Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time
At last this wonderful series has appeared on DVD. The story of a group of aliens staying on Earth disguised as a highly dysfunctional Earth family. The High Commander becomes Dick Solomon, professor of Physics at a mediocre university. The Security officer becomes his glamorous and tough sister Sally. The information officer, the oldest member of the party, becomes...
Published on 6 July 2004 by L O'connor

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Rock from the sun
I was unable to watch this as it is region 1 and I didnt realise it and I am region 2. It is still in the packaging unopened and unable to watch.
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by Glenda


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time, 6 July 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
At last this wonderful series has appeared on DVD. The story of a group of aliens staying on Earth disguised as a highly dysfunctional Earth family. The High Commander becomes Dick Solomon, professor of Physics at a mediocre university. The Security officer becomes his glamorous and tough sister Sally. The information officer, the oldest member of the party, becomes Dick's teenage son Tommy. And Harry - well, they had an extra seat. All the actors in this series are wonderful, from John Lithgow (Dick Solomon) to wonderful Elmarie Wendel as the Solomons' landlady, Mrs Dubcek, a woman with a past. Many of the funniest episdoes are in this first series, as the Solomons struggle to understand earth and its inhabitants. I particularly like the one where Sally gets drawn into the bizzare world of cosmetics, and Harry gets a job selling a revolting skincare product for men 'Orca - made from whales' Dick's (at first) unrequited passion for his university colleague Dr. Mary Allbright (Jane Curtin) provides some of the series funniest moments. I love the episode where she takes him to a wedding with her, and when she is describing the ceremony to him he asks "and right after the ceremony, does the bride devour the groom?" "Oh no", she replies "that's a process that takes years." And then there's the episode where Dick gets snowed up with Mary in a cafe miles from anywhere, and Sally thinks the human race has perished and she'll have to repopulate the earth with Dick's dopey student Leon, and - oh well, every episode is funny, the whole cast is great, the sxcripst are wonderful. It's pure joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laugh out loud funny, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Laugh out loud funny. Crazy high energy humour. Yet it does pose some philosophical questions about the human race (a friend of mine takes notes). The only problem is that I wish I'd bought the boxed set of all the episodes instead of just the first series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show that was on tv and still is the best!!!, 26 Jun 2004
This review is from: 3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
3rd Rock From the Sun was/is the best show on tv. It show's how we look at life. On other sitcoms they play the soap opera card. Which means, they try to make you feel for a character, but these are sitcom characters. Whenever 3rd Rock the soap card, they always back it up with something funny. John Lithgow is the best actor in the world. I also like Kristen Johnston, French Stewart, Joey Gordon-Levitt, and the rest of the cast.
I just want to thank the cast for making the show so brilliant and outrageously funny. So thank you John, Kristen, French, Joey, Simbi, Elmarie, Wayne, Jane, and the guest stars. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Rock Rules OK!, 5 Nov 2013
By 
J. M. Covington "covvie" (East Yorks Coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Brilliantly funny. Us through the eyes of an incompetent alien recce team.

In the vain of Mork and Mindy it develops the theme in its own idiosyncratic style.

The cast led by the wonderful John Lithgow with eye candy by Kristen Johnston you're in for a treat.

This was for me the best of all the series. The early days on our 3rd Rock from the Sun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Gold!!!!!, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I recently watched this series. After years of not seeing it. I sat down and watched it. This series is just brilliant. I really enjoyed it. Couldn't stop laughing. I am currently in the middle of watching Series 2. I just know it will be rock!

Worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun vidio, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i would recomend this vidio to anyone who likes silly programs. compleatly relaxing.not to be taken seriously unless you are an alien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Rock - Rocks yet again!!, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic to see the great people acting in this really mad series. So missed, you are not sure until you see it again. how funny it really is. My sense of humour anyway. We watched it all at one go, as it was a "don't stop yet" dvd. Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars janeeg, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
These 'used-good' DVD's arrived within a few days, in excellent condition. Haven't stopped laughing since - what a brilliant show Third Rock was - pity they don't make them like that anymore. My only concern is how to get hold of the next series as it seems that the only DVD's available are for American DVD players. Excellent all round family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just Great!, 20 May 2010
I used to watch this sit-com when I was in Canada, and tried to rent or buy this after I came back to Japan in vain. Very funny, Tommy is so adorable! It would be perfect if subtitle available, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 13 Aug 2005
By 
J. M. Albinson "jen81965" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
for mindless American pap, that is! And there are moments, aren't there, when that's just what is wanted? This is basically an American ensemble comedy, like Cheers, or MASH, or even The Simpsons, where the cast of characters all have clearly defined roles. Here, we have The Bossy One, The Young (and slightly bratty) One, The Spare Seat (possibly one of the most interesting types in the cast, as he is allowed to express sentiments the others are not) and The Woman. Obviously there is a section of American society that sees women as a strange, alien and slightly separate order of creation, but that's another story... These aliens, for all their wackiness, clearly did their homework better than Ford Prefect, but they fit into human society as well as a 5/8 screww into a 3/8 housing.This is an excellent way of passing a spare half hour, but I would recommend only watching one episode at a time- otherwise a feeling of extreme dislocation sets in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3rd Rock From The Sun - The Complete Season 1 [DVD] [1996]
Used & New from: 17.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews