Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS AMAZING!
This is a film about free running or Le Parkour (hence to be called PK) and it is simply amazing. So what is PK? Well a few months back there was an advert for BBC1, with a man running over rooftops, making amazing leaps from building to building, flipping around and generally being athletic. Well that is PK in a highly developed form, and that man was one of the...
Published on 11 Jun 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and not what I was expecting
I like Parkour, but as an armchair participant. I bought this expecting to see lots of people leaping about buildings and making me go 'oooh' and 'ahhh'. I was sadly disappointed.
The dvd gives a good grounding in the background of Parkour, and an insight into how it started, all very well and interesting, but then the scene jumps to london and the participants...
Published on 10 Dec 2009 by FussyMissus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS AMAZING!, 11 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a film about free running or Le Parkour (hence to be called PK) and it is simply amazing. So what is PK? Well a few months back there was an advert for BBC1, with a man running over rooftops, making amazing leaps from building to building, flipping around and generally being athletic. Well that is PK in a highly developed form, and that man was one of the founders of PK. So PK is kind of skating without a board, it combines climbing and gymnastics with elements from martial arts. Its involves running through urban and built up areas, jumping and vaulting over obsticles and things in your way, clearing gaps, jumping down huge drops and so on. So the film centres around three of the sports founders, all three of them are french and they founned the sport in their home town years ago because they were bored! These three people are amazing athletes and the film is about them free running over famous London landmarks such as the Albert Hall and one of the countries Battleships!!! It is to put it bluntly amazing and awe inspiring, they literally defy gravity, (at one point one of them jumps 40feet off a gun turret on the ship!). At no point are any safety measures used, no nets or matts, the guys just know their own abilities and do not exceed them. This is an absolutly amazing DVD and one that every one should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FREE RUNNING BLISS, 7 Mar 2005
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is an amazing dvd for parkour/free runners or for people who enjoy watching stuff that is unusual and interesting. i am also a free runner and that helps me to understand the dvd more, and understand all their theorys. a very good programme about the art of free running and contains some exellent parkour footage. including 40ft drops, massive kong vaults an everything else that comes with parkour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and not what I was expecting, 10 Dec 2009
By 
FussyMissus (Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] (DVD)
I like Parkour, but as an armchair participant. I bought this expecting to see lots of people leaping about buildings and making me go 'oooh' and 'ahhh'. I was sadly disappointed.
The dvd gives a good grounding in the background of Parkour, and an insight into how it started, all very well and interesting, but then the scene jumps to london and the participants trying to get permission to leap about on the rooves etc, and finally they go and do it.... the asking permission parts were longer than the parkour, and sadly the camera angles and filming was dull to say the least. I could have done better with my camcorder to be honest and I was not at all impressed.
It got two stars because some of the Parkour bits are quite good, but it's expensive for a few minutes of parkour pleasure. Not reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CCCOOOOOLLLLLL, 21 July 2004
By 
Paul Baker (Scarborough North yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
These people are amazing.I went to the national adventure sports show (NASS04) and the jump london guys where there doing there thing. One of the them jumped a 10 foot gap and landed on the railings on the other side.the drop was about 12 feet down......... i saw some of this DVD there and it is amazing.in one bit he actually runs along a wall!!!!!!!!! buy it i know i am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made, and more than meets the eye, 14 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a very well made film, with more to it than one might expect. The film doesn't show as much action as some might like to see, as it devotes plenty of time to the planning and thought processes which prefaced the event in general, and each challange within. Furthermore, the delight of the film is in the way it gets across the artistic merit of the activity, using clever camera shots and angles to show the fluidity and subtlety of the events. Thoughtful interviews add to the intrigue, and one can't help watching in admiration. Fascinating to see how they approached London with the selected events, though I would have loved to have seen the inclusion of the Barbican complex, surely a perfect playground for this intense pastime?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 1 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great pics and well told. Made me interested in more but this one is the best of them. My 17-year old nephew loved it and showed it to all his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-released!, 6 May 2007
By 
Michael Christie "Mike Christie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great to see this DVD in such high demand, but just to let you all know it's being re-released in July 2007 after a switch of distributor.

Mike Christie (director)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars abit frustrating, 28 Jan 2009
By 
P. Garland (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my nephew who has taken up freerunning. basically the 1st half of this is totally worthless lots of talking about a subject that needs to be seen not talked about. once they start doing the tricks and stop talking about it its worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 14 April 2009
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] (DVD)
A great DVD and inspirational for my own Parkour training also something fun to watch on those days when you need revisit your origins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parkour: The Art Of Movement, 30 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Jump London [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
IF its parkour/freerunning you want then this is the only dvd which will offer you the quality! I actually do the discipline of parkour, and these guys are the ones who inspired me and when you see this dvd you will see how they inspired me! Everything they do it so fluent, and its amazing how they manage to do some of the things they do without making it look un-natural!!
Amazing... a "must buy"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jump London [DVD] [2003]
Jump London [DVD] [2003] by Mike Christie (DVD - 2004)
1.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews