Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2004
There is a very few artists out there who can do half as much as Mario Winans can:produce, write, remake, remix, and finally sing. I was completely blown away by Marios first album back in 1997 and eagerly awaited "Hurt no more". When I heard "I don;t wanna know" back in December I knew it was going to be one of the best RnB tracks of 2004! I set it up back then as background music to my answering machine and had so many people asking me "wot is that wicked tune"!!! Now they know.
Mario Winans sings with so much emotion and from the serious depth of his heart so that you can completely feel his pain and get lost in his songs. His voice is so beautiful it's like birds singing on a brihgt early summer morning. There is a very few male singers in RnB that can match Mario Winans' quality.He is on the same level as Donell Jones & RL from Next, and although I love Usher, Usher doesn;t have that depth of emotions and sadness in his voice to really show that his heart is breaking, like Mario WInans' and Donell Jones's can.
Working as a DJ, I have realised qwuickly that the only people disliking Mario are playahatas and mucho men, who think emotions are waste of time. If you are one of those brothers who prefer violence to love, you are NOT going to like Mario Winans. But that is a huge reason why women so do. Cos Mario's is a real man, who has emotions, and is NOT afraid to show them.
This album is simply beautiful. My second favorite track "Never really was" so intelligently uses Madonna's sample and from a perfect 80's pop tune rises into a perfect naughty's RnB jam! Only Mario and Bad Boy can make that happen. (Remember "I'll be missing you"? Nuff said.)
So basically I am trying to say, if you want and know quality, this album is a must in your collection.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
It has been a long struggle for Mr Winans to reach this level of fame that he clearly deserves. I have been a huge fan of his production work since R Kelly's self titled album in 95. If you had the Motown album released in 97, you will probably be slightly dissapointed at how "pop" this new album is. Still, very strong vocally and some good appearances including Loon and Slim from 112. If you like this you will LOVE the first album. Look out for the return of New Edition on Bad Boy, Bobby Brown is not in the line up but Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ronnie DeVoe (BBD), Ralph Tresvant (of the Bobby Brown Posse), and Bobby Gill are one of the greatest group of vacalists you will ever hear (after Jodeci, Playa, Boyz II Men and Tony Toni Tone).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2004
Mario yellow man Winans the rising star of Bad boy records owned by puffy ( p.diddy ) has had a lot of mixed reviews on his latest album Hurt No More the question is isit any good? Mario made famous on the notorious b.i.g album life after death on the song Mo Money Mo Problems is one of the most talented song writers there is he also has a talent of being able to produce great songs. His talent is shown on the album in such songs as 3 days ago ( amazing song) and i dont wanna know featuring Enya and Puffy and many more. This album is strictly 4 rnb fans only dont expect the normal bad boy record type of album here, this album is mostly boys 2 men mixed with usher and a bit of tq type of album. Many songs are not upbeat so rap fans may become a bit restless but u cant deny the power of yellow man.
As a whole a great rnb album but still not beatin usher type albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
Finally, after waiting since his first album 'Story of my Heart' came out nearly 7 years ago, Mario drops his sophomore effort. And I can definately say it was worth the wait! Having heard Mario Winans feature (and produce) on so many other tracks ranging from the underated club banger 'Rock The Party' from Benzino to the almost gospel track 'Best Friend' from P Diddy in the meantime, I was looking forward to hearing what angle he was going to take with his new Album 'Hurt No More'. Thankfully it has a bit of everything but leans more towards slow R'N'B, which I always believed was more to his strength. If you like Usher's album Confessions, then you will love Mario's 'Hurt No More'. Go get it, you won't be dissapointed. A 5 star album, definately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2004
I bought this album solely for the release of "I dont wanna Know"Im a big lover of R n B music and have a lot of Usher and Joe in my music collection.The first time i listened to the cd i didnt think that much of it but its one of those albums where the more you listen to it the more you like it.The best tracks are "Never Really Was" this is really cool Mr Winans samples Madonnas'"papa dont preach" quite clever really." 3 days ago"and"so fine" are fantastic they remind me of some of joes'earlier material."this is the thanks i get"is a tale of sweet revenge and my last tip for success is "turn Around" there is something about this track that makes you think..and a bit of heartbreak.All in all its worth the dollar !Go and check it out***
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
I bought this album when it was first released and listened to it once. I took it out recently and played it again to see if it has improved with age. Unfortunately, it has not. It is difficult to see how such a talented man from a gospel dynasty could have produced this boring, lifeless album. What happened to Puff Daddy on this one? Whether you like him or not, he does usually have a certain energy. I am just glad I don't have to listen to this again. However, if you are a fan of the beige slop produced by the likes of Jason De Rulo, then this may appeal to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2004
I'm a fan of mario winans as it is, usually featuring on tracks a great banger he was on was benzinos 'rock the party'. he reflects old school r'n'b, not just as a singer but also as a great producer. 'I dont wanna know'is a great hit and i know many people showin interest in this album for the play of this track in the rave. To be honest you cant really go wrong wit this enya sample as the fugees showed wit 'ready or not'. other favourites are the black rob featured tune 'this is the thanks i get'. Granted this album may not appeal to all, but i recommend that you definatley give it a check cos its gonna be my album of the summer. His style is fresh and keeps to r'n'b based tracks rather than singin over a hip hop beat.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
At last Mario has released his solo album off Badboy this c.d should havebeen out a long time ago from Badboys main producer.
Mario 'yellow man' Winans is from a talented musicial family and it showscos this guy has talent whether it be producing or singing.
The lead of single of this album is 'I Don't Wanna Know' featuring Enyaand P.Diddy and it uses Enya beat which The Fugees also used for Ready OrNot. This is a great single from Mario which should do well and makeMario the big star that he deserves to be in the music industry outside ofthe R'n'B/Rap industry.
This c.d is great because it is proper R'n'B music for once this is anR'n'B singer not trying to be thug like so many are right now apart fromMario, Usher and Musiq to name but a few.
All of the tracks on this album are great and all produced by Mariohimself which shows of the talent that he has got. Guest stars on thisalbum include Slim of 112, Loon, P.Diddy, Foxy Brown and Black Rob.
Overall this is a great album from a great artist which should do well butas we have seen before not all talented people sell as much records asthey should do but hopefully Mario does because this is one man whomdeserves it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2004
What a great album, i only bought this because of the Single i don't wanna know with p diidy, its has a great mixture of songs from r&b to rap, with a different vibe to them some are slow with some being fast with a great beat, all i can say is if you like r&b music then buy this album.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
This album sounds like one very long R&B ballad without even any great vocals are production to make anything stand-out!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)