Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
What a great movie - can't believe I'd never even heard of it before last week. Why is it not still in circulation?
The sound quality is the only thing that let's it down, to be honest it is terrible, but the storyline and filming are first class.
Obviously the film is quite dated now, but Luke Martin (played by Jon Voight)is just gorgeous and shines throughout...
Published on 21 April 2008 by MilleR

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, shame about the DVD
This is a great movie, with wonderful performances, but is severely let down by the terrible quality of the DVD. The picture is very grainy and the soundtrack crackly and indistinct. (I had to turn on the subtitles to make out what was being said.) It was like watching through a net curtain with cotton wool in your ears.
Published on 5 Feb. 2007 by Jenny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, shame about the DVD, 5 Feb. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie, with wonderful performances, but is severely let down by the terrible quality of the DVD. The picture is very grainy and the soundtrack crackly and indistinct. (I had to turn on the subtitles to make out what was being said.) It was like watching through a net curtain with cotton wool in your ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
What a great movie - can't believe I'd never even heard of it before last week. Why is it not still in circulation?
The sound quality is the only thing that let's it down, to be honest it is terrible, but the storyline and filming are first class.
Obviously the film is quite dated now, but Luke Martin (played by Jon Voight)is just gorgeous and shines throughout the film.
When we first meet Luke he is stuck in the VA hospital, strapped face down on a bed and roaming the wards with the aid of two sticks. He is obviously upset and angry at not being looked after properly (the hospital is understaffed) - he complains of not being bathed often enough or having his urine bag emptied and is probably frustrated with being stuck in a hospital bed for so long because of his injury.
This is when he first meets Sally (Jane Fonda) and she gets to see the full strength his anger as he beats up a medicine trolley with his stick!
However, as soon as Luke gets his freedom and is given a wheelchair he becomes a new man - he is mobile again. From then on his relationship with Sally intensifies and they get closer and closer until the day her husband returns from Vietnam...
Please watch this film, it is brillaint and most of the issues are still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very bad DVD-presentation, 19 Jan. 2011
By 
Ralf Bader (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
Please be warned: while the picture quality is ok, the soundtrack is indeed very, very bad. It's as it if had been copied from a 20-year-old VHS-videotape. Sometimes you can't hear anything, and the fine musical soundtrack is often simply not to be recognized at all. And it makes no difference if you listen to it via your TV or a digital receiver. The sound can't be improved.
A real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming Home, 29 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
Great moving movie, looking at what I suppose could be a very common aspect of war, but from an original aspect. Great soundtrack, that has been linked to the storyline very well. I certainly would like to be able to get a CD of the soundtrack. Very much recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawed film. But also a film of tremendous grace, power, and originality., 24 May 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
The flaws; Bruce Dern's character is criminally underdeveloped, and comes off more as a cliché than the other two leads, which damages the power of the films climax. For the film to fully work, we have to believe that Fonda would consider staying with this man, who starts as a martinet, and ends up frightening unbalanced, and dangerous, while Jon Voight seems a near saint. Fonda's character also starts off as a cliché, but deepens quickly as the film goes on. And some of the use of 60s rock songs are bit too on the nose, their comments a bit too obvious. Yet all that said, there is also magic here; in Jon Voight's magnificent performance - arguably the best he's done, in Jane Fonda's fine work. In the feeling of almost documentary realism in the moments of their relationship, in the radical (especially for it's time) dealing with sex and a paraplegic, and the scars of Viet Nam of individuals and a nation. Haskel Wexler's cinematography is also very strong. This is a film who's special moments so stick with me (e.g. Voight's speech to a bunch of high school kids) that I can look past the flies in the ointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming Home - A Film of it's Time, 12 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
Coming Home is very much a film of it's time and packs a powerful anti-war punch. If you are from that generation it speaks volumes. It is well scripted and the acting is superb although I felt Druce Dern's character was a little wooden at times but Jane Fonda and John Voight are very good.
The other great thing about this film is the music.

It is well worth watching and is very much a glimpse into the past.

GJP - UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, shame about the sound, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
I guess the stock in 2013 is still coming from the old master, as I had to turn my TV volume up to 80% to be able to follow the conversations, and even then a lot of the music in the first half was barely audible....a shame as there's some great stuff behind this film.

It was good to see this again after what must be almost 35 years. Still very powerful, as several other reviews have already highlighted.

I suspect the original film/tape master may have had some deterioration in audio, before MGM mastered the DVD version in 2004, so I guess there's little chance of subsequent improvement.

ps....remember to re-adjust your volume before putting on a new disc with flawless sound :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Indictment of War, 10 May 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
This is a sensitive and intelligent depiction of the fallout of war. It made me think how these problems must be going on in the lives of injured veterans of the war in Afghanistan and Iraq. It also poses questions about marriage and fidelity, that are quite awkward. There's some very painful and plausible scenes, and the period detail and soundtrack add to the powerful mix. Hal Ashby is a genius. I love his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars coming home, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
Coming home is one of the best acted films of the 70,s,the soundtrack is full of classic music of the era it is set in late 60,s.T picture quality is fine on my blu-ray,the sound is quiet but i allways remember this film as a jumbled mix of speech,overall a great film and a powerful home watching experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coming Home, 10 May 2014
By 
J. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Home [DVD] (DVD)
Once again remembered watching this when it first came out and enjoying the storyline. Glad to now have it to watch whenever I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming Home [DVD]
Coming Home [DVD] by Hal Ashby (DVD - 2004)
£4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews