Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Killer Angels" magnificently brought to the big screen
"Gettysburg" is based on Michael Shaara's novel "The Killer Angels," and both works focus on this crucial battle on July 1-3, 1863 through from the perspective of five key figures: The first day of the battle is dominated by Union Calvary General John Buford (Sam Elliot), who slowed the Confederate advance to preserve the precious high ground for the Federal army. The...
Published on 16 Jan. 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film of two halves
As a big fan of the book "The Killer Angels" on which this film is based, I was slightly disappointed. The first half is very good, showing the set-up of this famous battle and the horrific close-quarter fighting of the second day. The second half - which should feature the awful tragic drama of 'Pickett's Charge' is oddly paced and loses rather than gains...
Published on 26 Mar. 2013 by M. D. Ripley


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars watched, more than any other film,, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
C. D. Seaton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
watched,more than any other film,very compelling music score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gettysburg..Well done Ted Turner!, 19 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] (DVD)
I was interested in finding out more about the US Civil War.
This was I feel a very educational DVD.
The various add-on's did in their turn lift the worth of the DVD, giving the bigger picture of events.
Hats off to Ted Turner for putting up the money.
A DVD I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone interested in the subject and will probably view it again myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cast great movie!!, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] (DVD)
Strong cast, great movie, a must for USA Civil War fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GETTYSBURG 5*****, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Tommo (Ayrshire, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] (DVD)
IF YOU LIKE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR HISTORY YOU MUST WATCH THIS DVD.
IT'S A BRILLIANT ACCOUNT OF THE BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BEFORE DURING AND AFTER, WITH GREAT ACTORS IN ALL THE MAIN CHARACTERS.
DON'T MISS THIS VERSION, WHAT A GREAT BUY FOR YOUR COLLECTION, I LOVED IT. . . ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well he damn must be a killer angel., 7 July 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gettysburg is directed by Ronald F. Maxwell who also writes the screenplay based on Michael Shaara's novel The Killer Angels. It stars Tom Berenger, Jeff Daniels, Martin Sheen, C. Thomas Howell, Stephen Lang, Kevin Conway and Sam Elliott. Randy Edelman scores the music and Kees Van Oostrum is the cinematographer. Film focuses on the events leading up to, and including, one of the most significant battles fought in the American Civil War in and around the town of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, July 1-3, 1863.

It's estimated that between 46,000 and 53,000 soldiers were killed during the three day bloody battle of Gettysburg, this film production, originally intended as a mini-series, deals mostly in military operations and the heroism of the major players from both sides of the war. As is usual with a film of this type, there's some middling historical inaccuracies, but with such a gargantuan spread of characters and a four day period of the war to cover, it's perhaps a bit churlish to be picky? In the main the film was met with favourable responses by Civil War historians, reenactors and professional critics. Though the odd prominent critical voice could be heard, such as Gene Siskel who famously called the film Southern propaganda!

Ronald F. Maxwell, backed in the passion department by media mogul Ted Turner, has produced a rich and detailed reenactment of the Gettysburg events. It is in short as close to us film viewers are likely to get to the Battle of Gettysburg. The cast of many work real well to bring this piece of history into our lives, with Berenger and an outstanding Jeff Daniels particularly standing out amongst the acting hordes. With the actual fighting sequences, there's a real sense of the horror of war, this in a war that was initially thought would last only month, but ran for over four years. Bravado is high and we get a detailed look at the perseverance and military machinations of the officers in Blue and Gray. For detail and impact, Gettysburg delivers a movie of some substance. An entertaining picture that educates as much as it enthrals. While filming at the actual locations is obviously a major and poignant bonus.

Yet it's irksome to a degree to find that with a film of such substantial length and detail, that few outside of the officers arc's are afforded time and flesh to further enhance the soldiers of Gettysburg's characterisations. The Southern cause is also glossed over to stay safe with the political correctness of modern times. Lets not hide the defence of slavery, which was the most prominent factor under the Confederate flag, with the film doing so much to educate by way of telling its story, to syphon off a critical aspect is naughty and has to be seen as a cop out by the makers. However, Maxwell doesn't take sides and makes big efforts to paint the men of both sides as stoic nobles, sticking their chests out amongst the bombardment of bullets, cannon balls and bayonets, marching on against overwhelming odds.

A dramatic and involving movie experience, and worthy of a place of any list headed as containing great war movies. But a couple flaws stop it from being the classic war film that the efforts of those involved deserved. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is worth seeing excellent DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] (DVD)
Great to know more about the civil war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Facial hair a major turn off, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wanderer (Far below the soil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] (DVD)
Interesting premise, but the fictional settings and events soon descend into boredom with the 100th speech from a dude who clearly needs to get out more and have a shave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
K. R. Clements "Sapper" (Kesgrave;Suffolk,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] (DVD)
Very pleased with DVD and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed really., 13 Sept. 2014
By 
R. G. Hancox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, looking at the reviews, seems I am in the minority. I was disappointed in this. Being a Brit, I knew hardly anything about the American civil war, and loving history, I wanted to find out more. I bought the book, but thought I would watch this first. Long list of great actors, great reviews, should be good? Not for me. Having got past the amount of ridiculous looking fake beards and tashes,what spoilt it for me was the constant overwhelming,off putting music. Yes,the movie is supposed to be patriotic, but it is constant,and most of the time loud, especially when there is no action. Then there is the acting, Apart from Jeff Daniels, everyone else seems to be hamming things off, and sounding like they are memorising lines from memory, instead of actually 'acting' them. Case in point, is Sam Elliot.Just not convincing. And Martin Sheen just seems to shuffle from one scene to another. This is a 4 hour long affair, I lasted about an hour and a half before waving the white flag. Not for me, im afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993]
Gettysburg (Double sided DVD) [1993] by Ronald F. Maxwell (DVD - 2004)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews