Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in the mainstream
In the early 90s Prince albums seemed to become rather shallow and lacksoul for want of a better word. His more recent releases have been deeper,jazzier affairs - good music, but not really commercial. Musicology fallsneatly between the two - a decent album, with soul, a slab of funk andsome rockier numbers - with a full commercial release.
Track-by-track - It starts...
Published on 20 April 2004

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am hereby banning the phrase 'Return to Form'.
Fact - the last four or five Prince albums have been shocking. Reviews on this site, however, have heralded a triumphant return to form in each one (can they all be a return to form?!)
I beg to differ. While I sympathise with fellow die-hard Prince fans who really want to believe, like me, that the little purple chappie still has it in him, I cannot accept that...
Published on 3 Jun 2004 by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in the mainstream, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
In the early 90s Prince albums seemed to become rather shallow and lacksoul for want of a better word. His more recent releases have been deeper,jazzier affairs - good music, but not really commercial. Musicology fallsneatly between the two - a decent album, with soul, a slab of funk andsome rockier numbers - with a full commercial release.
Track-by-track - It starts in a classic funk groove with Musicology.Illusion, Coma, Pimp & Circumstance is again funky, but with a nod to themodern urban sound. The 'songs' start with A Million Days which has alittle of that 'anthem' style heard in his 90s work, but it works. Life'O' Party returns to the ICP&C style, not a classic track, but enjoyable.With the funky party over, the lights go down with Call My Name - aclassic Prince ballad, a carefully crafted song and the next singlejudging by the sticker on the album. Cinnamon Girl is political and hencerocks it a little, like The Marrying Kind, which at times is slightlyreminiscent of the Purple Rain era. If I Was The Man in Your Lifecontinues in a similar vein. In between is What do u want me 2 do, alovely quirky number with a catchy chorus and great music. On the Couchhas a real old soul feel, demonstrating again how Prince can turn his handto most musical styles. Dear Mr Man is a decent laid back lyrical tunewith some nice horns and guitar. It stays laid back for the final track,Reflection (thankfully not one of those Queen style rock anthems seen inthe 90s) but a cool, classic Prince song which ends leaving you wantingmore.
Musicology is the most commercial, accessible and consistent Prince albumfor an age - with a mix of styles as always. As with all his recent albumsthe musicianship is exemplary - also worth a session with the headphonesto make sure you hear all that is going on in the production. Prince isback in the mainstream - but fanatics knew he'd never gone away, it wasjust a matter of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the day..., 29 Jun 2004
By 
Maldy (Bridgend, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Even back in the day when Prince Released albums like, Around The World in A Day, Sign 'o' Times, Lovesexy, he was criticised for not producing his best work. References to these albums being no Purple Rain was often made. These albums, however, are now considered some of his best work.
The problem with Prince in the past was that he was often ahead of his time - creating new sounds that were unfamiliar, that took time to appreciate. I don't think that is the case any more. But what you get with a new Prince album is a uniquely Prince Sound with all his subtle trade marks from over the years thrown in.
Another feature of Prince's music is that it is constantly changing. Just when he releases an album you really like, the next one will be completely different. Personally, I don't mind this too much as it is interesting to see what he can do. The Rainbow Children and NEWS were definitely esoteric and more enjoyable from a musician's point of view, rather than pop records.
That's where Musicology differs. It is definitely more of a pop album and you don't necessarily have to have an acquired taste to enjoy it. In so many ways it has the feel of a "good old" Prince album. Not necessarily in sound, but in arrangement and choice of types of songs. It is new, but feels kind of familiar. So it is no wonder that is being heralded as a return to form.
So what is his form like then? When I first listened to this album the songs that stood out for me were, Musicology, A Million Days, and Call My Name. I quite liked, Cinnamon Girl, What do u Want me 2 Do and If Eye Was The Man In Ur Life. The rest really seemed like weak fillers, initially for me.
After repeated listening I managed not to skip over Illusion, Coma, Pimp & Circumstance and Life 'O' The Party. I really didn't like these songs at first, but after a while began to appreciate them for what they are. I also had difficulty with the last three song. I still don't like On the Couch, but think Reflection is a perfect end to the album with its gentle nostalgic vibe.
Now after a few weeks of listening, the album really flows right the way through. What makes it all hang together is the diversity of each song. This is a good album and it grows on you with time. As always all the instruments are performed superbly, with the usual nuances and touches you come to expect from Prince. There is something not quite there to make this an outstanding album . But overall I think this is a great album to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars prince returns to rock and pop with musicology, 2 April 2004
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
after a number of years of jazz influenced albums released on the internet, prince returns to the mainstream with a knockout pop album in the style of his "gold experience" album from 1995.
...superb pop songs like "a million days" and "cinnamon girl" are some of the strongest songs he has released in years. strong prince ballads include "call my name" and "on the couch" are of course included.
...the funk is not forgotten with the brilliantly titled "illusion,coma,pimp and circumstance" and the title track "musicology"
...if you have been waiting for prince to return with a good ,solid pop album then wait no longer. this is a great return to what he does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am hereby banning the phrase 'Return to Form'., 3 Jun 2004
By 
Pete (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Fact - the last four or five Prince albums have been shocking. Reviews on this site, however, have heralded a triumphant return to form in each one (can they all be a return to form?!)
I beg to differ. While I sympathise with fellow die-hard Prince fans who really want to believe, like me, that the little purple chappie still has it in him, I cannot accept that churning out this kind of mediocre strangeness constitutes a return to form.
Musicology isn't bad, it's just not worthy of sitting on the same same shelf as Sign of the Times, Lovesexy or anything earlier. The tracks on this latest effort nod at some old classics, but in doing so draw attention to their own shortcomings. The title track is strangely reminiscent of 'Sexy MF', which at the time stood out as a bad song on a half-decent album. 'Life of the Party' is a 'Housequake' for the new millenium, but hardly compares. 'Cinnamon Girl' is awful, and the intro to 'If Eye' is a retreat to the worst excesses of vocal self-indulgence since 'Solo'. A couple of others would have been at home on the 'Chaos and Disorder' album, but I could believe they were out-takes.
Tracks 2 and 11 are excellent, and should be played on repeat until you die.
As with 'The Rainbow Children', Prince has chucked in a couple of ironic references to his dwindling fan-base ('He don't play the hits no more, plus I thought he was gay / my voice is getting higher and I ain't never had my nose done'). To me though, the problem with this album and the previous five is not the change in direction - look at REM, Primal Scream, Kylie, even (dare I say it) Tom Jones, who have all re-invented successfully over the years - but the fact that the end result just isn't that good any more.
Happily, Sony has beaten a few of the more irritating idiosyncracies out of the be-purpled one. I am delighted to report that there is none of that ridiculous 33rpm voice (which was perfect on the Black Album's Bob George but crass on everything since) or the scripted comedy scenes between tracks that plagued a lot of the late NPG stuff and, more lately, the Rainbow Children.
This is a passable album, but is not a return to form, and I don't think there will be one now. Stop your Prince collection at Chaos and Disorder. Having said that I will continue to buy eagerly (and then be disappointed by) everything he ever releases .. and perhaps that's what upsets me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than "3121", but still not great, 5 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
This isn't the comeback it was said to be...

Prince lost a lot of fans because of his antics and output in the 1990s, and this was supposedly his "return to form", but even as a huge fan of his work I don't rate it highly at all.

Some of the songs are good, and at least most of them use real instruments and real musicians. The title track is a funky enough tune but doesn't really go anywhere. "Illusion, Coma..." is downright awful and free of both tune and melody. "A Million Days" is great - a real return to songs the likes of "The Holy River" and maybe even "Gold". "Life O The Party" is extremely tedious. "Call My Name" is the first of the ballads and is alright, if nothing special. "Cinnamon Girl" sounds great in the verses, but the chorus is just Prince singing the words "Cinnamon Girl" over and over again - lazy. "What Would U Want Me 2 Do" has a horrible vocal which sounds out of tune. "The Marrying Kind" and "If I Was The Man In Your Life" merge together into one not very special song. "On The Couch" is an uninspired ballad. Finally, "Dear Mr Man" and "Reflection" are enjoyable enough, but still fairly weak.

So, out of twelve songs there are maybe two decent tracks. Sadly, his follow-up album ("3121") was even weaker. Will he ever return to form?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Musicology, 29 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Musicology (Audio CD)
Recently, the word "comeback" has been very loosely used in music literature. Whenever an artist disappears, whether willingly or due to an ailing career bump, critics are fast to label it a comeback. This is the case with one of the greatest artists in popular culture, Prince. However, Prince didn't really go anywhere to come back. He has been releasing oodles of albums. With the purple legend's over-gushing of creative fluids, it comes as no surprise that he has released more albums than there are years in the past decade.
His last addition was NEWS, a record put together at Paisley Park in one day. The 4-track album contains, respectively, the jams "North," "East," "West" and "South," hence the abbreviation.
The new album, however, is a full length effort that sounds more like his older works. Surprisingly, the title track "Musicology" has been gaining a lot of airplay with its big band throw-down. The song is a groovy ode to old-school jive with lyrics that reflect the science of melody or musicology.
The song meanders into another strong number titled "Illusion, Coma, Pimp & Circumstance," which is reminiscent of an early 90's beat.
The rest of Musicology is heavy on instrumentation, yet stumpy on original melody. "A Million Days" is a bore and "Call My Name" reaches for seduction but falls short.
Then there is "The Marrying King," where Prince attempts, yet again, to grab hold of the closet. Is he the only one that doesn't know? The same goes for "If Eye Was the Man in Your Life."
There are some victories with "Cinnamon Girl," where Prince tackles the racial implications post-9/11. "Life O' the Party" is pleasant at times, but does not come close to hit material.
Musicology is one of his better releases, perhaps his best since the three-disc collection Emancipation, and a relief when considering mishaps like The Rainbow Children. However, the artist formerly known as the artist formerly known as Prince has a long way to go to achieve the funky-cool of Sign O' The Times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome 2 the Dawn., 15 May 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Prince is back. No, hold up. He never disappeared. Not only has he still been making records, but his influence permeates every corner of radio. Don't believe me? Then re-listen to Britney Spears' "I'm a Slave 4 U." Give Kelis' album "Tasty" a spin and tell me you don't hear the Prince-inspired grooves in "Milkshake." And Andre 3000 and the Neptunes pretty much owe much of their musical style to the Purple One. After a rush of great publicity, Prince releases his first major-label album in over five years: "Musicology." It's easily his most accessible offering in years, even though it won't make any of us forget about prior glories "Dirty Mind," "Parade," or "Sign O the Times." He brings up the funk as usual, but there's a noticeable difference. Anyone looking for the raunchier Prince of "Head" or "Darling Nikki" will be disappointed. Tracks like "The Marrying Kind" and "If Eye Was the Man in Ur Life" show that Prince is now all for monogamy and not fly-by-night conquests. Amazingly, Prince played every instrument in most of the tracks such as the James Brown-esque title song and "Life O the Party" both of which are fine uptempo exercises in the prime funk we've come to expect. Another great jam is "Dear Mr. Man," a compelling social commentary that has former protege Sheila E. on percussion. Cruising through a host of issues from racism to AIDS, it's the most politically charged Prince song I can remember. So, "Musicology" is the very album that will put Prince back on the map where he should be. It's no instant classic, but it's an impressive set that reminds us why he was welcomed into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a lesson from a real musician, 28 April 2004
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Prince plays and sings almost everything on this album and whilst I'dprefer the old band sound he used to have "back in the day" it works wellhere though can sound a little sterile at times. His lyrics are as cleveras ever, covering a lot of topics and themes. For me there are three dudtracks (Illusion, Party, Couch) and the rest of the album sits comfortablyaround the classic/very good mark.
The dubious raunchiness of some previous releases has been toned down forthis one, which I think has helped with the commercial success this albumhas enjoyed. That, along with Sony/Colombia's marketing departmentconvincing people he hasn't released an album in ten years!
I'd recommend this album to anybody with even a passing interest inPrince. Just make sure you check out his back catalogue when you hungerfor more, it's a treasure trove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music, 4 real music lovers!, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Musicology is Prince's first release with Sony/Columbia records, and isbeing hailed as a return to form. The simple fact is - he's never reallybeen away! (Check out The Rainbow Children from 2001).
This albums style is as mixed a Prince Concert audience with R&B, "DEARMR. MAN" Soul "ON THE COUCH", Funk "ILLUSION, COMA, PIMP & CIRCUMSTANCE",Rock "CINNAMON GIRL" and even an acoustic track "Reflection"
It's great album being what you'd expect from one of the most underratedartists of our time - Prince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The King of Funk Continues, 9 Oct 2004
This review is from: Musicology [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Soon as you press play you know ur gonaa be playing this cd again and agin! A must for all Prince fans, just wich it had a few more tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Musicology [Digipak]
Musicology [Digipak] by Prince (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews