Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac - Their Stunning 1968 Debut Album EXPANDED and REMASTERED
In its famous 'dog and dustbin' sleeve, Fleetwood Mac's first album was released in February 1968 on Blue Horizon Records in the UK in both MONO (7-63200) and STEREO (S 7-63200) and in August 1968 on Epic Records in the USA in both MONO (LN 24402) and STEREO (BN 26402). In the UK it's referred to by it's label title "Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac" - in the USA simply as...
Published on 5 Oct 2008 by Mark Barry

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars glad it was bought as one of a pair
Bought this because of the reviews here and elsewhere. Good in parts but quite dissapointed overall. Played Mr Wonderful and was overjoyed it came with it. All the band appear more controlled and fluid and the addition of the horn section really adds to the album. Greens playing is simply brilliant and some of the classics are on here sounding really great. I would...
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by D. J. Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac - Their Stunning 1968 Debut Album EXPANDED and REMASTERED, 5 Oct 2008
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
In its famous 'dog and dustbin' sleeve, Fleetwood Mac's first album was released in February 1968 on Blue Horizon Records in the UK in both MONO (7-63200) and STEREO (S 7-63200) and in August 1968 on Epic Records in the USA in both MONO (LN 24402) and STEREO (BN 26402). In the UK it's referred to by it's label title "Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac" - in the USA simply as "Fleetwood Mac" (which is on both cover and label). And although it's now recognized as a masterpiece of British Blues - this particular reissue of that explosive debut is "The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions 1967-1969" version - the one taken from the 6CD box set issued in 1999 - and its jumbled around enough to require an explanation.

The original album track list ran as follows (35:55 minutes):

1. My Heart Beat Like A Hammer (Jeremy Spencer song) [2:59 minutes]
2. Merry Go Round (Peter Green song) [4:20 minutes]
3. Long Grey Mare (Peter Green song) [2:15 minutes]
4. Hellhound On My Trail (Robert Johnson cover) [2:06 minutes]
5. Shake Your Moneymaker (Elmore James cover) [2:57 minutes]
6. Looking For Somebody (Peter Green song) [2:52 minutes] (End of Side 1)
7. No Place To Go (Howlin' Wolf cover) [3:21 minutes]
8. My Baby's Good To Me (Jeremy Spencer song) [2:51 minutes]
9. I Loved Another Woman (Peter Green song) [2:57 minutes]
10. Cold Black Night (Jeremy Spencer song) [3:17 minutes]
11. The World Keep On Turning (Peter Green song) [2:29 minutes]
12. Got To Move (Homesick James Williamson cover) [3:21 minutes] (End of Side 2)

But this "Box Set" version runs to almost twice the length of the ordinary CD reissue (63:39 minutes):

1. My Heart Beat Like A Hammer (Take 2 Master Version with Studio Talk) [3:33 minutes]
2. Merry Go Round (Take 2 Master Version with studio Talk) [4:20 minutes]
3. Long Grey Mare (same as 3 above)
4. Hellhound On My Trail (Take 1 Complete Master Version/Remix) [2:06 minutes]
5. Shake Your Moneymaker (Master Version with Studio Talk) [3:14 minutes]
6. Looking For Somebody (same as 6 above)
7. No Place To Go (same as 7 above)
8. My Baby's Good To Me (same as 8 above)
9. I Loved Another Woman (same as 9 above)
10. Cold Black Night (same as 10 above)
11. The World Keep On Turning (same as 11 above)
12. Got To Move (same as 12 above)
BONUSES
13. My Heart Beat Like A Hammer (Take 1 - Previously Unissued) [3:43 minutes]
14. Merry Go Round (Take 1 - Previously Unissued/Incomplete) [0:57 minutes]
15. I Loved Another Woman (Takes 1, 2, 3 and 4 with False Starts - Previously Unissued - Incomplete) [6:09 minutes]
16. I Loved Another Woman (Takes 5 and 6 - Previously Unissued/Incomplete) [5:10 minutes]
17. Cold Black Night (Takes 1 through to 5 with False Starts - Previously Unreleased - and Take 6 which is the master version) [5:30 minutes]
18. You're So Evil (Take 2 - Previously Unreleased Jeremy Spencer Track) [3:07 minutes]
19. I'm Coming Home To Stay (Jeremy Spencer song, Previously Unreleased Track) [2:29 minutes]

Why so different? In 1999, Sony issued the stunning 6-disc box set "The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions 1967-1969" by FLEETWOOD MAC to universal acclaim. Mike Vernon, the label's producer, had taken the unusual decision to re-sequence the track line-ups of ALL 5 UK albums (one was a double) to feature outtakes, studio chatter, false starts and so on. This was of course fine and dandy on a comprehensive box set. But this 2004 singular re-issue mimics that release, when it really should have been reverted to the 12 track original LP run and added the outtakes on as bonuses at the end. It sort of does, of course, but the downside is that when you play "My Heart Beat Like A Hammer" for the first time, the studio chatter and buggering about in the studio is quaint - but when you want to actually hear the track and album proper - it becomes a major pain. You can of course edit it with iTunes to play the 12 tracks as 1st released, but that's more work than should be necessary. On the upside - are the two stunning previously unreleased Jeremy Spencer tracks at the end - "You're So Evil" and especially the raucous Elmore James clone "I'm Coming Home To Stay" - fantastic stuff and genuine bonus tracks. Completeists would have enjoyed this disc having both the MONO and STEREO mix of the album - as initially released - and just the two unreleased on the end - but that's another day's work...

As it stands, their 1968 first album is still one of THE GREAT rocking blues offerings - in any configuration - and only makes you pine for more. I'd say BUY IT anyway and then go for 2 to 5 as well...they're all magicial in their own way.

PS: For those wishing for more, the Blue Horizon label Fleetwood Mac UK albums are:
1. Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (1968)
(original album, known as "Fleetwood Mac" in the USA)
2. Mr. Wonderful (1968)
(original album)
3. The Pious Bird Of Good Omen (1969)
(compilation of non-album 7" singles, their B-sides, collaborations and other rarities)
4. Blues Jam At Chess (1969)
(original 20-track 2LP set often referred to as a Various Artists compilation.
Its full credit is to: Fleetwood Mac, Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, Shakey Horton, J.T. Brown, Guitar Buddy
(Buddy Guy), Honey Boy Edwards, S.P. Leary. Originally a 2LP set on release, it was broken into 2 volumes
for the "Complete" box set and renamed "Blues Jam In Chicago Volume 1" and "Blues Jam In Chicago
Volume 2". It is ONLY these singular re-sequenced releases that are available today.)
5. The Original Fleetwood Mac (1971)
(although released in '71, this LP has recordings from August 1967 through to October 1968, all of which
were previously unreleased at the time)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of a legend!, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Del Boy (Oxfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Not too much I can say about this other than it's a must have for any blues enthusiast.
Iconic in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Born Standing up, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Now I'm no Blue expert by any stretch of the imagination, but there is something really accessible when Peter Green performs this style of music.
Perhaps because it's performed by a Brit, giving his own interpretation of what this genre of music means to him.
It's also nice to have the studio banter & false starts in between the tracks, displaying what a warm & friendly personally Green had.
So if you're like me, a big Rock Music fan, but a little suspicious of the blues, this would make a great crossover album to investigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can get a CD of the original track list, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
You can now (2013) get a CD of the first album with no studio chatter on the 3 Original Album Classics Fleetwood Mac mini CD boxset (which I bought from Amazon) - it also includes Mr Wonderful & Pious Bird Of Good Omen - buy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fleetwood mac, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
fleetwood mac,s music was ahead of its time, peter green is a writer that has music in is blood would be nice to here any new music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Oh it's ace, have meant to buy this cd for ages. It was cheap to buy, sound quality spot on, plus all their great tracks, nothing to pad it out! We've just had a big blues festival so was a great 'primer' for that weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Peter Green`s Fleetwood Mac is very different from the subsequent incarnation. He ranks for me as one of the best white blues players ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old is the new, new!, 21 April 2010
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
I'm ashamed to say that I've only fairly recently got my head around Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, despite being 45 and having been influenced by decent music since the age of 10.

This album should be your first step in a journey of discovery, culminating in the 'Live in Boston' series or at the very least 'Boston Blues'.

You can take your latest 'next best thing' and shove it where the sun doesn't shine. Give me this band anyday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In two words 'great album', 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Fleetwood Mac's first album and before Buckingham and Nicks joined and changed them into a pop group. If you at all like blues in the vein of John Mayall then you'll be very happy to buy this. Incidentally, I went to see Fleetwood at the O2 last month - only hmmmm all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear these songs again, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
I was never an ardent Mac fan, loved the singles from the late 60's, loved Peter Green's guitar - and mourned his fall from creative recording for many a year. Listening to this cd brought it all back and showed the potential and the sheer love of the music they had right from the start. The reason I only gave it a 4 star rating is purely personal, I'm sure for the purists hearing the out takes, alternative versions and control room banter would bring something special, I found it distracting and it took some of the enjoyment away from contemplating the album as a whole, small gripe, I'm sure - I would still reccomend this to anyone - the sheer joy and "raw" treatments of some new and old blues featured are in the top league of 60's British Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fleetwood Mac
Fleetwood Mac by Peter Green (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews