Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last goodbye (or not)
Last may, Sinéad O'Connor announced that she retired from music business with a DVD and some collaborations. But it was not completely true. The last present that the Dubliner singer has offered to her audience is called "She Who Dwells in the Secret Place of the Most High Shall Abide Under the Shadow of the Almighty" and it is a double CD. One disc includes...
Published on 20 Aug 2003 by -art

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shy and Retiring ?
The news that Sinead was retiring can have suprised few of us , she has always been on the edge of the public / private worlds
she lives in . To follow with an immediate new album similarly
is no shock , perhaps what is, is the depth and range of her out-take catalogue , you kind of knew she liked many of the covers and they would have graced her "Am I not your...
Published on 29 Sep 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last goodbye (or not), 20 Aug 2003
Last may, Sinéad O'Connor announced that she retired from music business with a DVD and some collaborations. But it was not completely true. The last present that the Dubliner singer has offered to her audience is called "She Who Dwells in the Secret Place of the Most High Shall Abide Under the Shadow of the Almighty" and it is a double CD. One disc includes covers, rare tracks, demo and new songs, and the other one, live songs.
"Ain't it a shame", by B'52; the classic Abba's song, "Chiquitita" or "Do Right Woman" by Aretha Franklin are some of the covers that the buyer of this album will appreciate. Sinéad O'Connor offers a new vision of these songs with her special and sweet voice, but also with the work of producers like Brian Eno or Adrian Sherwood.
The second disc is a review of Sinéad's career, and there are hits like Nothing compares 2 U, Thank You For Hearing Me, and also songs from her last CD, "Sean-Nos Nua". The setlist of this live CD is the same than her DVD "Goodnight, Thank You, You've Been a Lovely Audience," which was recorded in October 2002, in Dublin.
"She Who Dwells" is a gift that will show in the near future what a lot of people know now: Sinéad is a talented singer that has clearly said a lot of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shy and Retiring ?, 29 Sep 2003
By A Customer
The news that Sinead was retiring can have suprised few of us , she has always been on the edge of the public / private worlds
she lives in . To follow with an immediate new album similarly
is no shock , perhaps what is, is the depth and range of her out-take catalogue , you kind of knew she liked many of the covers and they would have graced her "Am I not your girl" , Album . I
never thought I would own an ABBA track , I now do , dam it , I
think I even hummed along. For good measure you get a live CD
of the last tour with many of the songs being stripped down to the bone and as you would expect , her voice, floats in and out
of the notes as if a free spirit . If its the end of her carear
its a nice fullstop , if not its an even better comma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leona, Mariah and Whitney - take notice!, 18 Nov 2007
Sinéad's always been a highly sought after collaborator, and why? Because she's awesome, that is why. She announced her "retirement" right before she released this double-album, but it lasted about two years, and thank Jah for that. The music world would simply feel emptier without her in it. "She Who Dwells" is as mentioned, a double-album. The first disc is a compilation of rare tracks, b-sides and other, and disc two is a live show recorded in Dublin, Ireland, in 2003, at Vicar Street.

Disc 1:

As mentioned, disc one gathers demos, b-sides and other obscure tracks, and most of them are among her best recordings, period. It is beyond me why none of these appeared on any of her studio albums, as they are every bit as stunning as anything that appears on those. She tackles everything from straight pop "Chiquitita", to pure soul "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man", to country "Dense Water, Deeper Down", to rock "Ain't It a Shame", and there is not a bad apple in the lot. Her ability to completely emerge herself in whatever genre she is singing is uncanny. She is as much at home singing reggae (A Hundred Thousand Angels) as she is singing Traditional tunes (Song of Jerusalem), it is almost scary how flexible she is.

Disc 2:

The second disc is the CD version of the DVD-released show "Goodnight, thank you. You've Been a Lovely Audience", and it displays her amazing ability as a live performer. She picked out a few Traditional tracks from her then newest release "Sean Nos-Nua" and a couple of her oldies. All of the tracks blend perfectly together, and the entire set is very cohesive. But, the best thing about this show is of course that voice of hers. She's lost NONE of her power, but she does sing the songs differently. Her voice is still a powerful tool, but she seems a lot more shy these days. She doesn't utilize her voice to its full extend as she did on her tours back in the early nineties, only on "Fire on Babylon" do we hear a little something of her old self. The show, however, is stunning, and it ends with the classic "The Last Day of Our Acquaintance", as it should.

Highlights, disc 1: "My Love I Bring", "Chiquitita", "It's All Good" and "Dense Water, Deeper Down".

Highlights, disc 2: "Fire on Babylon", "Molly Malone", "The Moorlough Shore" and "The Last Day of Our Acquaintance".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXcellent collection, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Stefano Sacchi "STEFANO" (ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good item arrived in time!
This is a cd not very known but absolutely unique for this singer.
Sinead O'connor discography should b e reconsidered and this one is one of her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars she who dwells, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: She Who Dwells (Audio CD)
i liked this cd, however I am a fan of Sinead O'Connor and like to listen to people who can appeal to my emotions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Who Dwells
She Who Dwells by Sinead O'Connor (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews