Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap 'em up!
Paul Hogan plays the imperturbable, droll, dry witted Aussie croc-wrangler and bush-crafty hard man so well, that it's difficult to imagine anyone else in the role. When films go into sequels, you usually find that the first one is the best and those that follow can't compete - and sometimes you may wish that they hadn't bothered with the next film at all. The first...
Published on 5 Sept. 2007 by T. Bobley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars jumping on disc 2
i bought this dvd box set as a prezzie. went to watch disc 1 the first film and disc 2 was in disc one nd vis-versa!! Then the disc started skipping nd jumping. its not the dvd player as i tried it on 3 others and skips in same places, apart from that its fab!!
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by 123


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap 'em up!, 5 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Paul Hogan plays the imperturbable, droll, dry witted Aussie croc-wrangler and bush-crafty hard man so well, that it's difficult to imagine anyone else in the role. When films go into sequels, you usually find that the first one is the best and those that follow can't compete - and sometimes you may wish that they hadn't bothered with the next film at all. The first film is very cool, with a cart-load of memorable scenes that can make you smile just thinking about them (the sly punch in the restaurant, the muggers confronted by a *real* knife, Mick's method of ensuring that 'ladies' are what they seem, etc). The second film is pretty good too. It's a matter of opinion of course, but I think it's the usual way round, with the first film being the best. I've watched it several times and still always enjoy it. I've only seen CD2 a couple of times but I'm still happy to watch it again. I hesitate to mention the price (which could change at any time) but judge for yourself - currently less than seven quid for both films together is a bargain I couldn't resist. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mick dundee??, 23 May 2007
By 
E. Goodyear "crocadillahefapig" (peterborough, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
i loved the 1st dundee movie as a child, it was very amusing and its always great to see the austrailian outback brought to life on the telly.

altho i have not seen these movies for a while i have fond memories of watching and laughing. these are great movies, and suitable for all age groups. paul hogan at his best, with some great scenes of a strangers view to new york. i recommend everybody watches this at least once in their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun from down under, 22 Sept. 2008
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Two films mixing adventure and comedy (why can't we make them like this in the u.k.?). Paul Hogan portrays the archetypal aussie outbackman as seen through british eyes, an answer for everything with a dry wit.
In reality crocodile Dundee is a con man, australia's answer to Del boy, as a way of getting free media exposure for his part time business (outback tour guide), he and his partner Wally exagerate a run in he had with a croc, this in turn attracts the attention of a female New York reporter who travels to Walkabout Creek for a scoop.
I won't go into detail, but this leads to various exciting, tense and always amusing escapades both in the outback and New York.
Croc 1 starts in Australia before he is taken to America to cause mayhem on the streets, while Croc 2 sees him bring his by now reporter girlfriend back to oz for safety after she is targeted by drug barons.
Both films are fun to watch and there is some spectacular scenery as a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "That's not a knife...", 30 Jan. 2009
By 
m "macey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Amongst many 80s films deserving of a millennium rediscovery, this must rank very highly. A triumph of characterisation by actor (and partial writer) Hogan the simple tale of the country mouse brought to the city has lost none of its charm in the 20 plus years since it came out.

It was an all-or-nothing gig for Hogan - he owns the part so well and of course it was a huge success worldwide. The really great thing about the film is its sense of twisting our stereo-typing of people from other countries and - more importantly, other mindsets. Mick Dundee is not just a foreigner in terms of where he comes from, but also the way he thinks, and it's THAT element and it's effects upon the other characters that make this so worth the ride. The collision between his home-spun attitude and often, passivity, against the hyped-up reality of the modern in-your-face culture is something that really gets a full work-out.

It's not just great comedy (and there are lots of wonderful moments - some of them now classics) but it has such a streak of humanity in it, and whilst being funny enables us to take a look at ourselves and recognise that we could all use a little bit of Mick Dundee blue-sky thinking once in a while.
And, a special mention for the fantastic musical score - none of which featured on the soundtrack if I remember rightly (it was the 80s!!)

Given all this, plus the huge hit that the film was, the poor quality of the disc a real let down. Virtually no extras belie the fact that this must have been a film with a great story behind it. Hogan inhabited and had developed the part so well that it became his Superman, his Luke Skywalker role. Obviously hoping it would kick-start his Hollywood career, it just didn't pan out that way. Maybe the problem was that the whole ethos of the `quirky Australians' and endless beer adverts playing up to that got in the way of the real thrust of the film, which for me was always this: despite what we may think, and despite what we are sometimes told, people are pretty much the same underneath wherever you are in the world.

Sadly, there were two sequels and really, the least said about them the better. I don't think you can blame Hogan for wanting to move forward, but all the things which made the first film so great, charming and surprising are totally absent from the sequels which come off feeling contrived and many times, just wasteful.
There was simply no need - the first film was perfect and whilst we of course loved Dundee, it was probably one of those instances where we needed to be strong enough to just let him go after one glorious encounter.

A great film, with a lot of heart - which makes it all the more needed to remind us that the 80s weren't all completely self-obsessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant romantic action comedies:, 27 May 2010
By 
Koncorde (St. Helens, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
At the same time as Michael Douglas was performing in Romancing The Stone and Jewel of the Nile, Paul Hogan was giving us another definitive performance over in Crocodile Dundee with a left field low-fi action comedy. The films share many things in common, and I rank them all amongst my favourites from the 80's for their simple premises and well scripted honest comedy.

Both contain their touching Romantic drama elements, drawing on the inherent sadness in the lead males "loner" roles, whilst the sheltered female leads are drawn into a world of dangerous excitement and pratfalls. It's a great combination we saw through the original Indiana Jones trilogy, and is repeated to practical perfection here.

Hogan is warm, and charming, whilst the Australian outback is presented as an intoxicating wilderness filled with comic larger than life characters needed to fill the open expanse. The scenes in New York are taken seriously, without insulting anyone, and play-up the fish-out-of-water experience perfectly - whilst the ending of the first film was one of the few movies to genuinely make me cry and laugh at the same time.

For me they will remain brilliant memories and always in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nostaligic dvd, 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
good old 80's chic leading lady in her box shoulder jackets and pleated trousers and the typical sounds of the 80's tracks lol. i was suprized to find that i actually enjoyed the second one more this time around, i was still smiling at the niave croc dundee but a bit unconvinced when the police turned a blind eye at his antics. i did enjoy the cheesy acting of some of the characters and in the second disc the storyline takes him back to Oz where he can best tackle the 'bad guys' entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars jumping on disc 2, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
i bought this dvd box set as a prezzie. went to watch disc 1 the first film and disc 2 was in disc one nd vis-versa!! Then the disc started skipping nd jumping. its not the dvd player as i tried it on 3 others and skips in same places, apart from that its fab!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
What can I say; I had forgotten how entertaining these are. Compared to a lot of tripe coming out now, this was just good entertainment. Paul Hogan is the stereotype, and all the other characters are too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... of the funniest films I have seen not a great story line but you can't help smiling all the ..., 13 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Two of the funniest films I have seen not a great story line but you can't help smiling all the way through. "Call that a knife" springs to mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars taking the mick, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
a classic pair of 80s films which i bought for the humour and nostalgia. they are fairly light on story but as entertainment they are worth the watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986]
Crocodile Dundee 1 & 2 [DVD] [1986] by Peter Faiman (DVD - 2004)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews