Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars189
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2014
Great enactment of the bloodiest battle of American Civil War, but I have to say, as with Gods and Generals' more sympathetic to the Confederate cause although authentic battle reenactments showing the mass slaughter inflicted on the poor infantry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
I enjoyed it and felt that Jeff Daniels was excellent as Laurence Chamberlain. A must for Civil War fans and historians.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Excellent film worth viewing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
okay bit long winded good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Help-no facility on this for trying to contact seller (Amazon) and we're not sure whether to bother exchanging. Our copy distorts the overlaid music soundtrack, voices and battle sounds are ok, but this came as a two-disc, not the dual sided disc advertised. Has anyone else had this problem? If so, its not worth the hassle of exchanging because it was cheap enough. We are already acquainted with the film and, frankly, its worth it for the visuals alone, especially if you are a re-enactor or history buff.

Update- have found that it works ok on another machine, so will definitely be keeping it, bit of a mystery though as we have no sound problems with anything else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
Sprawling, authentic action with great attention to detail in the equipment and battles scenes, but spoiled by some ham acting and the most obvious false beards in cinema history.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
Great film.Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Unbelievably sluggish, wooden acting, turgid, cliched dialogue; this is the perfect turkey. Writer/director Ronald Maxwell has got himself completely bogged down in his reverence for his subject, it's historical significance and the historical figures who took part. The result is a desperately slow moving dramatised documentary populated largely by sanitised robots speaking what sounds like mechanically generated oratory. This should never have made it to general release - it doesn't begin to compare with (say) Ken Burns' The Civil War series as documentary, or (for example) Schindler's List or even Dances With Wolves as historical drama. Without question one of the most disappointing movies I have ever seen.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Stuttering DVD, stick-on beards, Lee (M.Sheen) leading a heroic charge like Tesco check-out girl with price query on a tin of beans. For all the mumbling, no real explanation of how things led up to this, apart from vague 'slavery' references, no mention of the bigger picture, British Naval support of The Confederacy, French support of The North, Lincoln's plans for the slaves once they were 'free' (repatriation if you were wondering), all avoided.

I understand if you watch a movie called 'Gettysburg' it's, well, going to be about.........but, surely a bit of backround slipped in here and there would have given some real edge to take away the comedy face- furniture.
In spite of all the above I can't give this carnage 1 star because it sets out to show something that happened, and succeeds, the dressing-up box is well plundered and Civil War buffs will love it for the detail, my copy still stutters though, but thats not the movies fault, everything else is though!
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Using thousands of dedicated re-enactors and a few well known beards - sorry, actors! - tell the sad, bloody, mismanaged story of brave men set to do their duty. It's very complex and will need several watchings to get your head round it..

I was a bit nervous about the double sided DVD but it plays just fine in my cheapo DVD player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)