Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST A REBUKE TO THE LIES OF BLING
I have bought this album 5 times ... why ?? becuase everytime a friend hears it they just have to have it..... it is that good !!
Ive been waiting for a hip-hop / rap album to denounce the culture of bling and falsehood of council estate glamour for years and here it is. Skinnyman has delivered a true representation of what urban life is like and it aint MTV showered...
Published on 22 Mar. 2005 by r g lane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
When he's eloquent he's great, I loved only a few of the songs could have been a classic....
Published 4 months ago by eloquent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST A REBUKE TO THE LIES OF BLING, 22 Mar. 2005
By 
r g lane (Stonebridge Park) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
I have bought this album 5 times ... why ?? becuase everytime a friend hears it they just have to have it..... it is that good !!
Ive been waiting for a hip-hop / rap album to denounce the culture of bling and falsehood of council estate glamour for years and here it is. Skinnyman has delivered a true representation of what urban life is like and it aint MTV showered in Cristal. It is juggling to make ends meet, dodging violence and waking up everyday to face the limited horizon of job prospects the youth can aspire to. Me and my pals are admittedly old heds now 30+ but were bought up on the music of EPMD, Gang Star, Kool G Rock, London Posse, Demon Boyz etc .. they spoke about real life issues and not the sugar coated parody that represents Hip Hop now. We are qualified to comment on this and trust me this album has it all killer tunes with a message. I aint stopped playing it in 3 months, respect Skinnyman I hope you go far you deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check it out, 25 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
I listened to this album for the first time today n it totally blew me away, i know its a cliche but it really is a great album, i'd never heard anything of Skinnyman before and i wouldn't describe myself as a huge hip hop/rap fan but if your into UK hip hop or just good music check this out. Dizzee Rascal fans will probably appreciate this but it works on a more accessible level than Dizzee's Boy in Da Corner, Skinnymans rap is incredible....seriously listen to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best rap records of all time, 18 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
This is just a great album. All the songs are proper songs - top quality, no glib filler bullshit riding on the back of samples. Skinnyman's norflandan rapping style and flow is distinctive and original and his lyrics are ingenious and witty - the guy's a star. Compare it with some of the so-called classics in this genre - Illmatic, Ready to Die, 36 Chambers, The Infamous, etc - and it doesn't come up short. Brilliant use of Tim Roth/Made in Britain to link the tracks as well. You've got to be bored with the tired old tropes (bling, hoes, gats, Oprah-esque African-American affirmation, plagiarised samples masking creativity deficits) of US rap. Skinny is 100% real. Every now and then you stumble across something special; this is the best rap album I've ever heard and one of the best recent albums in any genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Council Estate of BUY THIS NOW!, 4 Aug. 2006
By 
Andy Raab (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
This album.... Brilliant.... Must buy.... Need great tunes.... Need lyrical brilliance.... You get the point.

Don't let the Streets connection fool you. This is British HipHop, not PopHop.

This album will sit perfectly alongside Jehst, Braintax and many others. You can buy this with expectations, you won't be disappointed.

Lyrically he tackles subject matter that anyone living in the UK can understand but are afraid of, and people outside can certainly get a picture. With clips (maybe dare i say too many) from the excellent Made In Britain with Tim Roth, there is definately a strong message here. But, strip out the lyrical meaning, and this album still rocks. Truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mud Fam's time is coming!!!!, 17 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
Got Skinnyman's new album last week and what can I say, it blew me away! Every track is a winner, cannot recommend it highly enough!!!
If you are sick of BLING! Sick of New York Gangsta's, sick of rappers with nothing to say then this album is for you. Things have been a bit tired on the hip hop scene recently but Skinnyman's come up with something new and fresh and taken it back to the streets!!!
The lyrics arn't all about what car he's driving or how much platinum he's got round his neck, they're about real life and what's happening in his manor ... Finsbury Park. It's about life in the UK today in the council estates. But it's also about hope, it's also about uplifting beats and about slick production and tight lyrics!!
Skinnyman has brought it ... and he's brought it LARGE! Finally a UK rapper we can be TRULY proud of. He can hold his own among the best of them.
This album is outstanding and I hope it gets the recognition it deserves. It has been a long time coming but it's DEFINITELY worth the wait!
Stand out tracks for me are: "I'll be Surprised", "No Big Ting", "Put in the work", "That's what I'm Gonna Do", "Council Estate of Mind" ... Actually, what am I talking about every track is BANGING!!
This is music about REAL life for a majority of people in inner cities; telling about how it really is coming up in the streets and not dressing it up. BUY IT and appreciate true british talent.
Mecury Music award .... get Skinny's name down now!
BIG UP SKINNY!!! NUFF LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS ALBUM!, 13 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
I am so impressed with Skinnyman's album!!! I first saw him on a program on BBC3 called "Towerblock Dreams" ages ago and I was really, really impressed with his rapping then. I am so glad that he has finally got a deal.
And what a debut album it is!!! The production is excellent, the tracks are all winners with some wicked samples and Skinnyman proves that he is a force to be reckoned with! True talent. His flows are TIGHT, TIGHT, TIGHT!!!
Normally some British rappers just don't seem to work as they don't keep it real or seem to have anything sensible to rap about but Skinnyman blows that out of the water .. he has something to say and it really works!
Buy this album and support real British talent! Let's show those US rappers that we can do it too and BETTER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Expert But Cant Recommend Enough, 15 Oct. 2006
By 
D. Holmes "dinoh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
Was introduced to this. Never heard of him. Absolutely love it. Not as heavy as many would have you believe so well worth a go for those who would like to hear some great beats with some rap actually relelvant to their lives. Still not sure of the film/tv sample running through the whole album but gels it all together to make it amazingly relevant to the title. Repeated listens and it just gets better. Will go down as a proper classic in years to come. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov. 2006
By 
D. Terrett "Lux" (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
I like my UK Hip Hop, and this album is definately my favourite UK rap album. Skinnyman has got a wicked way with words, dancing all over the top class beats. From "F*** the Hook" to "Council Estate of Mind" there isn't a song that dissapoints, with Skinnyman juxtaposing intelligent, thought-provoking observations with straight up street rap. The only downer is when the samples (which add an interesting narrative element) drag on for 30 seconds or more after some of the songs. On an ipod on shuffle that really does your head in! Listening on the CD though, in one go, and it fits beautifully. Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skinnyman finally delivers..., 11 July 2004
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
Having just heard the album in advance to its release, I can't definitely tell you that Skinnyman/Mud Fam fans will NOT be disappointed in the slightest. The album moves from up-tempo bangers (F**k The Hook) to more mellow thoughtful tracks (Hayden) but never lacks in quality. The whole of the album is performed by Skinny himslef, with no guest appearances from affiliated Mud Fam crew members, but the intense lyrics never fail to hold the listeners attention and hence he is able to pull his weight more than succesfully throughout the full 14 tracks included. After years in and out of prison which subsequently had knock-on effects to recording new material, Skinnyman's full-length solo debut album is well worth the wait. Don't delay, pick this one up cos it is pure fire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skinnyman, 21 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Council Estate Of Mind (Audio CD)
I had a couple of tracks on mixtapes made by my teenage sons -loved them and wanted more...! This is a genius disc; intelligently observed and amazing beats and bars. I've had this on a loop in my car for a ages and never tire of it.I love "who needs action, not words" but this knocks spots off it.I particularly love it as it is so relevant to my job and personal circumstances. C'mon Skinnyman, make more. PLEASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Council Estate Of Mind
Council Estate Of Mind by Skinnyman (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews