Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog never sounded so good
Secret Machines live is an amazing experience. You get taken in to the music and lose yourself completely, not finding yourself again until the very last chord has rung out. This album is just the same. From the opening track, First Wave Down, you get sucked in and completely lost. The compositions on 'Now Here is Nowhere' are spectacular, every song has a great feeling...
Published on 12 Sep 2004 by jamierowland

versus
9 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Keep it a secret
I have heard the names of great bands being dropped in reference to this album by Secret Machines: Spiritualized, Mogwai, Mercury Rev, Flaming Lips, and Pink Floyd. Naturally I bought this album with high hopes. I am sorely disappointed. This album has NOTHING in common with these seminal artists, apart from the odd flourish that has been unashamedly snatched from...
Published on 30 Jun 2004 by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog never sounded so good, 12 Sep 2004
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
Secret Machines live is an amazing experience. You get taken in to the music and lose yourself completely, not finding yourself again until the very last chord has rung out. This album is just the same. From the opening track, First Wave Down, you get sucked in and completely lost. The compositions on 'Now Here is Nowhere' are spectacular, every song has a great feeling of depth, like you're totally immersed in it.
A lot of people have compared this band to the Flaming Lips, and certainly, on track 3, Leaves Are Gone, you can hear their influence. But Secret Machines is a totally different beast. Brandon Curtis's vocals are much more refined, and the different layers which make up the songs seem to hold together much better.
For me 'Now Here is Nowhere' works best as a whole, listened to from start to finish. There are no stand-out tracks, it's just a stand-out album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandaddy meet Hawkwind at John Bonham's house, 9 July 2004
By 
Craig Brown "broonie" (Wellington, NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
I'm only really writing this review is because I am so gobsmacked over the previous reviewer's negative comments on this album. This is one of the best albums I've heard of all year. While there is nothing desperatley new here, this is an epic sounding album with excellent tunes, yes excellent tunes "Matt from London", and beats straight from John Bonham's grave.
The reason I love this album so much IS the so called "Rod, Jane and Freddie" melodies sprinkled through out, something which fans of Grandaddy will adore. But these guys are way more searing in the execution of their clever chord progressions than the boys from Modesto, CA.
I will concede the lyrics are a little self-absorbed and in some cases non-sensical but they sure as hell beat rhyming "walk" with "talk" and slavering on about "living your life".
If you fancy hearing what the Alt. Country boys would sound like if they all woke up drunk in the early seventies then buy this album now, you will not be disappointed.
The bottom line is these guys really "rock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TSM, 10 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
I got this album after hearing "Sad and Lonely" on Xfm. I loved the single but the album is incredible- nine epic waves of pure pshycadelica rock washing through you.
The songs range from spectacular to achingly lovely.
The vocals are beautiful when the singer drifts to the high notes in the choruses, the lyrics are intracately crafted and everything is driven by unstoppable drums.
The music demands to be listened to- some of the finest moments come when your deep into the longest tracks.
There's no point trying to keep them secret, these guys are going to be huge. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Machines Deliver, 16 Jun 2004
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
I was impressed by The Secret Machines mini-lp September 00 last year which showed promise and great inventiveness so when I saw that you could download their debut full length album from their website a couple of months ago I jumped at the chance. What a great decision that was, I honestly haven't stopped listening to it since. Their influences are pretty clear NEU!/Krautrock rhythms mixed with a My Bloody Valentine sonic attitude on an often epic scale. The progressive leap from the last record is impressive and I would strongly recommend getting this before everyone else catches on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal recording from an amazing band, 11 Jan 2005
By 
C. P. Yendle "yenz" (Deepest darkest Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
My first ever review for Amazon....this album is that good.
A shot-gun critique of the best album of last year by a mile.
Muse meet Mecury Rev and give birth to a mutant punk floyd.
A 'Dark Side Of The Moon' for the 21st century.
Pink Floyds classic, Joy Divisions 'Unknown Pleasures' and 'Now Here Is Nowhere' three seminal albums that you can play anytime, day or night and lose yourself in the music. Otherworldly vocals over booming bass, delicate piano riffs and drums that roll like thunder.
To be played loud or not at all.
This album will sound as fresh in thirty years as the very first time you heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret? Not for much longer, 4 Dec 2004
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
Amazing. When I first bought this album, I would have given it about 3 or 4 stars. Yet I found it really grew on me, and I was singing some of the songs without even realising it. It is an album that on first listen is good (but doesn't stand out), but about third or fourth listen in you should love it, as I do.
'First Wave Intact' is a nine minute space rock (almost) singalong epic.
'Sad and Lonely' combines good singing with great tunes, and results in a brilliant song.
'Leaves are gone' is probably the worst on the album (still great though). It works best if you listen to the album as a whole.
'Nowhere again' is driven by a fantastic tune and juxtaposes well with the chilled 'leaves are gone'.
'Road leads where it's lead' has a great chorus and highlights how great the secret machines actually are.
'Pharaoh's Daughter' is excellent Pink floyd style space rock.
'You are Chains' is piano driven, and slowly builds until it becomes something amazing.
'Light's On' is the most commercial song on the album, yet still bears the distinct mark of the secret machines, and as a result is beyond excellent.
'Now here is Nowhere' can be summed up in two words: Epic, fantastic.
In other words, buy this album. It is impossible to pick highlights from it, as all the songs are just so good. Support the secret machines. Buy this fantastic record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Debut, 10 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
Secret Machines are an American band who have produced a debut album with a distinctly European feel. Compared to artists as diverse as Flaming Lips and Pink Floyd, there is little on this album that is particularly novel, but nevertheless they have produced something very interesting indeed.
The album kicks off with 'First Wave Intact', a song that is reminiscent of Radiohead's 'Air Bag'. Driven by Josh Garza's relentless percussion, this is a fine, epic opener, ending with a sonic blitzkrieg (why is it that trios seem to make more noise than bands with more members?). It pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the album, although there are a few slower tracks to allow pause for breath. Closing with the title track, the album finishes as it began, although the intro to this track features multi-layered vocals before the massive crescendo pf the finale.
Overall, this may well prove to be one of my favourite albums of this year. I look forward to more Secret Machine albums with relish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the american spiritualized?, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Psychedelic Spaceman (Wigton, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
this is the most beautiful and acomplished album i have heard since the likes of spiritualized's "ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space" and massive attacks "mezzanine", and it stands up to both.
taking influence from led zeppelin, pink floyd, whilst sounding uniquely american in the vein of the flaming lips this album draws in a huge range of proper rock and prog music and uses electronics perfectly to suit it.
highlights for me would be the opener "first wave intact". john bonham style drumming, spaced out synth lines and a gripping spiritualized meets six by seven finale make this an epic track. however, it is possibly beaten by the beautiful "the road leads where it's led (zeppelin reference?)" wherein mystical vocals are matched with beautiful melodies yet a rocking driving rhythm, the best song i have heard in ages.
yet to draw from singular tracks might be wrong as the album, like orbital's "insides", floyds "dark side" and spiritualized's "ladies and gents", is a masterpiece as a whole and demands to be listenned to in its entirety... over and over again... the 21st century ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 9 Aug 2004
By 
G. J. Ridler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
This CD is a masterpiece of progressive music, with well constructed songs and superb musicianship. At times it sounds like a modern Led Zeppelin, at others almost Pink Floyd-esqe. There is not a bad track on the recording, and I would highly recommend it if you like real music played by real musicians. Turn off the drum machines and listen to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of old blended with the new, 31 Dec 2004
This review is from: Now Here Is Nowhere (Audio CD)
This record never seems to end. That is its beauty. You listen to it several times and it will stick in your head, but will never annoy you.
Each song blends into the next, so that these aren't so much songs as one big whole that is edited.
Quite simply the best use of electronic music with rock influenced guitar you will hear this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now Here Is Nowhere
Now Here Is Nowhere by Secret Machines (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews