Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rock Says Watch This
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnsons first major lead in an action film. He plays Beck, who is being forced into retrieving the bad guys son as a payback of getting involved with the wrong people. That is played by Seann William Scott (Stifler!) and he backs up the Rocks acting, which is actually very good.

The overall feel of the film is an action film set in tribal...
Published on 15 April 2007 by Malcolm Clarke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A generic action film
THE RUNDOWN stars ex-wrestler and NFL wannabe Dwayne Johnson (aka The Rock) in a mishmash of just about every sort of action flick you've ever seen. It incorporates elements reminiscent (to me at least) of the Matrix, Indiana Jones, Jackie Chan, Romancing the Stone, Lethal Weapon, the Terminator, and Mad Max. Ok, ok - maybe I'm exaggerating. But you get my drift...
Published on 7 Jan 2006 by Joseph Haschka


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A generic action film, 7 Jan 2006
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
THE RUNDOWN stars ex-wrestler and NFL wannabe Dwayne Johnson (aka The Rock) in a mishmash of just about every sort of action flick you've ever seen. It incorporates elements reminiscent (to me at least) of the Matrix, Indiana Jones, Jackie Chan, Romancing the Stone, Lethal Weapon, the Terminator, and Mad Max. Ok, ok - maybe I'm exaggerating. But you get my drift?
John is Beck, a "retrieval specialist", sent by his boss to the Brazilian Amazon jungle to recover his errant son, Travis (Seann William Scott). Trouble is, Travis doesn't want to leave - he's too busy tracking down an artifact of native treasure, a solid gold statue hidden in the jungle. This trinket thrusts Beck and Travis between battling armed nationalists, led by bar-owner Mariana (Rosario Dawson), and the stereotypic Evil White Man, Hatcher (Christopher Walken), whose empire is an enormous open-pit gold mining operation worked by downtrodden locals kept in line by whip-wielding thugs.
To my mind, THE RUNDOWN is saved by the likeable Beck and a strong performance by Walken. Otherwise, it's just a series of confrontations, mostly kung-fu action sequences, with a gun battle and a vehicle chase thrown in for variety. Mariana simply serves as eye-candy.
Is The Rock destined to be the next generation Tough Guy action hero? Perhaps. In a blink-of-an-eye cameo at the beginning of the film, Arnold Schwarzenegger passes Beck on the way out of a nightclub and says" Have fun!' Arnie is off to be Governor of California, leaving the heavy lifting to his successor.
This isn't a bad movie, and is an entertaining introduction to The Rock as a leading man of the genre. I just hope the plots of his future releases are a little more focused and, um (dare I say), intelligent. Also, THE RUNDOWN ends with the impression that Beck and Travis will continue on as a team. Oh, I hope not since the latter is one of the more clownish and irritating characters I've seen on the Big Screen lately. There's not the chemistry between the two as between Gibson and Glover (of the LETHAL WEAPON series), or Wilson and Chan (of the SHANGHAI series), or Smith and Jones (of the MEN IN BLACK series).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rock Says Watch This, 15 April 2007
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Dwayne "The Rock" Johnsons first major lead in an action film. He plays Beck, who is being forced into retrieving the bad guys son as a payback of getting involved with the wrong people. That is played by Seann William Scott (Stifler!) and he backs up the Rocks acting, which is actually very good.

The overall feel of the film is an action film set in tribal jungle territory, a mix of the power of the establishment vs the power of traditional tribal fighting. The fighting scenes are excellent, with a combination of martial arts and Rocks wrestling style. Dwayne is incredibly athletic for a big guy and this works well in the fight sequences.

The film has excellent comedy in it too, when Scott and Rock eat the fruit and the monkeys come along that is brilliantly funny, look out for that scene.

I bought this as soon as it went to DVD because it has good scenery, and captures the mentality and values of the jungle well throughout the plot. Somewhat Rambo-like in it's approach, but very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Head cracking with the Rock and it looks pretty in the jungle too., 5 Feb 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Welcome To The Jungle (AKA: The Rundown) is directed by Peter Berg and stars Dwayne Johnson and Seann William Scott, Christopher Walken and Rosario Dawson. The plot sees Johnson as Bounty Hunter, Beck, who heads to Brazil to retrieve his employer's renegade son (Scott) but finds more than he bargained for in the shape of jungle tyrant Cornelius Hatcher (Walken).

Fun, exciting, if utterly disposable action fodder that features former pro wrestling champ Dwayne " The Rock" Johnson in one of the first film's attempting to break him into Hollywood. This film opens with a cracking opening sequence as Johnson lays waste to a whole offensive line, and from there on the pace keeps on the good side of brisk. Once Big Beck gets to Brazil, and he's coupled with the intentionally annoying Scott, things mellow a touch but the comedy is bright and both actors work up good chemistry. There's a nice cameo from one Arnold guy who passes the torch on to Johnson, and Walken is enjoying playing up to his bonkers stereotypes.

In spite of the film not making back its budget, the film has received generally favourable reviews from critics and fans alike. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action flick - another "Rock-solid" performance, 25 Aug 2004
By 
Dan (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Any "one man" action movie these days has a tough job to do. The formula has been stretched out over many years any it's hard to find a fresh approach to the genre. Enter "The Rock" - tough guy of the 21st Century - now in his second major movie outing (not couting his cameo in Mummy Returns). In many ways, Rock has started out in much the same was as Schwarzenegger did, equalling Arnie's on-screen presence and infinitely better at delivering lines (although to Arnie's credit his robotic delivery became his trademark and he'd be nowhere without it). The Rocks impressive mobility and athleticism gives him more scope than the "brainless muscleman shooting" image that dominated the genre in the 80's and 90's.
Welcome To The Jungle is a fun "brain-off" movie that delivers action, adventure, one-liners and some impressive stunts. Adding the anti-gun storyline was a smart move as it benefitted the fight scenes as well as hyped up the inevitable showdown at the end. At 1hr 40mins this movie could have done with an extra 15mins or so to give some of the characters a fraction more depth. Christopher Walken takes on the "bad guy" role, although sadly isn't given much time to make the audience really dislike him. His exit from the movie is a classic overacted-badguy-death-sequence and Walken performed it perfectly. Seann William Scott played well against the Rock although I was left wondering whether it would have worked better with a "tougher" comedy actor instead (still can't watch him seriously after all the Pie/Dude movies). With a good supporting cast (although exactly WHICH accent was the pilot trying to do?) the film deserves all the credit it has received. For the legions of "WWE" Rock fans there are a few nice touches, most of which I'll leave for them to find, except to mention that Rock manages to work a "Rock Bottom" into one of the fight sequences.
So onwards and upwards for The Rock. This movie was a smart choice for him and I'd guess most people who like this movie will go and watch him again (Walking Tall, Scorpion King). Lets hope he soon ditches the "Rock" alias and starts appearing as Dwayne Johnson so we can stop seeing Vince McMahon on the closing credits as "Executive Producer" - I doubt the guy ever appeared on set at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW INDIE MAYBE.......?, 3 Aug 2007
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
WAS SURPRISED WITH THIS FILM, WHY ANYONE REALLY DON'T LIKE IT??? YOU RENT/BUY IT FOR A ACTION ROMP & IT DELIVERS THE ARNIE HAND OVER SUMS UP THE ROCKS NEW LINE OF WORK FOR ME HE IS THE BEST ACTION MAN TO BE SEEN IN AGES & HE HAS TALENT!!!!!! IT KICKS ASS, IS FUNNY, ENTERTAINING, AND ALMOST REMINDS ME ABIT OF INDIE JONES.....ONLY BETTER (SORRY INDIE FANS) A MUST WATCH FOR ANY ROCK FAN, IF YOUR NOT YOU SOON WILL BE...... ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining movie, 16 April 2009
By 
the movie offers a nice give and take between The Rock and Sean William Scott, which results in some very funny scenes. Rosario Dawson looks great and Christopher Walken is excellent as usual.

the picture quality on bluray isn't consistent throughout the movie, but the scenes in the jungle look phenomenal

if you like these actors and their work, you'll be entertained throughout the duration of the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If You smell......., 10 Jan 2005
By 
P. E. Jones "metalpaul1000" (Woking) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
When i read about this film, i was dubious to say the least. As a wrestler i loved the rock and as an actor he is very likeable too. The film is unoriginal to say the least but it is very enjoyable! Its funny, helped by Sean William Scott. The fight scenes are as fun as they are ludicrus - which is good by the way! C Walken is as good as ever as the bad guy. Basically if you like your films fun, dumb, funny then this is for you. A top class action film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Jan Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The Rock doing what he does best - tough-guy action-comedy.

Welcome to the Jungle is perhaps a bit like a newer day Pirates of the Caribbean. But rather than give you a spoiler synopsis, I'll just tell you that if you like plenty of action, comedy, bad guys, bad-good guys, and a decent storyline - you'll love Welcome to the Jungle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and I wasnt expecting it., 5 May 2009
By 
M. Boost "Boostie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The Rock or Dwain or whatever they are selling him as has bags of charm, presence and believe it or not can act! (Okay hes not a great actor but certainly cuts the mustard). Throw in Christopher Walken as the meanie, a lot of humour, lots of impossible fist-fights and all done with a big fat smile. Great fun all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This film is king of the jungle!, 2 July 2004
By 
Kemp "N.J.Kemp" (Northampton, Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Join The Rock and Seann William Scott in this action-packed jungle comedy with superb special effects and some of the best fight scenes of this year!
Absolutely brilliant! Cool! Excellent and that's just in the first ten minutes!
Beck, played the Rock, is a trained hitman who hates doing what he does and has been offered the chance by his employer to retire after doing one last job before he can become a chef and have his own restuarant. This is where the trouble begins as Beck has been sent to the Colombian jungle to retrieve his employer's son, Travis (Seann William Scott). No problem, not until Beck founds out the village that Travis is staying as turned into a gold mine where the villagers are treated like machines and to make it worse Travis being hunted down by a gang of deadly assassins sent by the boss of the village (Christopher Walken) over a piece of treasure.
Are you with me so far? Thus pulling Beck and Travis deep into the jungle to face man-eating baboons,boobie traps and kung-fu fighting terrorists led by Rosario Dawson.
Overall, an excellant film that is bound to make anyone laugh or just keep them stuck in their seats from the intense action.
Fantastic performances all around! Call outs to the Rock and Seann William Scott who make one of the best pairs of the year with the Rock's sarcasm and Scott's humour what can stop them.
This film is king of the jungle! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome To The Jungle - Director's Cut [DVD] [2004]
4.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews