Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather - Video Quality - US Single BLURAY
Review from:
[...]

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (27.00 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
Original aspect ratio: 1.85:1

Audio
English: Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
English: Dolby Digital Mono

Subtitles
English, English SDH,...
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by nannosthermos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Voices not at all clear
Published 4 days ago by matthew brewis


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather - Video Quality - US Single BLURAY, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
nannosthermos (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review from:
[...]

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (27.00 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1
Original aspect ratio: 1.85:1

Audio
English: Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
English: Dolby Digital Mono

Subtitles
English, English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Packaging
Slipcover in original pressing

Playback
Region free

Presented in 1080p utilizing the AVC codec (at an average bitrate of 26Mbps), The Godfather looks better than I ever thought possible. The restoration efforts by Robert Harris and the MPI group are nothing short of amazing, especially when you consider the exhaustive effort they put into tracking down negatives with the least damage. One of the highlights on the boxed set of the complete collection is an informative documentary by Francis Ford Coppola, Robert Harris (restoration expert), and Gordon Willis (cinematographer), covering the restoration process in detail. Those of you who never viewed The Godfather during the days of VHS or any other point during the past 38 years should take the opportunity to witness the level of effort required to restore the film.

Now that we have that out of the way, I should make it abundantly clear this is an exquisite restoration that pays homage to the original intent of the filmmakers. It's not meant as demo-worthy material for your new HD display, and may seem off-putting to newcomers of the film. The original layers of grain are left intact, skin tones vary in shade from scene to scene, and there are abrupt reductions in fine object detail. Those who don't know better might pass these off as worrisome elements, but this is precisely how the film was created to look. Adding to the stylistic nature of the cinematography, the color palette reveals a constant push toward yellow, facial tones dance from red to orange, and blacks crush every last detail in the backgrounds. In many cases we'd consider these tendencies a bit troublesome (if this were a recent production), but given the age of the film and creative manner in which Coppola and Willis transport viewers back to a distant point in American history, I wouldn't want it any other way. For long-time fans this is a true revelation, so there's never been a better time to experience the rich visual style of Coppola's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 25 Feb. 2007
By 
Veronica (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
You can't help but come to watch the Godfather with a lot of preconceptions. It was always a film I just never got around to watching, but when I saw it was Number 1 in the Internet Movie Database Chart of greatest ever films I just had to watch it. Now I've seen it, I don't know if I'd call it the greatest ever, but it is certainly a dazzling film that stands up to repeated viewings and has quality stamped all over it from beginning to end. I never realised how big an impact the film had, for example, I didn't realise that 'swim with the fishes' and 'I'll make him an offer he can't refuse' came from the Godfather.

All of the acting performances are great. Al Pacino really surprised me with his charismatic performance as Michael Corleone, the man who changes from a war hero not involved in the family business to a man at the very heart of his crime family. By the end of the film I literally could not drag my eyes away from him, he has such a strong and powerful presence, which is amazing considering that I didn't think he was the most imposing of men at first glance. There is something inevitable about Michael's transformation, and to me it was his own decision - what he does, he does willingly, with his eyes wide open to the consequences. Perhaps that is the most chilling - and tragic - thing of all about this film.

Marlon Brando was also great as Don Vito Corleone. He gives truly a unique performance and somehow manages to make his whole face, body, voice and general demeanour take on the persona of his character - something that, unfortunately, few actors achieve. As I said, all the performances were great, but I just have to mention Robert Duvall, who plays Tom Hagen, the Don's adopted son and right hand man, with a seriousness and depth that was very impressive. James Caan was also great at the short-tempered son who was never going to be suitable to become Don. Finally, it was great to see Talia Shire, who was so good in Rocky, play a completely different character with the same level of competence.

One of my only criticisms of the film is that after the wonderful intense love story between Michael and Appollina ends so sadly, the movie seems to speed up and the years go by too quickly. I would have liked more explanation about why Michael goes back to Kay and what he was feeling at the time. I kind of felt that was left unresolved to some extent.

The 'Godfather' also highlights the utter futility of a life of murder and crime. If someone kills a member of your family, you must kill one of theirs, and then they kill someone else and so on...The 'family' must be protected at all costs, but this protection takes the form of violence, vengeance and control, and is ultimately - and ironically - what pulls the family apart. One of the most interesting ideas about the film for me is what the notion of 'respect' and 'honour' actually mean - and whether these things can ever be gained through murder and fear.

The role of women in the film is also fascinating. Kay and Michael are in love at the beginning, but he still leaves her and ends up marrying Appollina, with whom he falls in love with in a very different way. Kay is the wrong woman for Michael as she is too outspoken and doesn't want the Corleone family to continue with a life of crime. She should have said no to his proposal, but she was still 'in love' with the Michael she used to know before he decided to take over from his father. The ideal wife for Michael was Appollina, who would have been exactly like his own mother - quietly raising children and never asking about the business. Michael's power, magnetic presence and protectiveness are undoutedbly very attractive, and I found myself in the weird situation of being repelled by his actions and yet drawn towards these qualities. In the long run, though, being married to that type of man means a woman has to remain childlike - never discussing important matters or asking questions. In addition, the women are complicit to the violence, they know it goes on even if they say nothing - crucially they all know they are raising their own children for more of the same.

Overall, I'd say the Godfather stands up to the hype surrounding it, which is an amazing achievement in itself! It's a serious, entertaining and compelling film that makes you think. Like everybody else, I'm sure, I just wish there were more films made that manage to reach these heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R-E-S-P-E-CT, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
After finishing Robert De Niro's new biography, I had great impetus to re-view some of his films. Godfather Part II was offered to De Niro to play Vito Corleone, a superb performance, all spoken in a soft Sicilian tone. He won the Academy Award for this performance.

However, the performance by Al Pacino as Vito 's son, Michael, is mesmerizing. Why he did not win an award for this performance I have no idea. The story of Godfather Part II is about the opening chapters in Don Vito's life. His family is killed by a Mafia don in Sicily, he comes to America at early age, he grows up , and moves into a career of crime.

The story, of Don Vito's younger days is but a small part if this film. The director, Coppola, devotes the rest to Michael Corleone, who has taken over the family's business after his father's death. He has consolidated operations in Nevada, and wants to expand in Florida and Cuba. Michael is played, again and brilliantly, by Al Pacino. Robert Duvall, plays Tom Hagen, the family's lawyer; Diane Keaton as Michael's wife Kay; and John Cazale as the weak older brother Fredo. These are such superb performances in all aspects. The music sweeps us up, and who could forget the music. Whenever you hear those opening chords, the Godfather comes to mind. A brilliant, brilliant film. It is so much better the third time.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 09-17-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best film ever made................., 19 Sept. 2007
By 
Richard P. James (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly i can't believe someone said this was "the most over rated fils of all time" and only gave it 1 star. This is a masterpiece of film making, the only film that is equil to this is The Godfather ptII, nothing else is even on the same level. I'd advise to read the book first though as the film does leave a few bits missing. If you have not seen this already you should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING., 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing! lost for words in the stunning quality of this. Recreating the whole thing in blu ray makes it seem like a different film! very pleased i bought this. Good price for the product and delivery was really fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gangster Movie Ever Made, 29 July 2007
By 
ray dorrity "ray dorrity" (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember waiting in the rain to get in to see this movie in 1972, and I can remember coming out stunned by it.
It's brilliant.

Absolutely flawless.

However, it's only marginally better than "Godfather II" ("Godfather III is rubbish!)
Buy both I & II and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "leave the gun,take the cannoli", 12 April 2010
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
much has been said about how great this film is,and i hesitated for the longest time before breaking down,but finally i bought the Restoration Box set which contains the three films and two bonus discs.so,after watching this first film,i must say i was pretty impressed.it's a well crafted film.at a running time of just over one hundred and seventy three minutes,you'd never know it.there never a dull moment.it's exceptionally engrossing from the opening frame to the closing credits.the acting is superb.Marlon Brandon is excellent,but i would say that a young Al Pacino matches him.the dialogue is also well written.for me,The Godfather is a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Three Godfather Films, 1 Nov. 2005
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
After I purchased Mario Puzo's novel, I stayed up most of that night reading it. Two years later, this film adaptation appeared and I have since seen it (as well as Godfather Part II) more than a dozen times. Francis Ford Coppola deserves all of the praise and awards these films have received over the years. He should also be admired for insisting that Pacino and Brando be cast in two of the major roles despite strong opposition from Paramount. Coppola assembled a superb cast but also an equally talented crew. Those who share my high regard for it no doubt have their own favorite scenes. Mine include Michael's enlistment of a bewildered young man's assistance at the hospital until members of the Corleone family arrive to protect their don, the sequence in the restaurant which results in the killing of Sollozzo and McCluskey, Tom Hagen's discussion with Jack Woltz during dinner, Michael's reunion conversation with Kay as they stroll in a New England village, and the montage of executions during the baptism. None of the extensive violence in the film seems gratuitous. Each major character is fully developed. The cinematography and score are outstanding, although neither was even nominated for an Academy Award. Dark as this film often is, it also has its lighter moments, as during the wedding celebration when Luca Brasi rehearses his remarks before presenting a gift and later when Clemenza teases Michael good-naturedly about Kay Adams. For me, the single most interesting element in the film is Michael's gradual development from his family's baby brother (albeit a war hero) to its ruthlessly efficient don. Once he volunteers to kill Sollozzo and McCluskey, his destiny is assured. In some respects, this film reminds me of an opera but one with a multi-dimensional plot as well as grandeur in its style, scope, and emotional impact. In 1998, the American Film Institute selected The Godfather as one of the three greatest American films. Only Citizen Kane and Casablanca were ranked higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Of The Praise, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As a latecomer to ‘The Godfather’, I was surprised that on my first ever viewing of this film that I had seen about 50% of it already via many TV and film spoofs and homages, and about 10% on flicking across TV channels and catching moments. So 40% of the film was totally new to me, but the previous 60% was just as important to me to see how it originally looked, with no idea in my head about comical horses in beds, cotton balled cheeks imitating a heavy American-Italian drawl, or trilby wearing tommy gun blasting bad guys riddling the cops and rival families with numerous bullets. I was drawn in and impressed with the grounded, realistic and brutality of the story and those involved, easily seeing how iconic the many sequences and dialogue were when played in a very real and toned down manner.

So many wonderfully acted characters have suffered from numerous impersonation and pastiches over the years, from Brando’s Don Corleone, the whole network of the sons and also the rival family members. It just shows how well these characters were, how loveable and un-likeable some are. They aren’t playing to type, they are simply playing as characters involved in a murky, dark and dangerous world where you always see the one thing that is most important to them through their actions; family. They don’t take pleasure in killing or violence, but they do it to protect their family name and every emotion is shown brilliantly through actions, dialogue or facial expressions. James Caan, Robert Duvall and Al Pacino are fantastic as the Corleone sons, and I was hooked following their rises, and their falls. Powerful characters indeed.

Thankfully, this film takes it’s time to tell the story and relationships of the family over 10 years, seeing the characters on their own journey and develop and evolve you so actually feel something for them; understanding their motives, their relationships with each other and the reasons they do what they do. It has a nice balance of subtle black comedy, tension, well shot action and emotive drama.
I learnt it all comes down to the characters though and their relationships with others.

The betrayals, the loyalty and the sacrifices made that make them into powerful leaders and followers. The scale of this sort of gangster story hasn’t been done since as far as I am aware, and I can see why because this set the standard for crime thrillers and instead focuses on the living, breathing aspects of what makes a criminal family operate rather than just speaking a language of endless car chases, shoot-outs and fist-fights.

This proves there is more to the genre than just that, and I can’t wait to continue the story through the sequels as the foundations are easily laid here to discover where Coppola takes us next with a family I already admire so much from spending just under 3 hours with them. And I know I need to watch this again to take in everything I may have missed, the interlinked connections and subtle narrative plots brilliantly given by a superb director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Opus, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Godfather [DVD] (DVD)
Well.... What do you say about a movie so adored, so set in our culture that its now a meme in the history of film, the history of the 20th century? With a film this admired there's left little to say that hasn't already been said; really, the only slightly different spin I can give on my review is that its postera and postmodern in the sense that my eyes examine the film with dulled respect due to the 40 years of movie and television that I've seen which have been so greatly inspired by these films that imitation was impossible to avoid, even in the best of those following productions. Where this should be (and is) the fault of the imitators, there's simply no way to avoid being less impressed by The Godfather than I perhaps should have been, and would have been had I not become so familiar with the conventions this movie had set. After seeing The Wire and The Sopranos- both of which really do set to bar for television, by the way- I had already experienced Coppola's ability to put morality to one side in order to get an objective and intimate look at the intrigue and intensity in these gangsters' lives; the great dialogue that sounds completely authentic and genuine; and the minimalistic direction that doesn't employ too much style, instead focusing much more greatly on the intricate narrative.

The Godfather Part 1 is an outstanding film, epic in every respect. Coppola's characters are viciously heinous in their deeds but yet still the viewer can easily emote for them and, in a strange way, respect their honour and dignity. Characters like the well-mannered don Corleone are so memorable that almost every Italian American gangster that followed in film resembled him in some sense, the budding young Michael played by Al Pacino only begins to blossom in this part, and its not until Part 2 can one really respect the subtly of Pacino's acting here, but the rest of the extended cast all play their parts wonderfully too. This is one of the best acted movies I've ever seen, I can't deny that.

There's little problems to be had with this film. I suppose it did feel a bit slow in places to me and a bit too long; they were issues, but certainly not a massive deal. This part of the saga serves as an introduction (a three hour introduction) and really needs to be seen before the other two parts, but after seeing this one, you really should pick up Part 2 because that's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather [DVD]
The Godfather [DVD] by Francis Ford Coppola (DVD - 2004)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews