Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent T & J collection!
Another excellent collection of Tom & Jerry cartoons from the best era - i.e. those produced by Fred Quimby. After him came Hanna & Barbera, and then things really went downhill when Chuck Jones took over.
Any T&J fan will love this volume as it contains some real gems such as Pecos Pest, Posse Cat etc.. This volume isn't QUITE as good as volume 3, but still WELL...
Published on 9 Aug 2004 by Mr. N. Morgan

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series was in decline here, but still above average
This cartoon collection continues the Tom & Jerry series with cartoons from 'Two Little Indians' (1953) to 'Barbecue Brawl' (1956).
There are some enjoyable cartoons on this DVD, but now we are reaching the period in time where cartoons were starting to skyrocket in costs, and it becomes noticeable once we reach cartoons like 'Neapolitan...
Published on 7 Nov 2005 by Mr. A. T. Whitaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series was in decline here, but still above average, 7 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This cartoon collection continues the Tom & Jerry series with cartoons from 'Two Little Indians' (1953) to 'Barbecue Brawl' (1956).
There are some enjoyable cartoons on this DVD, but now we are reaching the period in time where cartoons were starting to skyrocket in costs, and it becomes noticeable once we reach cartoons like 'Neapolitan Mouse' (1954), where some of the characters become schematic in design and movement. After 'Pecos Pest' (1955), producer Fred Quimby also retired, and the general production values really started to slip for the remaining cartoons in the Hanna-Barbera era.
One thing that bothered me about this collection is that some of the later cartoons -- the ones from 'That's My Mommy' (1955) onwards, plus 'Touché, Pussycat!' (1954) and 'Tom & Chèrie' (1955) -- were originally in Cinemascope, as shown by the typical black borders at the top and bottom of the screen during the opening and closing credits, but, with the exception of 'The Egg And Jerry' (1956), which retains the Cinemascope aspect throughout, the cartoons themselves have been put into pan-and-scan -- and not all that well; sometimes important bits of a scene were out of shot, meaning that, unless you had seen the original, or at least a pan-and-scan version that had more carefully selected views in each part of the cartoon, it was not always that clear what was going on; 'Muscle Beach Tom' and 'Barbecue Brawl' are particularly affected in some places because of this, resulting in action that was happening off-screen with only sound effects being a rough clue as to what was happening (if that). Why didn't they keep the Cinemascope aspect of these ones and give us a real treat to see the full view, if they were prepared to do it for 'The Egg And Jerry'? The picture quality was becoming more schematic by this period so the closer inspection of the on-screen action was not really doing these cartoons any favours, and surely keeping the Cinemascope would have been a lot less hassle than going through all those cartoons deciding what bits would have to be sacrificed and put off-screen for pan-and-scan?
So, not a bad collection, but the cracks were starting to show here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent T & J collection!, 9 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. N. Morgan "Green Knight" (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Another excellent collection of Tom & Jerry cartoons from the best era - i.e. those produced by Fred Quimby. After him came Hanna & Barbera, and then things really went downhill when Chuck Jones took over.
Any T&J fan will love this volume as it contains some real gems such as Pecos Pest, Posse Cat etc.. This volume isn't QUITE as good as volume 3, but still WELL worth getting - even if you're not already a T&J fan as it contains several of the best T&J cartoons.
Pecos Pest ("Froggy went a-courtin' he did ride.... c-c-c-c crambone!") was the last Fred Quimby produced cartoon as far as I can tell, but the other cartoons on here are still pretty good.
Definitely recommended!
The cartoons on this volume are:
Two Little Indians, Life With Tom, Puppy Tale, Posse Cat, Hic-Cup Pup, Little School Mouse, Baby Butch, Mice Follies, Neapolitan Mouse, Downhearted Duckling, Pup On A Picnic, Mouse For Sale, Designs On Jerry, Tom And Cherie, Smarty Cat, Pecos Pest, That's My Mommy, The Flying Sorceress, The Egg And Jerry, Muscle Beach Tom, Down Beat Bear, Blue Cat Blues and Barbecue Brawl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Collection, But Poor DVD Transfer, 28 July 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Although not the technically best 'looking' era for Tom and Jerry due to rising animation costs, this DVD still remains my favorite of the entire collection. Although the first couple of DVD's, spanning the 40's/50's have a grace of their own, this 4th collection from the 1950's is a far more entertaining affair with more "memorable" moments, episodes, and humor.

As I said, while the animation doesn't have the detail and texture of the 40's, I actually feel this gives the cartoons a brighter and more vibrant feel, very much of their time. Even the original 'maid' was replaced by a young female (supposedly the mother of the house) who has a body very reminiscent of American 50's advertising. This is typical for much of the 'CinemaScope' episodes too; more abstract body shapes and backgrounds. Some may not like this feel, but I think it's very interesting study, noting how attitudes towards animation changed

The gags are simply the best in this era too. They are far more slap-stick and silly compared to the 'safer' approaches of the previous DVD's. It's also obvious that by this time, the cartoon had developed into more a surreal world were the characters actions defined their characteristics, again unlike the previous era's where they're actions were based more on reality. A good example is "The flying sorceress, which was very ambitious and un-like Tom and Jerry compared to previous episodes.

Finally, the episodes themselves are far, far more memorable. "Mouse for sale" is a classic in it's own right; even my family still laugh at Tom licking his wad of money after coming home from Pet store after all these years. "Designs on Jerry" is another perfect example of the episodes becoming more un-conventional as far as settings/plots go, with plenty more to follow. "Mouse Follies" is another classic, based around the kitchen being flooded and frozen to ice skate on. It's fair to that these simpler plots worked much better.

Why only 4 Stars? Because of the terrible DVD transfer. While all the others from this collection have been absolutely perfect (apart from silly P.C cuts), this collection has been 'zoomed in' on many episodes due to the original CinemeaScope recording, meaning they were originally recorded ultra-wide for cinemas. The result is that vital actions are missing from the screen on several occasions, especially in the French-set episodes where many of the sword fights leave the mice completely off the T.V, which is ridiculous.

I also noted like another reviewer the pitch of music/sound warbling on "Pup on a picnic" - you're not alone! How can such things pass into sale? Never the less, since my VHS recorder has gone, this DVD is a steal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Into the decline, 9 Sep 2005
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Whilst many of these cartoons are still good it is obvious that the series was in serious decline by this point. Backgrounds become cheaper and characters have their designs simplified. Some of the storylines are weird, in particular I don't think "Blue Cat Blues" was guaranteed to send the audience away happy. Good for kids but makes you wish for the glory days. If these cartoons distress you then don't touch volumes 5 and 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite of the four!, 26 Jan 2008
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Well, I can't say I know anything about the directors or the backgrounds mentioned in other reveiws, all I can tell you is that this DVD is great! I have the others (1-3) and this is the one that my children always want to watch, I don't know why, but something obviously grabs their attention!
If you are looking for one for the kids, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Further classic cartoons- but slight drop in quality, 14 Mar 2009
By 
tws45 (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The series was in decline at this point, but in my opinion, not as bad as some of the reviews here make out. Many of the cartoons are still very funny, and should appeal to all ages- just not quite of the same consistently high quality as on Volumes 1-3. It is on Volume 5 where the quality drops significantly.

I agree with another reviewer's comment that putting the CinemaScope cartoons into pan and scan means you miss a bit of the action- though I don't think it makes much difference overall in most cases. The one notable exception is "Barbecue Brawl", where particularly during the early part of the cartoon, much of the important action is off-screen, which detracts from the cartoon.

The last cartoon directed by Fred Quimby was "Pecos Pest" (containing the famous "Crambone" version of Froggy Went A-Courtin') but William Hanna and Joseph Barbera remained the creators of the cartoons right to the end of this DVD.

I give this volume 4/5, same as volumes 1-3, because although the cartoons are not quite as good, PC cuts appear non-existent on this volume. Volumes 5 and 6 only get 3/5 from me and are only worth buying in my opinion if you're a Tom & Jerry fan and would like the complete collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tom and jerry- classic collectionn volume four, 12 Aug 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
theese episodes are "two little indians,life with tom,puppy tale,posse cat,hic cup pup,little school mouse,blue cat blues and lots more but blue cat blues is a really good one it starts with tom seein, a female cat and following it and then takes her to the park and butch sees her and kisses her so tom dident kiss her so he gos to her house but she already maried butch so he gos swimming and they splash him and then jerry gets in love driving a car and hic cup pup is about tyke getting hiccups if your a tom and jerry fan get this one first please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was present for my father, 27 May 2014
By 
Mr. M. N. Kelly "martinnkelly" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It got here before my father's birthday. He's watched it more than me. He seems happy with it. So would I. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a gret fan of cartoons oh yes it met my expectations thanks, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I think everyone should watch cartoons because some are quite funny we all could do with a laugh occasionally if not all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a much loved present, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This dvd arrived very promptly and in excellent condition and is a much loved addition to my grandson's collection of Tom and Jerry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 4 [DVD] [2004]
£5.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews