Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighin' The Power
Public Enemy were the most revolutionary hip hop band ever. They were also the most rock'n'roll one.
The lyrics are astounding - intelligent, confrontational, impassioned, telling it like it is. There's rarely been such a coherent and heartfelt railing against the way things are, against poverty, against racism, against injustice. In Chuck D, Public Enemy had a...
Published on 11 Aug 2005 by R. B. Rose

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fight the DRM!
A brief word of caution. I purchased this CD and was rather disappointed when I put it into my laptop and was unable to rip the tracks to put on my MP3 player.

Ironically for a band that made their name with tracks like "Fight the power" they appear to have endorsed a paranoid capitalist ideal of intellectual property protection that basically means I can't...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Charlie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighin' The Power, 11 Aug 2005
By 
R. B. Rose "roseyrepeat" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Public Enemy were the most revolutionary hip hop band ever. They were also the most rock'n'roll one.
The lyrics are astounding - intelligent, confrontational, impassioned, telling it like it is. There's rarely been such a coherent and heartfelt railing against the way things are, against poverty, against racism, against injustice. In Chuck D, Public Enemy had a writer of outstanding moral and intellectual quality.
But the music is also ground breaking, crammed with unexpected timbres, textures, samples and both melodic and lyrical catch phrases These were welded together by the aggressive production techniques of The Bomb Squad - the more you listen, the more you discover. And this all serves to complement the message, delivered in the unique rich rap of Chuck D and his foil, Flavor Flav with his poppier nagging hooks. Together these elements made a sound that would inspire a generation, and continues to inspire today, showing that 'black music' could move a white rock audience and that art can indeed influence the real world. The sleeve notes by Harry Allen talk of how many people's lives were changed forever by this band, both in terms of how they see the world and what they do in it.
And then there's the musical influence. Without Public Enemy, where would Eminem, 2Pac, Busta Rhymes, 50 Cent, Puff Daddy, The Chemical Brothers or indeed Manic Street Prachers be?
But despite their influence over the past decade, the tracks on this album still sound unlike anything else around. I defy you to listen to 'Rebel Without A Pause', 'Don't Believe The Hype', 'Fight The Power', or 'Shut It Down' without being overawed by its power, engaged by its beat and enraged by the injustice it talks of.
This is a great tribute to a truly great band. Buy it now, 8.99 for 18 statute toppling tracks! An even better tribute would be, of course, to continue to fight the power yourself and so help end the corruption and injustices Chuck D and the boys railed and rapped against with unique intelligence, eloquence and power.
Rosey, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still fighting the power. We need them more than ever, 20 Aug 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you don't own any Public Enemy albums then shame on you. ...Putting my petty predilections aside if you don't own any Public Enemy albums and you want a good representation of what they were about then this is an excellent place to start. I always say this when reviewing compilations but it's true so I'll say it again. You can argue about the track selection till the Police respond to a burglary call. It's all purely subjective of course. For instance why no "Shut Em Down" or "Night of the Living Bassheads"? , buts that just my opinion so overall I'd say a pretty good job has been done of selecting a salient representation of their body of work. That said I'd prefer a more ambitious project stretching to a double album so to be sure it captures all the highlights from their incredible body of work though there are 18 tracks here so at this price it does serve as good value.
Chuck D is blessed with a voice that booms like a thunderclap using a loudhailer. Never bettered as a rapper, he exerts an authority and simmering anger with an edge of righteous zeal and magnetism that places him on a very high pedestal with other great front men. (Plant, Lydon, Strummer, Mercury, Eitzel Coughlan spring to the front of my mind)Except of course he wasn't the only front man in Public Enemy as Flavour Flav , despite his rather more frivolous persona proves he can live with the mighty Chuck D on tracks like the brilliant "911 Is A Joke". On their first four albums they harnessed their fury at social and political injustice to such an extent they were far more powerful than many a punk or speed metal band. Plus they had an articulacy that demanded attention. Occasionally their affiliation to the Nation of Islam would lead to some less than perspicacious outbursts but when you're driven by the kind of fury that drove this band on then it's understandable.
The music incorporates, and I use that word advisably as they never rely on someone else's music to dominate a song, samples to brilliant effect. Horns swirls like stainless steel dragon flies, colossal beats pound like truncheons in The Land of the Giants. Shrapnel like shards of white hot guitars scythe around break beats that detonate like explosions in a quarry. More than many more acclaimed bands Public Enemy knew how to use the sonic potential of music to make their point. Which of course when talking about oppression, social injustice and racism was invariably a point worth making. These things haven't gone away. This is a timely release as maybe we need bands like Public Enemy now more than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fight the DRM!, 13 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A brief word of caution. I purchased this CD and was rather disappointed when I put it into my laptop and was unable to rip the tracks to put on my MP3 player.

Ironically for a band that made their name with tracks like "Fight the power" they appear to have endorsed a paranoid capitalist ideal of intellectual property protection that basically means I can't listen to their music the way I'd like to.

Wish I'd just downloaded it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It would not play. I tried it in two ..., 15 July 2014
By 
R. Ramsay (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It would not play. I tried it in two different computers and neither of them would even acknowledge there was a disc in the drive. DRM meant that it was not fit for purpose so I sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic selection!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Fantastic selection of songs to take you back and ready for the gig in a couple of weeks time! Fight the Power!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars definitive compilation, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I waited decades until a good PE best of would come out and this is terrifying, all the hits and engaged songs that built a whole generation of protesters, I indicate this to activists and rap/hip hop lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all public enemy fans should have, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
this is a collection of there tracks from a number of there albums it includes the smash 911 and don't believe the hype that track put the USA government to shame for saying public enemy was racist when that was far from the truth they speak for all races
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars flava, 21 Jan 2014
By 
mreee (manchester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good album takes me back when I was def remember them playin at the international in longsight manny they are dope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Power To The People, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Wayne Marriott (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Loved these when i was a bit younger and still like them now. Good album, it takes me back! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Booyah, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People And The Beats: Public Enemy's Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Got to get this album if you like rap, simply epic 80s class plus you'll see what every 90s artists sampled a billion times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews