Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Peter Sellers film
It has all the mad-cap Peter Sellers entertainment that you'd expect. Of course, it's far-fetched, but that's what it's supposed to be!

Sellers puts on a good performance, as usual, as a supposed master criminal, who escapes from jail in an entertaining way. This, of course, gives him the opportunity to commit a real crime, but also save his family, at the same...
Published on 19 April 2009 by UK Filmbuff

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Neil Simon wrote this?
I had fond (but vague) memories of the opening credits and the catchy theme tune, from a summer holiday many years ago so I thought it was time to see it again. Oh dear, other than the credits and theme it's definitely one which earned its criticisms and box office failure.
It starts off with an interesting idea, specifically a large amount of gold needs to be...
Published 12 months ago by SL-N/1973


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Peter Sellers film, 19 April 2009
By 
UK Filmbuff "filmbuff1382" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
It has all the mad-cap Peter Sellers entertainment that you'd expect. Of course, it's far-fetched, but that's what it's supposed to be!

Sellers puts on a good performance, as usual, as a supposed master criminal, who escapes from jail in an entertaining way. This, of course, gives him the opportunity to commit a real crime, but also save his family, at the same time!

If you like Peter Sellers, this is definitely a film for you. Don't expect it to be serious, but do look out for some good acting, some daft scenes and a completely mad script! I enjoy it each time I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After the fox..., 4 Aug 2005
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
A very amusing watch-once and forget about it film, I wouldn't say this was fantastic by any means but it's very entertaining all the same. Peter Sellers is a fugitive who poses as a film director in order to obtain a shipment of gold (while 'filming') by deceiving the welcoming village who are enthusiastic extras. Stereotyping Italians to no end (although Sellers has stereotyped every country in the world at some point and you know you love it!), he breezes through this film with his usual comic charm. Like the Party, it's completely pointless but will leave you laughing your head off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as I remember, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
5 stars plus!
This film can be watched and enjoyed time and time again, all the actors give an excellent performance and are so funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help, 24 Dec 2012
By 
M. Gallagher-jones (middx. england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
I laugh so much watching this movie I ache! Victor mature is wonderful playing a parody of himself. Of course the genius that is peter sellers is on great form. It's an old movie but well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After the Fox, 29 Dec 2009
By 
J. Soligo "buckley05" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
This brilliant, how anyone could not find this film that way astounds me, yes it's far fectched but it is a comedy, Victor Mature hamming it up is worth watching just for his performance, and The Hollies singing the theme song tops it all off.I watch this film every 3 months...get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A golden farce from start to finish., 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry, Nic (UK), I think you are missing the point. The court scene alone is surely worth a bob or two?

A tonic for our time with its capitalistic obsessive shenanigans plagued by money grubbing squirts, fiscal parasites and overblown celebrities. A true to form Sellers romp with a fine supporting cast of many. If you find the closing scene difficult to comprehend then think again, and again, for it holds the key to this little, golden farce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sellers comedy genious, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
this is one of my favourite peter sellers films,when i saw it for sale i jumped at the chance to own it.a comedy must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally original, very funny!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
Good fun. Full of memorable dialogue and jokes about actors and film-makers. Plenty of action, curious twists and turns and watchable characters. Shame about Amazon's corporate tax policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars packaging good and the film even better, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen the film on video some years ago and now on DVD with subtitles it is even better.I love Peter Sellers in any film. This is a must for any PS fans. He shows his comic talent by playing various disguised characters. Also Victor Mature as an aging film idol with his dyed hair is hilarious in this comic role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Neil Simon wrote this?, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Fox [DVD] (DVD)
I had fond (but vague) memories of the opening credits and the catchy theme tune, from a summer holiday many years ago so I thought it was time to see it again. Oh dear, other than the credits and theme it's definitely one which earned its criticisms and box office failure.
It starts off with an interesting idea, specifically a large amount of gold needs to be smuggled into Europe from Cairo. But then the holes begin to appear. Peter Sellers, a master of disguise known as The Fox, pretends to be a film maker in order to con the police, an entire village, and the 'stars' that moving the gold is part of his film. He has no script, practically no crew and no idea how to bluff everybody until the gold turns up. So the last 45 minutes of the film is given over to a thoroughly implausible in-joke style of film, which is more about stringing together some pretty weak set pieces to arrive at a very weak finale while probably making other directors giggle.

Despite the excellent cast list and top writer's name, this very 60s film misses the mark by a long way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After The Fox [DVD]
After The Fox [DVD] by Vittorio de Sica (DVD - 2004)
4.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews