Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BETTER ALTERNATIVE
At the time of writing the Decca reissue under the title "The Very Best Of Vera Lynn" has become a best-seller. This CD contains five more tracks, all recorded between 1936 and 1943, and is every bit as deserving, particularly given also that it is considerably cheaper. From a collector's point of view it has two shortcomings: the tracklist carries no details other than...
Published on 3 Oct 2009 by Barry McCanna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vera Lynn selected with a pin
The rather sloppy use of a title like the "best of" is even further out than some of the other similarly titled one.Thus to include White Christmas which she recorded in the 70s along with songs made in the 30s does her a disservice
However the sleeve photo of her iin the pink dress she spoke of in her autobiog should have been larger to cover the entire sleeve and...
Published on 16 May 2011 by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BETTER ALTERNATIVE, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
At the time of writing the Decca reissue under the title "The Very Best Of Vera Lynn" has become a best-seller. This CD contains five more tracks, all recorded between 1936 and 1943, and is every bit as deserving, particularly given also that it is considerably cheaper. From a collector's point of view it has two shortcomings: the tracklist carries no details other than composer and publisher credits, and the liner note is woefully inadequate. That's not for lack of space, because the CD carries three identical photos of Vera Lynn, at least one of which is the reverse of the true image!

To fill in some of the blanks, Charles Smart accompanies tracks 3, 4, 5 and 18 on the organ, and on track 5 he's joined by Freddy Gardner on sax. Tracks 7 and 25 feature Arthur Young on the Novachord, and track 23 is accompanied by Maurice Winnick. Track 9 is taken from a 1942 broadcast with Eugene Pini, hence the somewhat obtrusive surface noise. Elsewhere honours are shared between Mantovani (1, 10, 15, 21 and 22), Jay Wilbur (6, 11, 12, 13 and 16), and Ambrose (8, 19, 20 and 24). Track 24 is in fact a duet with Denny Dennis.

All of this detail is important, and the failure to publicise it sells the CD short (although the Decca reissue is similarly lacking in detail). As best I can see, however, only three tracks are duplicated, so even if you've helped already to propel Dame Vera into the charts by buying the better-known reissue, there's no reason not to go for this in addition.

Any reissue that is titled "The Best Of" tempts the reviewer to nominate tracks that should have been included, but weren't, but I shall resist on the basis that this gives an excellent account of Vera Lynn's talents in the late thirties and early forties. She had a remarkable voice, and her choice of material was pitched at those fighting overseas, and those waiting anxiously at home. Despite its shortcomings this is every bit as deserving of five stars as the Decca reissue, if not more so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HAPPY DAY SINGING ALONG TO V L IN MY MUMS CARE HOME BRILLIANT !!!!, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Carol Gallacher "OLD TIMER" (DUNDEE SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
I PLAYED V L ONE DAY TO ALL THE RESIDENTS OF MY MUMS CARE HOME MOST OF THEM CANT COMMUNICATE BUT THEY ALL KNEW THE WORDS IT WAS BRILLIANT !!!
I CAME AWAY HAPPY FOR ONCE !!!! SHE SHOULD BE ON THE N H S .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Vera Lynn, 14 Oct 2010
Vera Lynn is relevant at the moment because the Battle of Britain's seventieth anniversary. She was known as the Forces Sweetheart and you can understand why when you hear her beautiful, clear, warm and resonant voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Music, 31 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
I was quite clear what this CD would be like, and I was not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from EMI, 21 Mar 2008
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
A sort of companion CD to the Singles Collection with songs added from the Unforgettable,Hits of Today and Sacred Songs.
With just about everything reissued there's still the Decca LP of Nursery Rhymes which Vera made with Kenneth McKellar and which should be reissued seperately.
This is one of her rarest albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars the best of vera lyn, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is of very poor quality and cut off before the end. the tone is poor. I could not recommend this to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars anybody who likes the old songs, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
she has been going for a long time and still enjoyable to listen to if you enjoy the old songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD., 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
Bought this particular CD to play at my mothers funeral .This was one of her favorite singers and as a military wife many years ago thought it a fitting song for the occasion. Did all it was meant to do and sound was clear .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
i absolutley love this, has great memories for me, because my dad and i used to sing these songs together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars at her best, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn (Audio CD)
feeling patriotic? as always, she fills the bill. bought for the 'oldies' who love it and reminice for hours everytime it's played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn
We'll Meet Again - The Best of Vera Lynn by Vera Lynn (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews