Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to give you stomach-ache (through laughing)!
This DVD is a must for all true T&J fans. Every cartoon in this volume is from in my opinion the best period of the Fred Quimby era. Such gems as Cueball Cat & Fit To Be Tied are sheer genius, and are guaranteed to make the viewer laugh until it hurts - and then some more! All the favourite extra characters are in this compilation... the duckling, soldier ants, Toodles,...
Published on 22 July 2004 by Mr. N. Morgan

versus
0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great
My little one loves Tom and Jerry on day time TV, so I got this DVD to entertain her on holiday. She loved it, but I had to skip at least 2 programmes because of its somewhat racist content. I know what to expect now, and will not be purchasing another one.
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by MD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to give you stomach-ache (through laughing)!, 22 July 2004
By 
Mr. N. Morgan "Green Knight" (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This DVD is a must for all true T&J fans. Every cartoon in this volume is from in my opinion the best period of the Fred Quimby era. Such gems as Cueball Cat & Fit To Be Tied are sheer genius, and are guaranteed to make the viewer laugh until it hurts - and then some more! All the favourite extra characters are in this compilation... the duckling, soldier ants, Toodles, Spike etc.
There isn't much in the way of extras on the DVD, and one rather irritating feature of all the volumes in this T&J DVD series is the fact they're double-sided which means you have to eject the disc & turn it over to see the remaining episodes. That said, the menu system is fairly intuitive and there isn't much in the way of legal mumbo-jumbo to wade through to get the the selection menu.
If you enjoy Tom & Jerry, just buy this volume - you won't regret it! I still give it 5 stars in spite of the gripes above.
The DVD contains the following T&J cartoons:-
Side A: T&J At The Hollywood Bowl, The Framed Cat, Cue Ball Cat, Casanova Cat, Jerry & The Goldfish, Jerry's Cousin, Sleepy-Time Tom, His Mouse Friday, Slicked-Up Pup, Nit-Witty Kitty, Cat-Napping, The Flying Cat, The Duck Doctor. Side B: The Two Mouseketeers, Smitten Kitten, Triplet Trouble, Little Runaway, Fit To Be Tied (my favourite), Push-Button Kitty, Cruise Cat, The Dog House, The Missing Mouse, Jerry & Jumbo, Johann Mouse, That's My Pup & Just Ducky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More P.C cuts, but still a bargain!, 24 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
For under a fiver (just about!) I think this series of Tom and Jerry DVD's are excellent value. The DVD itself is double-sided, which helps to pack all those great cartoons in and thankfully there are no adverts at the start, so you can be playing cartoons in under 20 seconds from when you've put the disc in. If only all DVD's could be like that!

Unfortunately, as I've found with all the Tom and Jerry DVD's so far, this Volume has suffered the finger-wagging of middle class citizens who feel the need to place the title of 'Politically Incorrect' on certain aspects of the cartoons. This has resulted in the Black Mama (maid) having her voice completely re-dubbed in many of the cartoons, and replaced by a woman who speaks each word in the clearest, most perfect dialect, as if to suggest that proper pronunciation is 'safe' for children. Taking away any idea that the character had Black Afro/carribean origins is very sad - are Warner Brothers trying to dismiss a piece of history?

Afterall, if you travel here up North and pronunciation rarely exists!

Other P.C cuts include shots being re-framed, shots being cut out, and a most bizarre state of affairs on "His Mouse Friday". The cartoon is set on an island full of cannibals, and at the end, they zoom the shot into Jerry to take away the image of the smaller/younger cannibal. Yet moments later, when Jerry runs away from him, the cannibal is clearly seen, but timed so that we can't see its face... just bizarre.

I've been watching Tom and Jerry all my life, so apart from the odd distortion in picture when the frame zooms in, I was able to tell instantly when something was not right. But, for those of you who haven't been watching this for donkeys years, or who have young children, these cuts shouldn't make too much of a difference, so I still recommend you buy this DVD. However if you want the original animations in their entirety, think about getting the VHS collection's from the 90's.

UPDATE: Warner Bros. have officially announced the 'Tom and Jerry Golden Collection' due for release in October 2011. Available on Blu-ray only, the Tom and Jerry cartoons have been fully restored - both in picture/audio quality, and have NOT been cut. It will be available to import Region Free from Amazon U.S, or you can search for the placeholder here on Amazon U.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More T&J classics!, 6 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This cool collection features the cartoons from 'Tom And Jerry In The Hollywood Bowl' (1950) to Just Ducky (1953), encompassing 26 episodes including the Oscar-winning 'The Two Mouseketeers' (1951) and the end of an era as the black maid Mammy Two Shoes makes her swansong in 'Push-Button Kitty' (1952).
One cartoon that I was expecting to be heavily censored for implied racism (given that a bit of censorship had affected some of the cartoons on the previous two volumes) was 'His Mouse Friday', which features black cannibals and many scenes where Jerry disguises himself as one. This was actually more complete than the previous video version that I had seen, where the cannibal dialogue from Jerry and the cannibals was completely removed (but you could still see their mouths moving) in that version it has been restored in this (yet Mammy was still redubbed in 'Push-Button Kitty'!), although one small segment of 'His Mouse Friday' on this DVD has been reframed to put a little cannibal out of shot, which was a bit stupid as you could clearly see him just moments later!
Some great cartoons on here. Still no sign of the missing 'Million Dollar Cat' (which by rights should have appeared on Volume 1).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just marvellous., 17 April 2014
By 
G. G. Cunliffe - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
.I have marvelled at the art work since I was a boy (long time ago) and I just think how the guys who. wrote and drew must have laughed all the time they were thinking up the disasters Tec. . They are the best animated cartoons ever made. I'm proud to own them at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Same as before, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Tom and Jerry has played a huge part in childrens lives including mine, though some refuse to grow up, like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fan of cartoons?, 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Clawson (newark, notts, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
they are the best, tom and jerry , they maybe only cartoon characters, but they are totally funny, amazing,

IN MY OPINION, they are better than laurel & hardy, cannon & ball, hale & pace,

brings back memory`s of my childhood, loved them then (8 yrs old) and love them now (43yrs old) still
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm just a fan boy, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The early (ish) T&J cartoons are classics that I learnt to love while watching them when the kids were young (in their 40s now).

We all still love them. The characterisations are really spot on, the plots (Yes! plots) add to the experience and the secondary characters, ants, ducks, dogs and the maid all enhance the humour. These cartoons can be hilarious. If you don't know them buy now and you won't be disappointed. The only thing I'd change is that Tom would win the occasional battle.

Modern cartoon makers should study these to find out how it should be done.

Don't ever watch the more recent T&J efforts they are awful, made cheaply and to a formula that can best be described as hopelessly unfunny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Excellent product was as described was in good order, arrived as sited good all round excellent purchase,excellent grandchildren love it thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What fun, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Bought this for my son who is a massive T&J fan. He loved it, hes already gove vol 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic, 13 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A great dvd my 3.5 year old grandaughter loves this . So does her dad.
It keeps her entertained or as she calls it chilling out .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa476fdc8)

This product

Tom And Jerry: Classic Collection - Volume 3 [DVD] [2004]
4.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews