Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 8 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
I had this album on tape for years, always played it in the car on a long journey. Ofcourse the CD sounds infinitley better and is well worth the price of admission. Some reviewer described this as a California sounding, which is true, but like no other I can think of!
Well produced by Graham Nash this album rambles from start to finish with remarkable aplomb and grace. Don't know what he's singing about though, can't find the lyrics anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ALBUM!, 27 Jun 2004
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
Seed of memory is probably terry's finest work. After the 'blue-eyed-soul' years of the sixties which found terry caught up in contracts with mickie most, being asked by jimmy page to join a new band-'Led Zeppelin', playing opening sets at rolling stones gigs and having record companies fail to promote him to a public ready for his talent, terry relocated to America.
Here he worked with an amazing bad and produced 'River' a classic album. He the took a few years for his next album, working with his old friend Graham Nash (Crosby, Stills & Nash) who he had known from his "Hollies' days.
The album ranges from country tinged acoustic grooves to funky bitting riff driven tracks on side two (Vynal!), all carried by terry's soaring soulful vocals. Why this man is not a household name will never be understood by anyone lucky enough to hear him.Buy it and join those lucky few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRY REID - LIVING LEGEND!, 26 Jun 2004
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
Seed of memory is quite possibly terry's best work. After breaking free of his micky most contract and seeking to find a wider audience, terry re-located to America. Having always been sporadic in his output, this album finds him on great form. Teaming up with Graham Nash (Crosby, Stills & Nash) having been a friend from his 'Hollies' days, the production, mood and writing are amazing. Side one of the (Vynal) is a mellow acoustic country, folk, rock affair. The soaring rock vocals and mellow laid back grooves only serve to highlight the burning question anyone who has ever heard him sing - why didn't this man become the world famous?!
An all round great album - and a good starting point for people to get into this man's music. (Earlier career - from a 'Blue-Eyed-Soul' / Steve Marriott style) to the (70's rock Rod Stewart/ Paul Rodgers rock singer days) - buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated artist in rock?, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Chuck E (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
Terry Reid certainly has a claim to this title. Maybe he was unlucky - turning down the offer of joining The New Yardbirds and putting a word in for Robert Plant may have been a bad career move, but it also sums up his generosity of spirit - something that shines through when you see him live (and if you get the chance grab it because he's singing better than ever). This is Terry's finest hour - a clutch of great songs, a fine band and some sympathetic production show off his talents as a songwriter and vocalist, and he stands comparison with the best of the best. The disparate styles evident on this record may be a hint as to why he hasn't had the commercial success he deserves - it's dificult to put him in a box with a label on. Yes, he's a great rock singer, but he's not going to confine himself to power ballads or metal posturing, and is just as likely to segue into an old Willie Nelson song from his encyclopaedic musical memory banks. Like Dylan, he'll then take one of his own songs and twist and bend it to see how far he can take it, accompanied by that idiosyncratic guitar style (he doesn't so much play the guitar as dance with it, challenging it to follow him).

Contrary to popular belief, he hasn't retired to California - and just to correct one comment, he isn't a reluctant performer, he just doesn't play the game by the rules. Seeing him live is to see him in his element - he is an absolute one-off genius. For a taste, check out 'Mayfly', 'Seed of Memory' or his cover of 'Whiter Shade of Pale' on YouTube, but you won't get the full picture without catching him live (roll on April 2010).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best rock singer ever ? Discuss., 1 Aug 2008
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
I got this originally on vinyl in the late 70s - i recall even then it was in a bargain bin. That's really the story of Reid's life and career - he should have been on the top shelf of rock with one of the most distinctive rock or soul voices ( think Joe Cocker with a Paul Rodgers chaser)- but also a talented guitarist and songwriter. Seed of Memory is his best record, partly due to strong production by Graham Nash (a long term friend of Reid) but mainly to those qualities mentioned above and a set of brilliant showcasing songs. It doesn't get any better than the first 4 tracks, Faith to Arise, Seed of Memory, Brave New Awakening, To Be Treated Rite - acoustic "rock" ballads with a laid back vibe and featuring instrumental wizard David Lindley on guitars and pedal steel. Reid puts every ounce of passion he has into these songs straining his lungs and the listener's heartstrings. Melodic stuff, nothing flashy, just memorable songs. The second half of the old vinyl (last 4 tracks) takes a more RnB and soulful theme and show the warmth and tenderness in Reid's vocal chords. Ooh Baby (You Make Me Feel So Young), The Frame and Fooling You are chillout numbers with sax and electric keyboard. The repetitive Way You Walk is the weakest track but still perfectly listenable. Personally still a top ten record for me 30 years on. Thank you Terry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and who's this guy, anyway??, 27 Sep 2006
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
Just kidding. Truth is, I never heard of Terry Reid since I watched the "Devil's Rejects" movie, and I listen to a hell of a lot of music, especially from that period. Nevertheless, as I was watching the movie, it just took a few notes from "To be treated rite" to make me jump to the end credits to find out who the hell the singer was.

It's unbelievable he is so little known, as this album is undoubtedly one of the finest in the seventies decade.

A big thank you to the movie director Rob Zombie for making me discover a true gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have,laid back,ageless CD that begs to be played, 29 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Seed of Memory (Audio CD)
More years ago then I care, or want, to remember I was lent a tape of this CD. For the benefit of the youngest amongst us, this was all we had for in-car entertainment. Not that you could hear anything over the noise of the engine! But I digress. The tape was 'Faith to Arise' by Terry Reid, known mainly for 'Bang Bang you're dead' and if you think that listening to this is going to be a similar experience, then think again and again! The tape wore out through sheer overplay but now I have the CD...and what a perfect album it is. The title track is pure perfection. Terry Reid's vocal power compliments the acoustic guitar of David Lindley wonderfully and sets you up for the best track on the CD which is 'Seed of Memory'.It starts quietly enough sounding like a CSN&Y classic (not suprisingly as Graham Nash produced and harmonised on most tracks) then builds in a way that carries you along until it feels like it's summer and your driving a convertible down a hot and dusty lane, shades are on and the weekend's just started. As the music plays you quickly realise that there isn't a bad track on this album but the highlights of the rest have to be 'Brave New Awakening' and 'OOH Baby' which you swear blind you've heard before but can't think where! Towards the end of this manna from heaven is 'The Frame' which is nothing to do with snooker but everything to do with R&B and foot tapping. Overall this album is as near to perfect as it's possible to get, it's timeless, ageless and possibly the best work that Terry Reid has produced. You can be sure that,whatever you're driving whilst playing this, it will feel like a convertible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry sows an immortal Seed of Memory, 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
I first started listening to Terry Reid when he was a 17 year old teenage prodigy.
Thereafter I went to see him at the Free Trade Hall in Manchester and at the Isle of White Festival. Then, as now, I was impressed by his originality, passion and unique vocal style.
This album from 1976, 'Seed Of Memory', bears the hallmark of a Graham Nash production. Soft, subtle harmonies and gentle tones are interspersed with Terry's shrill vocals and individual guitar work. The title track 'Seed Of Memory' may well be his signature tune and remains one of the most haunting and soulful songs ever written.
Even now, Terry is much in demand for live shows, where he still performs these classics such as 'Faith To Arise', 'Brave Awakening' and the awesome 'To Be Treated Rite'.
This is a classic album that deserves to be in any serious music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huntingdon's finest, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Ste Greenall "Jethro" (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
I have little more to say than I finally discovered Terry's music this year, saw him play here in Huntingdon, and realised what I have been missing for years. I urge anyone who doesn't have this album to invest in it. It is one of the best albums ever released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrymendous!!!!!!!!, 20 Aug 2007
This review is from: Seed Of Memory (Audio CD)
Cheesy cover but great album, my only beef is with the track 'way you walk' as it doesn't seem to fit with the mood of the rest of the material. Anyway Terry Reid is the cat's pyjamas. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seed Of Memory
Seed Of Memory by Terry Reid (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews