Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contraband is an amazing rock album
i'm a huge fan of guns n' roses to start with. But as from today i'm officialy a bigger fan of velvet revolver. I've been listening to contraband for the past week on MTV's official website and its simply an amazing rock album. It kicks off with the punky "sucker train blues" which has a catchy bassline intro that'll stick deep into your head. The first 5 songs will rock...
Published on 6 Jun 2004 by digs_markey

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I know music piracy is wrong but this is just ridiculous,
Firstly, I should just mention that the music on this albumn is absolutely brilliant, possibley lacking in a few slash style "epic" solo's, (speaking as a huge slash fan), but that aside the music easily gets 5 stars. The problem lies with the CD.
Before buying, this "digipak" version of contraband appears to be nothing more then a bonus disc with an extra track on...
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Jack Carden


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Great Album, 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
This Album may not seem as a good as Guns N Roses but, that doesnt mean it aint good. Slash is Back with some more incredible Solos, one of which is slither with one the most effective solos i have ever heard. If you liked Guns N Roses then you'd probably like these guys, there basically the same, Just heavier.
i love this album, I recommend to all you GNR fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most kickass album ever, 15 Jan 2006
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
this is one of the best albums i have ever had. im bit confused why everyone is saying they are like guns n roses, i know most of the members were from g n r but they are very different (in my view better)
it has some amazing riffs, a couple of good shred solos and just all round greatness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST ROCK ALBUM OF ALL TIME!! BUY ME!!!, 23 Sep 2005
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
How do i sum this album up? awesome, amazing, unbelievable...this really is the greatest album since time began, no song on here gets a rating of less than 10/10 for me, some higher. Slash's guitar work is superb, spot on, he is one of the only people who knows how to play his instrument with such grace i would label it beautiful. Vocals remain constantly inspirational (better thn Axl Rose) and sound really deep and meaningful. I'd have given it 6/5 if i could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VR not GNR, 6 July 2004
By 
James Packer "jamespacker" (Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
Just thought it was worth contributing at least one review that doesn't compare VR to GNR. Why everyone insists on doing so is beyond me. This is a different band, a different century, a different singer, a different vibe, a different band lyrically and they have moved on. You should do the same.
The first few songs on Contraband rock. Without fail they have the huge riffs that Slash has become famous for and catchy choruses courtesy of the criminally underrated Scott Weiland. Big Machine is where this record really comes alive for me, and shows that this band will not be brushed off lightly. The curious stop-start riff takes a few listens to get your head around, but it really works and is the first indication that there is enough invention and creativity here to span a few albums.
First lighters-in-the-air moment is Fall to Pieces. If Slash and co. were a bit more coffee-table friendly I'd be calling it a number 1 record. It's a good enough song, but it's commerciality sits slightly at odds with some of the other tracks, which have a bit more depth to them. For a more emotional ballad you should listen to Loving the Alien, which is absolutely ace. It builds and builds, but is always understated, leaving you wanting more at the end of it.
Headspace and Superhuman are two of the standout tracks on the record, in my opinion. The former has got a great riff, is instantly catchy and does a great job of starting the second half of the album. Superhuman is weird. Not on the surface, but the more you listen to it, the weirder it gets. A fantastically twisted guitar line, a number of different sections and several changes of tempo, and it still manages to have a strong melody.
This record doesn't die quietly either. The two obvious singles (Set Me Free and Slither) are both towards the end of the album. Slither in particular is brilliant. It has THAT riff, a fantastic solo and a great melody... What more does a song need? Set Me Free also has the same winning formula, albeit with a slightly less manic solo, but an equally big chorus.
Overall this is a great rock record. Most of the tracks involve the same basic recipe (a big riff, a big chorus, pentatonic solo, repeat to fade), but this is rescued from boredom by a) the songwriting, which means you are happy to hear the same formula applied several times, and b) the odd bit of strangeness, which spices it all up a bit and keeps you guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!!!!, 7 Jun 2004
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
I have to say, with all the press that VR have recieved over the last year it is incredable that they can put out this record...
Everyone expects... so many people have spoken like this is the record that should've come out after Illusions 1 & 2... but that was like 10 years ago...
I think that this record is really good, no excellent.. and it just goes to show that low down dirty rock and roll always wins... bands, pop acts and rock star wannabies (busted must die!!!) come and go, but at the end of the day you can allways tell when its Slash cutting up the fret board...
The stand out tracks for me have to be Slither, Sucker Train Blues and Fall to Pieces... I actually can't stop hitting the replay button on Fall to Pieces, it just gives you the shivers down the back of your neck just like Sweet Child O' Mine...
All in all, this is a must buy for anyone into Rock and Roll... buy it and enjoy it for what it is.. just don't buy into the media hype...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contraband, 31 May 2004
By 
Mr. A. D. Hill "snakepit_uk" (nottingham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
having heard all the tracks, thanks to internet radio i can say that this album is amazing.
slither and set me free have both been available for a while now if you looked hard enough. both are amazing tracks.
sucker train blues was recently played on radio one, and has a strong riff and an amazing slash solo as you would expect.
do it for the kids is my personal favourite song on the album, it has a great deal of energy about it,allthough there is no solo.
big machine would be a good choice for a single in my opinion
the only version of illegal I, I have heard was poor quality so it is hard to judge the song from that.
specticle has some nice guitar licks which work well within the song.
fall to pieces (the second single) is a brilliant ballad written by scott just after he kicked the drugs and also during the break up with his wife (they are now back together). the lyrics are meaningful and the song is pure quality
headspace the same as illegal I the only version i have heard are poor quality, so i wont make judgement on the song.
you got no right, this song was first performed in 2003 and is brilliant, slash takes an amazing solo in this song.
super human, is my least favourite song on the album
loving the alien (sometimes) is another brilliant ballad, and another good choice for a single,
the UK version of contraband is supposed to have a bonus track which as far as i know is a cover of the sex pistols song bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded Revolver, 16 Aug 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
It could have been a disaster, but thank goodness it isn't. Scott Weiland, the charismatic lead singer of Stone Temple Pilots, teams up with exiled members of Guns N' Roses to form a supergroup whose debut album surpasses all reasonable expectations. "Contraband" is a stick of rock and roll dynamite that explodes with untamed aggression. From the moment you hear the opening groove "Sucker Train Blues," you know you're in for a joyride like no other. The music seesaws from the best of G N' R and STP, and you can feel the presence of both groups on each and every track. "Big Machine," "Illegal i Song," "Spectacle," and "You Got No Right" are all standouts. Slash's guitar is still a commanding force, and Weiland's voice, which ranges from a shrill whine to a baritone growl, is still in great form. The power ballad is a dreaded rock and roll cliche, but even the slow jam "Fall to Pieces" ain't half bad. While the latest incarnation of Guns N' Roses has spent Lord-knows-how-long recording their may-or-may-not-be-released "Chinese Democracy" LP, Velvet Revolver has put out one of this year's most pleasant surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'n' Roll Legend!!!!!!!!, 10 Sep 2004
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
Well, there was a lot of scepticism surrounding this album, and Scott Weiland and co really did have a lot of work to put in to live up to the hype...and they have furthered expectations beyond anything I could have expected.
When I heard about VR, I thought, "What a cash-in!". 3 ex-Guns 'n' Roses dudes, and a temperamental singer, calling themselves Velvet Revolver. Oh dear.
But then...I heard Slither, and everything changed. This, once listened to, is one of the greatest rock albums of the last 20 years.
Slash's solos are superb, Matt Sorum's drums are magnificent, Duff McKagen's bass is great, and Weiland's singing has a poison to it that gives the whole album a very nice sound.
Get it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Musical Masterpiece, 11 July 2004
This review is from: Contraband (Audio CD)
You'd be forgiven for assuming that the "supergroup" status assigned to this band had gone to their heads. I mean, Slash, Matt Sorum, Duff McKagan (all ex G'n'R) and Scott Weiland? Sounds almost too good to be true huh? Well, it isn't. This album proves the critics wrong. This band has substance, and the tracks prove that.
I'm not going to go through each track one-by-one - I could go on forever about the merits of each. Instead, here's the standout tracks;
Do It For The Kids:
A cliched name if ever there was one, but possibly the most ass kicking song on the album.
Fall To Pieces:
A modern anthem. Possibly Slash's best melodic work since Sweet Child, and I don't say that lightly.
You Got No Right:
A real rebellious sort of song. Weiland at his best, in my view. Great stuff.
These tracks are my personal choice, you know? They're just what I think sum up the attitude of the album best. The album is great. I had it on constantly for a month, and it's still in rotation now. A brilliant album from whichever way you look at it. A must have. That simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 23 Jun 2004
This review is from: Contraband [Digipak] (Audio CD)
This is one of those rare 'grower' albums that gets better the more you listen to it. I don't think anyone was expecting an album like this. All the bands influences are right in your face - in some places I thought "Wildhearts", others "Metalica", and yes even "GnR". It's a real mish-mash but strangely all consistent. Slash is the last great guitar hero and plays some stunning leads. The rest of the band are tighter than a gnats well fitted underwear, and Scott Weiland is a revelation. This album begs to be played stupidly devastatingly loud in your car - well, it'll make a change to listening to all the drum and bass stuff that pollutes the road! I just want to rave rave rave about this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contraband
Contraband by Velvet Revolver (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews