Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wage war in a galaxy far, far away...
This is a game which allows you to clad the white armour of a stormtrooper, grip the cold bowcaster of a Wookiee, see through the scope of a clone sharpshooter and roll into combat as a ruthless droideka, battling armies in a galaxy far, far away. Within the game, there are four different factions to fight for upon the battlefield: the Empire, the Rebellion, the Republic...
Published on 23 April 2006 by GHV

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars star wars battlefront
I bought this game with the hope that its online multi-player would live up to the pre-release hype. Unfortunately I was disappointed with Star Wars Battlefront. Whilst the graphics are without doubt amazing the multiplayer is just too chaotic. In games such as Rainbow 6 3 and Wolfenstein there is an element of skill attached to the multi player option, yet with S.W...
Published on 29 Sep 2004 by suzanne


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 1 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great 1st/3rd person star wars shooter.I have only played on singleplayer and splitscreen but I am planning on buying a network adaptor for my PS2 so I can go online.every team has 5 soldiers to choose from for whichever team you are on(my favorite is the destroyer droid for the Droid team)
Controls are easy to get use to and you can drive vehicles and star ships and commondeer enemies vehicles (such fun!!!).You can also command other soldiers to follow you and get into vehicles and be your main turret. you can get into turrets, build turrets when you are a pilot and lead squads on raids to enemy bases(there is also a suprise on tatoonie.)
This is a great game and a must have for all star wars fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a gudin but wrong price!, 8 Feb 2005
By 
James Kinch "jimbo_2k5" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
got this game back in december an its a good choice by me which isnt usually right! any wayz it is a bit repative after a while but still good oh by the way i got it for £19.99 from blockbusters so i wouldnt adivse buying from amazon for once!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic by any means., 7 Oct 2004
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
I've had battlefront for a day, the single player levels are too easy, I'm most of the way through them already, with many levels completed at the first go.
That said the sounds are sights of the battles from Star Wars are a worthy experience, but I would agree with another reviewer that you may as well rent the game over 2-3 days - you'll finish it. That only leaves the online experience which is nt that great.
I agree with some other reviewers that say the graphics are nt what they could have been. Yes, you can't always see what lies ahead. The action sometimes slows down and becomes jerky, especially online.
In terms of an online experience there are a number of flaws. Firstly if you play with a headset with a headset players seem to have a mike on all the time, so all you can hear is mindless chatter in various languages which also takes up valuable bandwdith. I could even hear the sound effects from another player's game. Why was nt this set up like medal of honor where only one team member speaks at a time by keying a button?
Playing online even on a "dedicated" server is too jerky. Try taking a shot in the heat of battle through a sniper rifle and it's pointless. MOH provides a better online experience as it's smoother and easier to manage the smaller player numbers. Battlefront has great landscapes, it's a pity the playing experience does nt match.
Most of the vehicles in the game are a bit of waste of time. The x-wing and other 'fighters' are pointless, as you are contrained to a tiny map where you can fly out in seconds. They should have been dropped from the game in favour of a dedicated space battle fighter game. When you fly an x-wing, y-wing or tie fighter you'll see what I mean as you lumber slowly around the battlefied. The action is better on foot.
To be fair, some of the vehicles do provide better action which is more relevent to winning levels: the snow speeders and AT-ATs on hoth, and some of the vehicles used by the clones on geonosis are more useful.
All in all, I'm not too impressed. £30+ for a game which you can complete in a few days is nt value for money and from what I've seen playing online I'm not too impressed with that either.
I've played MOH a great deal online and really enjoyed the experience. The action is smoother, and team work comes more easily thanks to a better was of speaking & hosting. If only Battlefront was the same, I'd forgive the games other faults and the online experience of playing in the Star Wars universe would have been awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class FPS action!, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
Having recently got online with my PS2 I am struggling to find a game that will keep me entertained. Whilst SOCOM II is good, the glitches and cheats just don't make it fun. It all seems to be the same maps too. I am coming round to the conclusion that MOH gives a better online game experience anyway! But having played the demo of Battlefront I think I will be spending a lot more time online. This game is fluid, and has many maps, characters and weopons to keep most people happy for months! The ability to use vehicles sets this above any other game on the market at the moment. It reminds me of the game Armageddon on the Atari ST (for those who can remember) where playing against another person is not fustrating but enjoyable! I look forward to the full version and hope the cheats and glitches are kept to a minimum so people who like to play fair and enjoy the game (like me) can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for renting...but don't go any further, 14 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
I was toying with the idea of wanting to buy this game very much but as soon as i rented it and put it in my machine, i knew it wasn't the game i wanted. The graphics aren't as good as GTA San andreas but if you don't mind it sort of blurry then that's ok. The controls for the vehicles are confusing and you need to get your head aroud them. So far i haven't been able to pick up anyone elses fallen gun so i am dissapointed at that. Also, the game would be enhanced if we could see at least a drop of blood when we shoot the enemy. Finally, when you shoot someone, they drop instantly - you cannot see them fall, it's like bang and they are on the floor.
The pros are that you can control any vehicle and the maps are vrey big. There are lots of place to sniper from if you just want to lay down without being disturbed. Good team interaction where you tell them what to do. Good multi-player. Intelligent AI (computer crouches behind walls etc)
The Cons are that the controls are a bit retarded for vehicles. You can't pick up enemy's guns. But overall, it is a good game but i wouldn't recommend buying it, it wouldn't last more than a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefront Review, 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
Good Graphics. Good gameplay. AI could be better. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money., 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
Save your money and wait for it to come out as a Platinum game because Battlefront just ain't worth the money. As a game it looks good but gameplay soon becomes boring. I've not played it on-line but I think this game is more geared toward on-line play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use the force, 9 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
There's so much to look forward to here. We've been waiting for this game since first-person shooters were invented. It has roots in every Star Wars game ever coded, from the original arcade cabinet, where you shot down wireframe TIE-Fighters, to X-Wing and TIE-Fighter itself. LucasArts have dabbled in online gaming before: X-Wing vs TIE-Fighter was a game ahead of its time. Now, they can pour all that experience, and all that passion, into creating a truly populist game, while moving online first-person shooters in a new direction. The use of AI partners is a novel, brilliant move. In the past, online maps have felt empty, simple arenas of death. Battlefront is taking us one step closer to fighting in a living world. The Galactic Conquest campaign is another leap forward - building a bridge between the persistent world of PlanetSide and simpler, stand-alone maps. There's so much potential. But it only takes one fumble. Tso understands the challenge: "When you say that yes, it's Star Wars, with everything that makes Battlefield fun, then the expectations are sky high. But we have to make sure that we're making something interesting, that lives up to what everyone wants." And that's why Battlefront has risen right to the top of our wishlists. The Force is strong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars star wars battlefront best evoooorrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!1, 17 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
Starwars battlefront is the perfection of starwars game it is a per fect shooting game with in depth battle scenes from all of the starwars films released to date any starwars fan/3rd or 1st person shooting fan would be pleased with this awesome game
It is a battlegame(but thats pretty self explanitory) in most levels each team has about 200 people ,but on some your out number or are out numbered. You can control 1 person from either team(of which theres lots ranging from cis,gungans,rebels,empire excetera excetera) and i you are killed you wll respawn at a respawn spot.
The aim of the game is to either kill all of the other team or capture all of the respawn spots.So for all you people not sure wether to buy this do or if you really aren't sure rent it out.
P.S If you have an xbox buy it for that because the movement is a bit smoother dont worry if you dont have an xbox it is still one of the best games evoooorrrrr!!!
P.P.S This game has a very good online mode especially if you have a microphone
P.P.P.S YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will be the best PS2 online game ever!, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) (Video Game)
If the PS2 can handle this game then it will be the No 1 reason to buy the network adaptor and broadband for your PS2. It is set over 10 planets including characters from all of the star wars movie (even episode 3 which hasn't come out yet.) There will be different modes where you can play online including conquest where you have to take control of all 10 planets with teh same team. Just imagine up to 16 players at the same time set around the star wars universe.
YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS GAME!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2)
Star Wars: Battlefront (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
£26.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews