Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great once its installed
The install is annoying and rebooting 3 times added to the annoyance. Once installed nero was great and burned a music cd for me without a hitch, unlike pinnacle instantcd/dvd (which is why I bought nero).
Unlike other companies Ahead gives you lots of free updates as well as just bug fixes.
Much better than the competition, easy interface backed up with a...
Published on 15 May 2004 by Colin Symon

versus
70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nero 6 is good but Nerovision Express 2 is very frustrating.
I thought that I would give Nero 6 (PowerPack) a try, it seems to offer amazing range of tools at a great value. However, having had the product for several weeks now I'm finding parts of it extremely frustrating. I brought it mainly for the ability to edit movies and burn them to DVD using NeroVision Express 2.
This is the problem, NeroVision Express 2 appears to...
Published on 9 Sep 2004 by Devonplace


Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nero 6 is good but Nerovision Express 2 is very frustrating., 9 Sep 2004
By 
Devonplace (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
I thought that I would give Nero 6 (PowerPack) a try, it seems to offer amazing range of tools at a great value. However, having had the product for several weeks now I'm finding parts of it extremely frustrating. I brought it mainly for the ability to edit movies and burn them to DVD using NeroVision Express 2.
This is the problem, NeroVision Express 2 appears to have a big problem in memory management. This took several days to find this out, but after you edit your movie, you then have to transcode it before it gets burnt to DVD. The transcoding takes roughly 4 hours (this can vary depending on machine spec and quality of movie) to complete, but this is where it falls down. After about 3 hours the application simply disappears with no trace of it ever running in the first place. I did try this several times with diferent size projects, the maximum project size that actually worked was 1Gb or approx 15 mins of high quality video. That means that 75% of a 4.7Gb disc is wasted. So Nerovision does work but is currently no good for real world applications. My system is extremely well specified and I have a Dual Layered DVD writer; if it can't burn a single layered disc there's no way it will stretch to 9Gb disc.
Initially, I thought no problems, I'll visit the Nero website and ensure that I have the latest version of the software. I did have the latest version. I tried their online support pages and its extremely limited. I tried various forums and discovered that this problem was fairly common. So I contacted the Nero Technical Support Team. This is the other great failing, the service offerred by the support team is very poor. They have given me a generic solution that didn't make any difference and in corresponding to my issue they take a while to reply if at all. So far I'm still waiting for a solution and I'm stuck with a product that doesn't do what its suppose to.
My verdict is if you want to edit movies from your digital camcorder and burn to DVD then stay well clear of Nerovision Express 2 until they get the bugs sorted out. Otherwise the rest of the package is very good and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great once its installed, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
The install is annoying and rebooting 3 times added to the annoyance. Once installed nero was great and burned a music cd for me without a hitch, unlike pinnacle instantcd/dvd (which is why I bought nero).
Unlike other companies Ahead gives you lots of free updates as well as just bug fixes.
Much better than the competition, easy interface backed up with a powerful core. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The score is Nero 6 - InCD nil, 8 Sep 2004
By 
R. D. Robson "Alpha Male" (County Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
I've been using Nero 5.5 for some time now and find their GUI fairly easy to use and understand.
So when I first started using Nero 6 the traditional way (i.e.,Burning Rom and Express) it was like a seeing a familiar friend.
However, the Nero StartSmart interface makes selecting your preferred application a breeze.
Unfortunately, the included InCD 4 is absolute rubbish. Even after downloading the latest InCD updates I still suffer from corrupted files and damaged CD-RW disks. It makes no difference whether I format the disks using Mount Rainier or the traditional packet writing way.
My PC constantly requests me to send in report after report to Microsoft when I use this application and then locks up when I try to eject the disk.
It's a great idea in principle but it's just not reliable enough to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST CD/DVD BURNING SOFTWARE EVER! :D :D :D, 29 April 2004
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
Ok, Nero 6 is everything you could hope for, not only has it never faileda CD-R due to rock-steady Buffer underun support it also is extremelyreliable at DVD(+/-)R's as they fail extremely rarely. The STARTsmartcentre is excellent as it is very user friendly and informative atselecting the tasks you want to do. The classic Nero look is there forvery advances features but for just about everything the Nero Express isvery simple and easy to use.
The power-pack (Nero Digital and Nero Vision Express) is excellentallowing you to not only rip full DVD's to 1x 700mb CD at excellentquality (about 4x better than VCD!) incredibly fast (30 mins for a 2hourfilm) but also allows you to make your own professional looking DVD's fromvideo clips with their own menus that are highly easy to customise usingyour own pictures as backgrounds etc.
PROBIBLY THE BEST SOFTWARE I HAVE USED IN A LONG TIME!!
MONEY WELL SPENT :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 179 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nero 6 PowerPack, 1 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
Nero 6 in this edition is a very powerful suite and once it is satisfactorily installed it is nice to use. Certainly a good upgrade for those using Nero 5,
But:
>1 It is quite difficult to install because it needs to have Windows Media Player uninstalled, or at least stopped. As users of WMP later versions will know it is not possible for this player to be uninstalled unless one is an accomplished hacker. It can only be stopped for a few seconds using Task Manager, and it will then restart. So to install Nero 6+Powerpack, Task manager has to be opened and on top showing running processes, the Nero 6 application its installer has to be started and got to the point of having entered the serial number and then stop Windows Media Player using Task manager and instantly hit "Next" in the Nero installer, otherwise the Nero installer will autoclose.
>2 The "install the suite" option does not work well and does not install all the applications: so install them one by one.
>3 Then immediately reboot and upgrade [no problems with Windows media player for this] because the applications on the CD are all six months out of date.
The whole installation and upgrade will take over 30 minutes and require three reboots minimum.
>4 The "InCD" packet writing application is none standard, unlike standard DLA packet writer [i.e. Drag&Drop]it has to have the Windows "Record to this CD" turned on and it does not, despite the claim to do so, support "DVD+RW" media.
5> The online Help is really, really bad.
>
To sum up, this is a good reasonablly priced suite for experienced Nero users but for others starting to burn CD's and wanting more than the useful basic burner offered by Microsoft Windows XP Pro, the more expensive packages from Roxio or Sonic would be a better buy and more versatile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How frustrating!!!!, 14 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
I bought this software about a year ago, and still have not been able to get to grips with it!!! The reason I bought it was to edit CDs but it seems that the Nero Wave Editor software does not work properly as it will not open the MP3 files already on my hard drive. It is great for burning CDs and making compilations, but I was a little bit disappointed with the overall package. A year on, and i've decided to cut my losses and purchase a different software package!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars up grading, 11 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
i presntly have nero 5 and i find the program so easy to use,and in the process of buying the lastest number 6 due to up grading to xp a product worth buying and it,s cheaper thru amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 30 July 2004
By 
Mrs. B. Hodgson "bel2kenny" (Carlisle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) (CD-ROM)
Just installed it today,no problems on new computer,works well
would recommend this product to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite)
Nero 6 Power Pack (replacement of Nero 6 CD/DVD Burning Suite) by Nero (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: 40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews