Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bert Jansch - City Hall, Glasgow 18/11/1974
Track Listing
01. Build Another Band
02. I've Got A Feeling
03. One For Jo
04. Blacksmith
05. Travellin Man
06. Lady Nothing
07. Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning
08. Angi
09. Stone Monkey
10. Dance Lady Dance
11. When I Get Home
12. In The Black-Winter
13. Running From Home*
14. Chambertin
No band,...
Published on 17 Jun 2004

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for the better songs
There are quite a few songs here that are a bit too "mainstream" for want of a better word and dont have that exciting sound that Jansch produces at his best.

Having said that, there are plenty of songs that do and the album is worth having for "The Blacksmith" and "Chambertin" alone.
Published on 19 Mar 2007 by Mr. J. P. Shields


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bert Jansch - City Hall, Glasgow 18/11/1974, 17 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The River Sessions (Audio CD)
Track Listing
01. Build Another Band
02. I've Got A Feeling
03. One For Jo
04. Blacksmith
05. Travellin Man
06. Lady Nothing
07. Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning
08. Angi
09. Stone Monkey
10. Dance Lady Dance
11. When I Get Home
12. In The Black-Winter
13. Running From Home*
14. Chambertin
No band, no retakes, no overproduction, no safteynet - Just Bert, his guitar and his songs.
For those of us that saw Bert live in the seventies, this will bring back memories... For those who didn't, this is what you missed!
A very intimate performance from one of the UK's greatest acoustic guitarists. A bonus for fans who like me have 'lost' the LA Turnaround album is that most of the tracks are here, arranged/rearranged for solo guitar.
*Note: Track 13 is really 'Key To The HighWay' and not Bert's own 'Running from Home'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bert never ceases to amaze, 21 Jun 2004
By 
N Grimshaw (Preston, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The River Sessions (Audio CD)
I've been an avid fan of Bert for years and possess most of his albums on CD. I'd begun to think I'd heard it all - ha! - along comes this amazing live session which completely blew me away. This is a master musician at the very top of his form - his guitar playing is awesome (he actually plays Chambertin LIVE!), his vocals are crisp and clear (not always a Bert trait) and the recording quality is excellent. This CD is a MUST HAVE. Only one regret: that I wasn't there to see him perform!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for the better songs, 19 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Sessions (Audio CD)
There are quite a few songs here that are a bit too "mainstream" for want of a better word and dont have that exciting sound that Jansch produces at his best.

Having said that, there are plenty of songs that do and the album is worth having for "The Blacksmith" and "Chambertin" alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, I love it., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Sessions (Audio CD)
A brilliant performance from the mid 70's which catches Bert Jansch near the peak of his form. Good quality 'live' recordings of him at this time are quite rare so this is well worth having. It features great playing, great singing and great songs. The highlights for me are 'The Blacksmith' plus a heartwarming rendition of the very seasonal 'In the Bleak Midwinter'. This is a superb collection of music from beginning to end and to cap it all Bert encores with the extremely challenging instrumental 'Chambertin'. Thoroughly recommended and essential listening, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Sessions (Audio CD)
I was at the concert where this was recorded and remembered it as a great performance, so when I saw this album I ordered it without hesitation. Two days later it arrived and I was gripped by a sudden fear that perhaps it wasn't the wonderful evening whose memory I'd cherished for all these years. I really had to force myself to play it.

As my title says, there was no cause for concern. The performance is great. Both Bert's guitar-playing and his singing are top-notch and the sound quality is superb.

This was the tour to promote "L.A. Turnaround" and the bulk of the material is from that album, including a bravura performance of "Chambertin".

If you're a fan you really should have this in your collection. If you're new to Bert Jansch's music you could do a lot worse than starting with this live set from a sadly missed musician at the height of his power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magic, 20 May 2005
This review is from: The River Sessions (Audio CD)
This cd has amazing tracks that, despite having bought many cds in the last few years I have never heard before, like "Chambertin", incredible instrumental, and "The Blacksmith", which is one of the most incredible things I've ever heard him do! I've even spent a whole two days learning how to play it! Unfortunately there are a few pretty crap tunes on here, songs that sound more like unremarkable folkies like Ralph McTell than the genius Jansch. Still, its worth getting, especially at this price. Note:"Running From Home" isn't actually on there, its "Key to the Highway", great job by the designers of the cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River Sessions
The River Sessions by Bert Jansch (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews