but the combination of atmospheric electronic instrumentals, and beautifully sung vocal tracks was deeply appealing. Little did I know that Eno was the godfather of ambient, a sound brought to a wider audience by the Orb and...
Published on 3 Nov 2004 by William Ayres

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moody and experimental.
'Another Green World' is an ambient album, which means that rather than songs it consists of pieces of mood music. For the most part it succeeds and is very listenable. Towards the end it seems to run out of steam a little but it remains arguably Eno's best solo album.
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by MR K J DOWNING


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Verdant Vibes, 3 Nov 2004
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
Autumn 1990 in Oxford was the first time I ever heard Brian Eno. Then, his sound was a world apart from the jangling indie that I was lapping up, but the combination of atmospheric electronic instrumentals, and beautifully sung vocal tracks was deeply appealing. Little did I know that Eno was the godfather of ambient, a sound brought to a wider audience by the Orb and their ilk in the early 90s.
At the time, I taped this from a friend's vinyl but I replaced this copy of Another Green World with the CD a few years ago and listening to it again nearly thirty years after it was recorded the inventiveness and playful approach of Eno and his cohorts still springs out; Phil Collins' splendid drumming provides proof, if it were needed, that the only place I want to hear him is behind the kit. Robert Fripp's "Frippertronics" guitar system involving tape-delay systems and looped feedback is used to ear-bending effect on several tracks. And behind it all, bald on top and long at the sides, Eno's compositional and production genius shines. He credits himself on a fabulous array of made-up instruments ("Snake Guitar", "Unnatural Sounds", "Desert Guitar" and the like) and peppers everything with harmonics, percussive flourishes and twinkling melodic runs. This is an album that manages to combine all kinds of emotions, yet stil sounds coherent.
In the last few years I've listened to a lot of Brian Eno's back catalogue, and other personal favourites include Before And After Science and his Ambient series. But I have a particular fondness for Another Green World, and time has been very kind to it; part of this is probably nostalgia, but I think it's also because it's SUCH a great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album changed pop music, 3 Jun 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
The last album by Eno. After this he became Brian. The change was significant. Out goes the surreal, playful, avant pop of previous albums and in comes something more studious and reflective. "Another Green World" is heralded not only as Eno's best song album but as a defining statement in the development of modern pop music. It led to Bowie co-producing a trilogy of albums with him, to producing Talking Heads and U2 and effectively was a blueprint to how the studio could be used as a compositional tool. There were less songs and more instrumental sketches, but Eno was mastering his art and producing something that had never been heard before.
Eno loves space and here he makes good use of it, keeping the instrumentation to an absolute minimum and putting everything in it's right place at the right time. He has quoted Teo Macero's editing and production of Miles Davis's "He Loves Him Madly" as a big influence on what he was doing and it shows how he was developing as a producer, a role that would eventually make him a household name. There are elements of funk and jazz here, emphasised by Percy Jones unmistakeable fretless bass playing on several tracks. There is even a track named after Weather Report's Joe Zawinul.
Robert Fripp is also an important contributor here. His fuzzy sustained guitar tones shine on tracks such as "St. Elmo's Fire", "I'll Come Running" and "Golden Hours". John Cale adds viola runs to the appropriately named "Sky Saw". Phil Collins, in Brand X mode makes an appearance here, further emphasising the loose, jazzy leanings.
There is a cool, alien austerity about this album, further emphasised by Tom Phillips other worldly cover. This is music from another green world indeed.
A couple of comments about these Original Master re-issues. They are minimally packaged in digipaks which are housed in transparent plastic slip cases. No notes, essays or lyrics, just the original recording credits. These are not remasters as such, but new transfers taken from the original master tapes using the new Direct Stream Digital (DSD) format. This is state of the art as regards mastering onto compact disc. They have been transferred by Simon Heyworth who is one of the best in the business. He has made statements about the remastering of these recordings. Why change something that was done right originally! Eno was happy with the original mastering so what is needed is just the best transfer onto compact disc that is currently feasible. Whereas the original CD's sounded flat and thin, these transfers are much livelier and offer a fuller, more detailed sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT ambient, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Barry Lees (Greenock, Strathclyde Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
From the man who wrote the book on "ambient music" and defined the genre as being "like wind chimes"; that is, a barely-heard soundtrack to life, comes this early album which can be described as "definitely NOT ambient".

It consists of quirky songs that owe no explanation to anyone except, obviously, Eno himself. He experiments with early synthesisers and uses electronics to distort the output of other instruments (notably guitars) and produce unexpected sounds.

Some - especially "In Dark Trees" have a `ghostly' feel; many people will recognise the title track as the theme to BBC's "Arena" programmes. Others ("I'll Come Running" and "St. Elmo's Fire") are `proper' songs with words, albeit that the words mean more to Eno than anyone else. However, the latter is fast-paced, rhythmic and energetic and with lyrics like :

Well we rested in a desert
Where the bones were white as teeth, sir
And we saw St. Elmo's Fire
Splitting ions in the ether

you finally get the idea that Eno is no one-trick pony and it must have come as a bit of a surprise to those who only knew him as the guy on `Top Of The Pops' with the keyboards in art-rock band Roxy Music.

I bought the original l.p. when it was released and was delighted when it was issued on c.d. It's a modern classic that no serious music fan should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eno's classic, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
a timeless classic from the master of ambient music. just turn of the lights press play and be transported to another world. brian ferry eat your heart out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eno: My Brilliant Career (Part VII), 12 Jan 2004
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
'The idea of making music in some way related to a sense of place-landscape, envorment...My conscious exploration of this way of thinking about music probably began with "Another Green World" (1975). On that record I became aware of setting each piece within its own particular landscape and allowing the mood of that landscape to determine the kinds of activity that could occur...everything that happens is part of the landscape. There is no longer a sharp distinction between foreground and background'- Brian Eno, 1986.
Eno had been associated with some brilliant records before this- notably the first two Roxy albums & Here Come the Warm Jets; but Another Green World was the start of something else. The sounds it explores would influence and recur on such later records as Harmonium 76, Low, Fear of Music, "Heroes", Remain in Light, My Life in the Bush of Ghosts & Power Spot. Each track creates a world of its own, Eno & a roster of great musicians (John Cale, Phil Collins, Robert Fripp, Percy Jones etc)& advice from Phil Manzarena, the late Ian MacDonald, Robert Wyatt, Pete Townshend & Peter Schmidt (the latter would provide artistic influence in terms of approach: those OBLIQUE STRATEGIES). The music is otherworldly and precedes such climes as The Aphex Twin (Selected Ambient Works), Pere Ubu (Sentimental Journey), Wire (Chairs Missing),David Sylvian (Rain Tree Crow), Associates (Fourth Drawer Down), Radiohead (Kid A)& Peter Gabriel (4). Let's note that it's Eno and his collaboraters- not just Eno alone.
The songs flow together wonderfully- from Sky Saw's circular drones and a vocal close to autosuggestion to Over Fire Island's instrumental climes, which perfectly lead into the beauty of St Elmo's Fire- with amazingly warm leftfield guitar from Eno & Fripp. The title track itself is famous as the them to the BBC's long running show Arena & sounds great on a compilation just before Warszawa...
Not only is the music brilliant, but the songs have wonderful titles (Sombre Reptiles, Everything Merges with the Night, In Dark Trees)& the cover- "After Raphael"- is one of the greatest album covers of all time. Ever. Eternally. To infinity. (& beyond). There's gorgeous pop here, and Mr Eno is an underrated singer (though a part of me wonder's what Mr Ferry would have sounded like singing some of these songs...)- I'll Come Running (listed amongst other great popsongs in Paul Morley's Words & Music)follows the alien-realm of The Big Ship (which sounds post-Playing With Fire, 13 years before said Spacemen 3 album)& is simply sublime. The warmest pop song ever, a leftfield love ode ("I'm going to waste the rest of my days...just watching patiently from the window...I want to be your wandering sailor...with silohettes by the light of the moon..I sit playing solitare by the window...just waiting, seasons change, ah ha- you'll see!...I'll come running to tie your shoes"). Fripp's guitar is perfection, while the repeated chorus turns into a mantra- the song kind of verse/verse/chorus/guitar solo/chorus (recurring).
Little Fishes is a definite precusor towards the sound of 1978's Ambient 1:Music for Airports, sounding like the missing link between John Cage and Van Der Graaf Generator (in minature). Becalmed extends on these ambient climes and works well against the vocal tracks, or the songs with more ethnic percussion (Peter Gabriel's shift towards world music would not be possible without this record, I think). Zawinul/Lava opens with extremely minimal piano- we're talking Satie- as the other instruments build in the background & a mesh of noises occur and recur. Spirits Drifting is perfect ambient music, I wonder why people insist on getting wasted to that dullness known as Dark Side of the Moon and not say this or Future Days (Can)?
My favourite track remains Golden Hours, four minutes of art-pop from Eno, Cale & Fripp; Eno playing 'uncertain piano', 'spasmodic percussion' & 'choppy organs' to Cale & Fripp's weapons of choice (viola, wimborne guitar). The music is wonderfully minimal, all bound together by Eno's vocal melody ("several times")- wonderful guitar, the kind of pop-repetition common to The Neptunes & wonderful keyboard drones amid vocals drifting from the fore to the background and coming together...
Another Green World, along with Her Come the Warm Jets are probably the best primers to Eno- though Thursday Afternoon, No Pussyfooting, Music for Airports, On Land, Plateaux of Mirrors, My Life in the Bush of Ghosts & Brian Eno: Vocal are just as worthy (...and the rest). A truly classic album and one that easily stands against such inventive classics of the era- Future Days, Neu!, A Wizard A True Star, Dark Magus, No Other & Propaganda...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 3 April 2002
By 
Ophiicus (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
Musically raw, because it was the first to venture into what is called ambient. This contains gems each one of which you wish longer. This is one of the few works which contains a genuine sense of menace and has the power to disturb as well as beguile. Sky saw: there was a bond film with a helicopter mounted rotary blade - do not (repeat do not) hold this image and listen to the track (trust me). I came to this album as a restult of it being used for a BBC TV programme (Arena used the title track). I came away with a knowledge of the birth of ambient psychedelia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much written and talked about, so who actually listens to it?, 5 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
I was introduced to Eno in 1991ish when I worked for HMV in central London. The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld were everywhere, Achtung Baby was the album of the moment. Consequently it was impossible to ignore the spectre of this geeky balding man who looked like a science professor, who looks and sounds like (to me anyway) Riffraff from Rocky Horror. As with most record shop employees I purchased the entire Eno back catalogue, but only ever listened to three tracks on Before And After Science and all of Apollo (before Trainspotting made it coffee table listening for indie kids).
Consequently it's taken me years to actually get to know Eno's music properly. Another Green World means only one thing to those of us of a certain age, the theme to the BBC documentary show, Arena. However the rest of the album really stands up. Some great pop moments, some beautifully sculped ambient moments. Nothing stays around for too long, and Eno's voice is, as always, warm and welcomingly frosty.
Incredibly, this came out two years before Bowie released Heroes, and it's amusing to believe that while Eno was making Over Fire Island, Bowie was doing plastic soul. He must have heard this and, like many listeners, felt like packing up his trunk and becoming an accountant. Fortunately Bowie decided to pursue working with Eno, but that's a different story.
This really is, in my opinion, Eno's final 'conventional' album, its influence is inestimable, it's beauty never ending. Buy it and promise not to forward to track 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What exactly is ambient music?, 3 July 2013
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
To this day nobody has ever provided me with an understandable explanation as to exactly what ambient music actually is! One reviewer states 'rather than songs it (the album) consists of pieces of mood music'. Yeh, right! Surely all music could be classed as mood music so I'll await another attempt! Another states this album 'consists of quirky songs that owe no explanation to anyone', and that's the best explanation I've heard to date. This album can only achieve 4 stars due to the incredible Here Come The Warm Jets (1st Eno album after leaving Roxy Music). Once you learn to accept Eno's vocal style things instantly become better and the instrumentals are brilliant. Eno is a genius and was prepared push the boudaries to the extent that many have used his services as a producer. His influence seems boundless and to the benefit of music as a whole. The best advice I can give is read other reviews if you must but take the seemingly endless diatribe with a large pinch of salt. Buy this CD and make your own mind up. I did and have never regretted it. I suspect you will enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Influential!, 11 May 2013
By 
M. Costantino (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
The sound quality is great- and from the first note you recognise how influential Eno has been on later music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Eno listening, 9 Dec 2012
By 
D. R. Reid (Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Green World (Audio CD)
This is one of his best early records, a mix of songs and ambient/instrumental pieces. I only realised recently that he plays all the instruments on some of the pieces including the famous title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac639e58)

This product

Another Green World
Another Green World by Brian Eno (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews