Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solgar - Vitamin C 1000mg, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Koriel Tannhauser (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'm an old school follower of Linus Pauling and I've been taking vitamin C for about 10 years now - dosage from about 5g up to 15g per day. During that time I've caught a common cold probably 2 times, but during those times I've decreased the dosage to about 0-1g per day (in both cases it was during the winter, and in both cases I did it for testing -> just to see what would happen if I suddenly stop taking it). My observations during that period of time are as follows:

Dosage:
-Because vitamin C is a water soluble vitamin (any excesses is not absorbed), it is better to take it in smaller dosages during the whole day - rather than one larger dosage in the morning/night (most of vitamin C will be excreted from your body as soon as you urinate).

-Don't just start with the large dosage -> like 5-10g per day. You won't die or anything like it, but you may have a "sudden extreme case of diarrhoea". Sounds funny I know - but in real life you wouldn't probably laugh if something like this would happen.

-Start with something like 1-2 grams, split between smaller 3-4 dosages during the whole day, and increase the dosage 1-1.5g per day (up to 10-15g if you want to).

-Do it in reverse if you want to stop taking vitamin C -> don't go from taking 10-15g per day to 0g the next day. Apparently this could slightly weaken your immune system and you will be prone to catch cold more easily.

-Never mix it with sugar! This is an important point that many people forget about. Apparently there is a receptor called the Glut-1 that activates in response to insulin to allow both glucose and vitamin C to enter the cell. However, glucose has a greater affinity for the insulin receptor. This means that the greater the content of circulating blood sugar the less vitamin C will enter the cell. So what is the point of sweetened vitamin C (like in some drinks)?

-If you also take something like collagen powder (or pills) -> always take it with vitamin C - as humans do require a good amount of vitamin C in order to build healthy tissue collagen in the body.

-If you are pregnant - I would probably not take anything more than 1g per day - but please consult your doctor about that.

Taste:
This particular brand -> not too bad, mostly because it is a capsule. I've had worse - especially when you mix it with rosehip, but you can get used to it (if you going for a high total dosage during the day buy the capsules or better yet, try the powdered version).

Toxicity:
-Never had any problem with that and for a long time I did take something like 20g per day. In this point I would refer you to Linus Pauling's books (as Linus himself took something like 12-15g every day without any side affects). Research shows that the toxic dosage (L50) for rats is about 12g per 1kg of body weight (this is equivalent to a 70 kilogram human ingesting 850 grams of vitamin C) - but the dosage for humans is unknown. The following is purely anecdotal -> bear in mind that most simians consume the vitamin C in amounts 10 to 20 times higher than that recommended by governments for humans. Linus Pauling calculated, based on the diet of primates, that the optimum daily requirement of vitamin C is around 2-3g per day (but that's pretty much the minimal dosage).

And as with any other vitamins, when in doubt - please do your own further research.

Recommended books:
-"Vitamin C, the Common Cold and the Flu" - by Linus Pauling
-"Orthomolecular Medicine for Everyone: Megavitamin Therapeutics for Families and Physicians" - by Abram Hoffer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this product after using a different brand. The previous one I found had a horrible after taste which you don't get with these. They are capsules which are absorbed into your body a lot easier than tablets as they don't contain any hard to digest ingredients like calcium carbonate. They are also great value for money, as I take 2per day. I would highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 14 July 2014
By 
PPS076 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Solgar Vitamin C 1000 100 Vegetable Capsules (Personal Care)
Reason for buying:
When I read from a number of reliable sources that Vitamin C was the most important Vitamin in your body and that it was needed in both a Normal Release' and 'Fast Release' form, I decided to carry out an extensive amount of research and implemented it into my life with immediate effect.

I decided to buy this product because I wanted a Strong, High Quality Vitamin C Product. Solgar have a very good reputation and I had success with a number of different products that I purchased from them before. This product is a 'Normal Release' Vitamin C.

Ingredients:

L-Ascorbic Acid, Vegetable Cellulose, Vegetable Magnesium Stearate.

Free Of: Gluten, Wheat, Dairy, Soy, Yeast, Sugar, Sodium, Artificial Flavour, Sweetener, Preservatives and Colour.

Amount of Vitamin C per tablet = 1,000mg

Do Oranges have more Vitamin C than this product?:
Oranges are not the 'Heavy Weight Of The Vitamin C Division'. There are a number of common foods that have more Vitamin C than Oranges:

General Fruit & Vegetables with higher Vitamin C content than Oranges (per 100g):
#1 Peppers (Yellow) = 183.5mg
#2 Kale = 120mg
#3: Kiwi = 92.7mg
#4: Broccoli = 89.2mg
#5: Strawberries = 58.8mg
(Oranges = 53.2mg)

Do you need to take Vitamin C?:
If you consume a diet high in the foods listed above and you are not suffering from stress or illness and you do not perform intense exercise then you are less likely to need Vitamin C supplements. However if you fall into any of the following categories then you are more likely to need them:

1/During Times Of Long Term Chronic Stress:
If for example you are suffering from workplace related stress, your body releases the stress hormone Cortisol which Lowers your Immunity. This provides an opportunity for Bacteria and Viruses to take Control. Vitamin C kills viruses and bacteria directly.

Amount Required = 1,000mg (Slow Release) Vitamin C X2 a Day

2/ During Times of Short Term Stress:
When you perform Intense Exercise such as Body Building or Marathon Running a considerable amount of stress is exerted on the body, especially the Immune system. This provides Bacteria and Viruses etc an opportunity to grow in large numbers. Vitamin C kills virus and bacteria directly

Amount Required = X2 1,000 Vitamin C (Normal Release) Post Exercise

3/ If you are ill (e.g Cancer, Pneumonia, Bladder infections, Flu Cold):
Vitamin C kills virus, bacteria and cancer cells directly. When you are ill, your body can use as much as 1,000mg of vitamin C every hour which means that a significant amount of Vitamin C is required.

Amount Required = X11* Vitamin C (Normal Release) per day

* = Refer to Vitamin C Tolerance Test Section Below

Vitamin C Tolerance Test:
The amount of Vitamin C tablets that you can take safely without it giving you Diarrhoea or any other illness. For me I could take X11 tablets, 1,000mg tablets split evenly throughout the day without any issues whilst 12 made me ill with Diarrhoea. Megadoses of vitamin C can also cause Nausea, Vomiting, Heartburn, Abdominal bloating and cramps, Headache, Insomnia and Kidney stones.

Results:
Since I have been taking these tablets Immediately after each gym session and on the first sign of an illness symptom such as sore throat or cold, I have not suffered from any illness. I took them during the 'Flu Season' which is October to April. You are far more likely to fall ill in that time. They have been very effective and my partner also takes them and has not been ill since being on them, despite nearly all her other work colleagues falling ill with flu in December.

Note: If you are ill and decide to tackle your cold with Vitamin C, its important to hit it with Vitamin C as early as you can. Taking it when you have already been ill for several days will have a minimal impact. Taking it very early on is likely to have more of an impact because Bacteria / Viruses numbers are much lower at that point.

Value:
This product has a price tag that would make you put it back on the shelf quicker than you picked the up. However when you consider that they are very strong (1,000mg per tablet) and that they are a High Quality Brand, they don't seem that expensive.

Note: This product releases Vitamin C at a normal speed and is ideal for use when Vitamin C is required relatively quickly such as immediately after intense exercise or if you have Cancer or Flu. However they are not ideal to take for an individual who requires a small amount of Vitamin C slowly such as an individual with Chronic Stress. I take the 'Quest Vitamin C 1000mg - 240 Tablets Slow Relesse' which are a very good quality product and I highly recommend them.

Negatives:
The only Negative that I could identify was that this is a synthetic Vitamin C. Although they are very effective at killing bacteria, viruses etc. They also kill your good bacteria which are vital to human health. It is therefore recommended that you take Probiotics whilst you are ill and when you are taking Vitamin C. If you wanted to take a natural high dosage in a supplement form they would be considerably more. They are likely to be twice the price.

Summary:

- If you consume a diet high in Vitamin C, you are not suffering from stress or illness and you do not perform intense exercise then you are less likely to need these tablets.

- If you experience any Intense Exercise or If you are ill with either a short term illness such as a cold or a more severe long term illness like Cancer then I believe that you much more likely to need this product.

- For Chronic Long Term stress this product would not be as effective as 'Quest Vitamin C 1000mg - 240 Tablets Slow Release' which are a very good quality product and I highly recommend them.

Verdict:
High Recommended

Disclaimer:
I would recommend discussing taking this with your Doctor BEFORE buying it, especially if you are unwell or are taking medication.

Feedback:
If you wish to provide feedback on this review then please follow the link below.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Brand, Good Price, 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: Solgar Vitamin C 1000 100 Vegetable Capsules (Personal Care)
Solgar is the king of Vitamins, you know you are getting the real thing and in an easily absorbed form. This product is well priced ( NEVER skimp on prices of vitamins - you get what you pay for) and I would recommend high-ish doses ( up to 10 Gm per day split into 3 or 4 )for anyone run down or who gets every cold/flu going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality and high strength without lots of chemical bulking agents, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Vitamin C 1000 100 Vegetable Capsules (Personal Care)
Good quality and high strength without lots of chemical bulking agents but it is a bit pricey considering it is just an ascorbic acid vitamin c. I prefer the Marilyn Gelnville NHP version which is much easier on the stomach as less acidic than these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only buy this Vit C as it seems to be the best one that is available on the UK market. It is very important to buy quality Vit C as most the supermarket stuff has no effect and from poor sources. Note that there are many forms of Vit C and not just Ascorbic Acid as one Health Food shop tried to tell me. I have read that chromium ascorbate is one of the best Vit C's but never tried it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vitamin C, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Diana M. Wilson (Staines, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived on time, was exactly as described, and does what it says on the label. I would happily recommend both the product and the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Potency Vit C, 22 Jan 2014
By 
L. S. Ikafa - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Vitamin C 1000 100 Vegetable Capsules (Personal Care)
Lovely product. No aspartame which is why I bought it. Good price for over 90 days supply. Recommended highly. Fantastic for preventing colds and flu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solgar vitamins are verey good for you, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solgar Vitamin C 1000 100 Vegetable Capsules (Personal Care)
i would recommend it to all my frends fast getting it thank you solgar vit is verey good for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is second bottle I think its a good make and nice that its vegetable capsule and in ..., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Solgar Vitamin C 1000 100 Vegetable Capsules (Personal Care)
This is second bottle I think its a good make and nice that its vegetable capsule and in a glass container
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews