Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated film ever?
Anyone who hasn't seen this film is seriously missing out. James Woods plays the consumate conman who sets up a boxing sting involving Louis Gosset Jr as the boxer, and Oliver Platt as their accomplice. Bruce Dern plays the redneck baddie perfectly. Heather Graham also offers token support.
This film oozes coolness, a great script, and breathtaking boxing sequences...
Published on 23 Sep 2004 by Demetri P.

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not adapted for widescreen TV
Great film but the ends of the screen were missing so it felt as though I was only seeing half of the film
Published 1 month ago by Andrew Spicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated film ever?, 23 Sep 2004
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Anyone who hasn't seen this film is seriously missing out. James Woods plays the consumate conman who sets up a boxing sting involving Louis Gosset Jr as the boxer, and Oliver Platt as their accomplice. Bruce Dern plays the redneck baddie perfectly. Heather Graham also offers token support.
This film oozes coolness, a great script, and breathtaking boxing sequences. This knocks the spots off 99% of films coming out at the moment and the fact that it has taken 12 years to come out on DVD is a disgrace! However, the good news is that now everyone can enjoy what is essentially a boys film, but truly one of the great underrated films of all time. Watch out for the killer ending....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class - woods outstanding, 14 Oct 2003
By 
Dermot Mangan (Kildare Town, Co. KIldare Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Midnight Sting [VHS] (VHS Tape)
this by far one of the best films ever made about a con artist. woods was brilliant as a con man just out of jail who uses a towns history to take on its big shot. With a classic twist at the end this is a vey enjoyable film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Never try to con a con-man!", 16 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. J. R. Ryan "vonry" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
To call this 'The Sting' of our generation (age 26) would not be an exaggeration.
Midnight Sting (aka Diggstown) is a fast-paced barrage of hustle, con and outsmart from start to finish!
James Woods is on, as always, fantastic form. Playing a role that seems very close to home for the poker playing king of cool.
A great supporting cast help make this film one of the best box office under performers ever.
The plot doesn't need explaining the film should be watched with no prior knowledge of whose who! Can you guess the final twist before it happens! I doubt it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good they named it twice!, 16 May 2014
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This slick action comedy punches well above it's weight. A powerhouse cast grace the screen with each member scene stealing from the other. The plot doesn't stop for a moment and the boxing action is really well staged. Woods and Dern are fine but Louis Gosset, Jnr is the man in the ring and for my money he's the true class on the screen. The con unfolds alongside a well paced screenplay which ends with delicious little twist. This was also released under the title Diggstown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Knockout!, 12 July 2011
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
How this film remains in relative obscurity is completely beyond me. This is one of the most entertaining flicks you've never seen.

James Woods stars as con-man Gabriel Cain just released from prison and sets out to scam a boxing-obsessd redneck town called Diggstown. He does so by setting up a bet with the local Kingpin that his old boxing partner can beat any 10 of Diggstown's fighters in 1 day. And from there, the stakes go completely out of control, building up to a brilliantly scripted ending.

Louis Gossett Jr is astonishingly good as the ageing boxer and Oliver Platt provides strong support as their less-than-subtle accomplice. Heather Graham is always worth a look (if you know what I mean) and Bruce Dern plays the part of an evil redneck to absolute perfection.

Realists will moan that no boxer can take 10 men in one day, but this isn't about realism - this is about an absorbing plot with twists & turns galore. While not wanting to give too much away, some of these are hilarious - check out the 4th fight - and others are downright sinister - the aftermath of the 5th fight - not to mention Cain's little 'reminder' at the mid-tournament break and a tragic subplot of a brain-damaged former boxer whose fate was decided by sickening corruption.

Yet the script balances the humour & the sinister brilliantly, with sharp dialogue delivered with aplomb from Dern & Woods and there's no let-ups from any of the supporting cast. And I promise you, the ending of this movie is worth the admission price alone!

All in all, an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know the difference between a hustler and a good con-man?, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Diggstown (also known as Midnight Sting) is directed by Michael Ritchie and stars James Woods, Louis Gossett, Jr. and Bruce Dern. It also features Heather Graham, Oliver Platt, a pre-fame James Caviezel and Randall "Tex" Cobb. The plot sees Woods as con-man Gabriel Caine, recently out of prison he and his cohort Fitz (Platt), set up a boxing "sting" in Diggstown, a hickville place out in Olivair County that is run by egomaniac John Gillon (Dern). The set-up entails Caine's old friend Honey Roy Palmer (Gossett Jr) having to fight, and beat, 10 Diggstown men in one day. As the money goes down and secrets come out, corruption and violence is never far away.

Midnight Sting was one of those film's that came to my attention in the early hours of one morning. I couldn't sleep and turned the TV on out of pure frustration at lack of sleep. What I didn't know at that time of irksome sleepy annoyance was that I would fall in love with a movie, a love that lasts to this very day. The TV announcer said the name of the movie and that it stars James Woods. Since Woods is always value for money I thought I would give it a go, for the next 98 minutes I laughed out loud, I cringed at some sad moments and I punched the air on more than one occasion. It quickly became one of my favourite movies of all time. On the surface it looks a very simple tale, but it has so much more to offer outside of the excellent fight sequences and some belting one liners.

Based on Leonard Wise's novel The Diggstown Ringers, the film deals in loyalties, friendships, greed, power, corruption and lies; not to mention small town mentality being under the microscope. It's impeccably acted too, with the Woods and Gossett play off one of the most engaging duets of the 1990s. While the twists, and there are some corkers, really crown what was already a smart and witty script. It was a film that went largely unnoticed on its release, and even now in this age of rampant internet use it appears to still be under seen or sadly forgotten. It of course wont become a personal favourite of all newcomers to it, but just maybe one day if you can't sleep or you are stuck for a rental then you should give it a chance. Because it deserves a chance to at least try to welcome you into its fan club.

I love it, you know that by now, and there's a chance that you will too. Punch the air brilliant. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Sting, 13 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Great Movie. All time favourite from many years back.Keep watching till the end cos the final sting is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Boxing Film for Grown-ups, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Richard Waddington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
A very quick addition to the comments below which have just about said it all. This is a fantastic film if you like, boxing, hustling, gamesmanship, action-comedies. This is a fantastic film if you hate boxing, hustling, gamesmanship, action-comedies. As is said before I challenge anyone to guess the final twist before its revealed. The final twist that is, not the twist you think you see coming at the end, oh no, I mean the twist after that.

The only grumble I have about this film is that one of the opponents for Honey Ray to face is SOOOO huge, that you really can't see him ever losing. On the upside the sight of Heather Grahams legs more than make up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not adapted for widescreen TV, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Great film but the ends of the screen were missing so it felt as though I was only seeing half of the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woods at his best, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
James woods is fantastic as always. This movie will have you gripped from the beginning as it starts with a prison fight and develops into Gabriel (James woods), pulling of a huge con with the help of Lou Gossett Junior.

This is a fantastic movie particularly if you like boxing, it's very witty and I think one of woods best films that has unfortunately remained in the shadows.

Get it and I'm sure you'll agree that it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993]
Midnight Sting [DVD] [1993] by Michael Ritchie (DVD - 2004)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews