Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album, and what an album
Bought this album on recommendation without really knowing to expect. A vague notion that 'I think I liked the hit song that came looong ago...not that I would be able to recall it!'. Anyway, it didn't take me many minutes to realise that this would be more than a reminder of the friend that had said it 'wasn't bad'. It wasn't bad, true, but 'it is great' would have been...
Published on 21 Feb. 2005 by Ola Hallgren

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
Scruffy old and disappointing very unimpressed ,,, on it's way back as I type, will order from elsewhere in future
Published 12 months ago by Michelle Dobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album, and what an album, 21 Feb. 2005
By 
Ola Hallgren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
Bought this album on recommendation without really knowing to expect. A vague notion that 'I think I liked the hit song that came looong ago...not that I would be able to recall it!'. Anyway, it didn't take me many minutes to realise that this would be more than a reminder of the friend that had said it 'wasn't bad'. It wasn't bad, true, but 'it is great' would have been an even more accurate description. Many of the songs are little gems. Going home from work today I was standing in an underground train listening to '10 years time' at full throttle, lyrics cutting like laser within and at the same time providing a musical commentary to my dreary and weary surroundings; I dare you to try it and say that it isn't a great song!). But while (most) songs will stay with you, the best thing with this album is that it is truly an ALBUM. Definitely the sum is greater than its parts and Gabrielle's just-right delivery makes for a timeless companion that I know I will return to in years to come. Like the first reviewer did I also thought it a bit bland at first listen. But much like, say, Tracy Chapman's first album or Sade's Diamond Life it grows and grows on you -- at least if you feel compelled to hit the 'repeat album' button as I did. Don't overconsume though if you are going through a rough patch in your relation and need an lift...then again, maybe that's what you should. The broken heart lyrics of some of the songs do not reek of self-pity...rather of clear-sighted sadness and time to get a grip resoluteness. So all and all a great album. Wanting more I went and bought Gabrielle's greatest hits part 1. It was nice but if 'great' rather than 'nice' is what you are looking for -- go for this her latest album. My only complaint is that the standard cd cover shot of Gabrielle, nice as she looks, signals an Anonymous Soul Effort rather than the sweet and reflective tone that permeates the album. Trust me, you are in for a real treat...Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabrielles 2nd Greatest Hits Album, 24 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
Gabrielle returned with her forth studio album last year intitled 'Play To Win'. The album includes the two singles Stay The Same and Ten Years Time, which didn't do very well, but in my opinion the best track on the album is Fallen Angel which has got number one single written all over it! Latchkey kid, The War Of Two Minds, Give & Take and the uptempo title track Play To win are also highlights on the album. If you liked Gabrielles other albums then you will love this! It is like she has released a second greatest hits album straight after the first one as there is not a bad track on this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin..., 2 May 2004
By 
Mr. Nm Edwards "cwej12" (Horley, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
...after YET ANOTHER three year hiatus, Gabrielle returns Playing To Win, and if the music on this, her 4th studio album proper, is anything to go by, she'll be winning all over again with multi-platinum sales again.
Opening tracks 'Ten Years Time', 'Sometimes' and the aptly titled 'Stay The Same' show something of a lack of progression for Gabrielle, sounding very much like they could come from her 1999 album, but this isn't necessarily a criticism. 'Ten Years Time', in particular, is Gabrielle at her best. Lyrics that really rouse the spirit, an anthemic singalong chorus and clear, smooth production, making an essential future hit.
The middle section of the album brings Gabrielle into new territory however with 'You Used To Love Me', 'Play To Win' and 'No Big Deal' all heading into the realms of country music. 'Play To Win' is the stand out of this section of the album sounding like a strange combination of something Shania Twain or Tanita Tikaram might collabarate together on!
The 2nd half of the album takes a mixture of this new Dolly Parton-Gabrielle and the old Gabrielle we know and love, to give some of the best songs of her career. It's rare to see such a strong 2nd half of an album. 'Latchkey Kid' tells the tale of a six year old child being brought up in horrendous circumstances; 'Fallen Angel' is a ballad of hope for anyone who's ever lost their way; and 'Picking Up The Pieces' reminds me of the Gabrielle of 1993, with a more electronic sound than her more recent material. It's a pop song with enough hooks and tunes to make up half an album of any average singer's album; and on 'Tumbling Down', Gabrielle even gives us her subtle stance on the war in Iraq.
Touching on issues she's never attempted before, it is clear that Gabrielle's songwriting is maturing all the time - and if it was good enough to last the first 11 years of her career, it could last a long time yet. Consistent and catchy, with only 2 slightly weaker tracks ('No Big Deal', 'Give & Take'), this is probably Gabrielle's strongest collection of songs to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 3 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
So, this is "Play to win", Gabrielle's forth album.
Well...this is probably just my personal opinion, but I think that this product is absolutely excellent. It' more intense and powerful than the other albums and if you listen this one during a happy moment...you'll never forget all these songs, I can really say this.
1. Ten years time - A perfect beginning and a perfect song. One of the best song of the album. What can I say? 11/10
2. Sometimes - Also this is excellent. Is her typical style and her nice melody. 10/10
3. Stay the same - A more powerful one. Absolutely great. 11/10
4. You used to love me - Sweet and also with a really nice melody. 9/10
5. No big deal - Probably the best. Nothing to say about...11/10
6. Latchkey kid - Dramatic, but still ok. 8.5/10
7. Fallen angel - Strong and incredible, another great song 10/10
8. Give and take - Simply sweet. 10/10
9. War of two minds - Like the one before 10/10
10. Picking up the pieces - Good atmosphere...slow and intense...8.5/10
11. Tumbling down - Wonderful end. Simply wonderful 11/10!
In conclusion, this is my personal opinion about "Play to win". I love this album and I'll love forever. Thank you, Gabrielle, to have made this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gabrielle On Top Form, 5 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
Some have criticised this album for having no major 'hit' singles. I think this is unfair as 'Play To Win' is more mellow than anything Gabrielle has attempted previously. I would say that the songs released as singles so far (Stay The Same / Ten Years Time) would not have been my choice, as neither scream 'hit'.
There are song tracks here though that could increase the popularity of the album. The title track and 'You Used To Love Me'.
This is a great Gabrielle album. More mellow than Rise but certainly not lacking the tunes. Pop on this CD and relax, with a cocktail on a beack somewhere...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 24 May 2004
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
..if you like out of reach or any of here ballads you will love this cd. She isnt only a great singer...she wrote her own material and thats the best she could do. Congrats to an outstanding performance. Dont wait another four years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Play To Win, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
Probably not as consistently good all the way through like her earlier stuff but still some excellent tracks and quite frankly I could just to her voice all day anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
Scruffy old and disappointing very unimpressed ,,, on it's way back as I type, will order from elsewhere in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars relaxing, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
This was deliverered promptly and does just what it says its supposed to, a good buy at a good price thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from Gabrielle, 25 Feb. 2015
By 
N. B. Werner (Hove, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play To Win (Audio CD)
I haven't listened to her for ages. This was an impulse buy and I don't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play To Win
Play To Win by Gabrielle (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews