Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A National Treasure, 21 April 2008
By 
Peter Geall (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
Blondel have rightly achieved a cult status amongst fans since they were a unique band whose strong melodic style and first rate playing created music with strong echoes of early music and yet with a newness achieved without the use of electric instruments. John Gladwins writing is first rate and Fantasia Lindum in particular sounds as good today as it ever has - as timeless as the cathedral it celebrates. These two albums along with England (which deserves a reissue) form a splendid trilogy. Other reviews on this site show the regard in which Blondel are held by fans - this is their best work and has few equals in its class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Blondel, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
I think that I saw the guys in 1973 at Trent Poly. (Nottm.) As a prog rock fan, these chaps gave me a whole new musical experience. Gentle, clearly heard music....and not distorted. What a nice change. Lovely themes; with a love for Lincolnshire. "Cathedral's spark....." is such an emotional harmonic segment.
(Dabbing eyes!)

Well, I like it......you try it :-)

Graham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Blondel, 9 May 2010
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
I've had these on vinyl since I saw them back in the 70's. I was still singing the songs but had forgotten how good they really were, 'Celestial Light' is classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia Folk, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
I first purchased Fantasia Lindum on cassette, I never heard of them before, and only brought it because I liked the front cover and the titles of the songs. It is a great album, played by musicians who can play a vast array of instruments, and play them well. Simple songs, great harmonising, and so nice on the ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
Takes me back to the early seventies when I saw Amazing Blondel at the old Leeds Poly, but maybe the fact that the musical style harks back to the 17th century has something to do with the nostalgia. Favourite tracks - Celestial Light and Siege of Yaddlethorpe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch nostalgia, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
This is a reminder of the various eclectic styles of music that abounded in the late 60's early 70's.The tracks weave a whimsical mood that is relaxing and uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great feeling to go back to that time when I ..., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
Great feeling to go back to that time when I heard Fantasia Lindum with Moira, Sonia & Nigel. Never heard Evensong before what a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Gift, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
The recipient keeps a wish list on Amazon so it was easy to choose a present wish more friends would keep wish lists makes life easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something else, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
Samuel Pyke (Barcelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
This really is something else!
I'd heard about Amazing Blondel, and read about their first two albums, but knowing them is really something else.
Suffice to say, they don't easily fit into any musical-style category of the epoque's folk-rock trends. They just did their own thing in their own way, and as the cover notes suggest, the trio had the good fortune to find a firm benefactor and believer (Chris Blackwell, I believe) at Island Records -what would we have done without them?
Music which you might define as classical anglo-french folk?? Sort of "English country" but not, if you see what I mean.
Whatever the label, the two albums are beautifully crafted, and the lyrics, music, singing and playing all harmonise perfectly. The result is well over an hour of idyllic music that both hippy and straight should find delightful.
My favourite song is "Safety in God Alone"; also "Lincolnshire Lullaby", but I must add that the subject matter of the lyrics is not narrow at all, but all the songs evoke a somewhat pastoral atmosphere pertaining to the slower-paced life of parts of the British Isles in times gone by.
And I understand they're back, so keep tuned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good double presentation, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evensong & Fantasia Li (Audio CD)
good value and surprised I missed this one first time round in the 70's. I like the interplay with the guitars/lutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evensong & Fantasia Li
Evensong & Fantasia Li by Amazing Blondel (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews