Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic pop
During his 1970s/80s prime Billy Ocean released a hatful of classic pop tunes. In fact this album has a embarrassment of riches when it comes to quality pop music. All the great party hits are here, such as "When the going gets tough" and "Get outta my dreams". They're sure to fill up the dance floor when they come on (in the good clubs anyway!). There are also more...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Richteabiscuit

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars again bought for my wife i cant stand the bloke ...
again bought for my wife i cant stand the bloke but she likes him there were 2 or 3 yhat i recognised but never heard the others and they were crap
Published 1 month ago by mark smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic pop, 1 May 2006
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
During his 1970s/80s prime Billy Ocean released a hatful of classic pop tunes. In fact this album has a embarrassment of riches when it comes to quality pop music. All the great party hits are here, such as "When the going gets tough" and "Get outta my dreams". They're sure to fill up the dance floor when they come on (in the good clubs anyway!). There are also more soulful songs with the likes of American #1 "There'll be sad songs..". It also provides a good overview of his career including a live performance and some of his largely overlooked early 1990s work.

On the negative side there are some good songs missing- "Stop me", "License to Chill", "Rose" and "Calypso crazy". I also think its strange for the cover of "Long and winding road" to yet again make a appearance on a collection of Billy Ocean's work.

Despite the negative points what is left is great fun to listen to. If you like your 1980s pop you can't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer magic, 23 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this c.d as I have always loved Billy Ocean, and I wasnt disappointed with it,this is Billy at his brilliant best. So many of his hits and well-known songs crammed onto this c.d,my personal favourites are "suddenly" and "red light spells danger". For anybody whos a fan of Billy.or for anyone who just has a vague interest in his music,this is the c.d to own. So many foot-tapping songs mixed with beautifully sung ballads, I just love this c.d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must have!, 8 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a must for all Billy Ocean fans! For those that don't know these songs there is a song for every mood, starting with the Classic that was in the film The Jewel Of The Nile [1985] staring Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner. It has most of his best work. This collection is excellent for playing in the car when on a long drive or around the house. It really gets you going and has songs to just to chill to. This is one of my personal favourites of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Ocean at his best, 17 April 2009
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Well, for oldies like me or for a new generation that likes cool music, Billy Ocean is one of your choices. I guess I have memories associated to his music so that I enjoy so much, but even for novices it is cool, well tuned music. His voice is attractive, and this CD encompasses most of his hits then you have a good selection. You can dance by yourself in your living room, how cool is that? A must item for Billy Ocean's fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OCEANS' MOTIONS, 24 July 2007
By 
Gerald Reek "GOLDEN OLDIE" (STOCKPORT, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
An excellent purchase.

All the Billy Ocean tracks you really need (some other "best of" or "collections" don't feature ALL the essential hits, but this one does).

Great to realise how many hits and brill tunes Billy Ocean released. As he is soon to tour again, I fully expect this CD to be re-released at a more expensive price, so get in there soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous album, 25 May 2009
By 
Mrs. Lynne Park (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
To my mind Billy Ocean is a national treasure - great performer - nice guy. Fabulous collection which does not disappoint. Highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great pop music,its that simple!!, 3 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
just returned from seeing billy at the 80s rewind festival at scone palace perthshire,(the guy sounds better than ever!!),have most of his stuff on lp,so bought this cd mainly to play in the car,super bargain,great music,youll play it again and again!!,buy without hesitation!!,10/10!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 July 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a collection of some of the finest songs ever. I bought this after seeing him live at a festival. I didn't realise how many awesome songs this man has given us! A must for every music lovers collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BILLY OCEAN - THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION, 6 July 2010
By 
Mrs. Helen Fox "HELENOFTROY" (REDDITCH, WORCS.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a good cd by an old favourite and was reasonably priced. The seller shipped it quickly and I was very pleased with the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Billy Ocean (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews